The AI Times
Levant & Iran
Read another desk
All Geopolitics & international affairsEconomyUnited StatesAnglosphereEuropeRussia & EurasiaLevant & Iran Gulf & Türkiye North Africa Africa South Asia East Asia Latin America Energy Technology Media Watch
Sections
News Panel Outlets Headlines Analysis & editorial coming soon
Who we are Alerts Pricing Sign in / up
Desks
All Geopolitics & international affairsEconomyUnited StatesAnglosphereEuropeRussia & EurasiaLevant & Iran Gulf & Türkiye North Africa Africa South Asia East Asia Latin America Energy Technology Media Watch
The AI Times
every claim sourced| every source shown| always on watch

France 24 and Asharq Al-Awsat write 'suspected gunman', the Jerusalem Post and Arutz Sheva write 'terrorist'

A gunman shot dead an Israeli man near the settlement of Neveh Tzuf on Sunday. The same day, Israeli soldiers killed a Palestinian driver. Six reports describe the same people in words that cannot all be right. None names either of the dead, and we hold no Palestinian outlet on either killing.

IDF prepares West Bank mass-arrest operation, demolition of Neveh Tzuf terrorist’s home - report
IDF prepares West Bank mass-arrest operation, demolition of Neveh Tzuf terrorist’s home - report as published by The Jerusalem Post · seen at The Jerusalem Post
Levant & Iran Palestine Israel

What happened. A gunman shot dead an Israeli man near Neveh Tzuf, north of Ramallah, on Sunday, the eve of Yom Kippur, Asharq Al-Awsat reports, citing AFP. Asharq Al-Awsat says soldiers found the suspect at a hospital and arrested him. France 24 says Israeli soldiers also killed a Palestinian driver who, the military said, had tried to run them over.

The words.

Outlet The arrested man The dead Israeli
France 24 "suspected Palestinian gunman" "settler" in the headline, "man" in the text
Asharq Al-Awsat "suspected" "Israeli settler"
The Jerusalem Post "terrorist", in its own voice —
Arutz Sheva "terrorist", in its headline quoting Ben Gvir —

The raid. Asharq Al-Awsat says Israeli forces raided Biddu, the suspect's home village, citing local authorities and the military. The Jerusalem Post, citing Army Radio, says the army is preparing a "mass-arrest operation" and a demolition of his home. Al Jazeera alone gives a number: "At least 53 young men" held. Its sentence names no one as holding them.

What is not settled. - Who either of the dead was. No report names them. - How the driver died. Only France 24 carries it, and only in the army's words. - The Biddu count. It rests on one report. - Whether the arrested man fired the shots. No charge is reported.

What this is about. Two people were killed on one day in the occupied West Bank. Outlets then describe the dead, and the man arrested, in very different words.

How it got here. Israel captured the West Bank from Jordan in the 1967 war and has held it under military occupation since. The Oslo Accords of 1993 and 1995 gave a new Palestinian Authority limited self-rule in parts of it. Israel kept control of most of the land, of movement and of security. Since 1967, Israel has built settlements across the territory. Most states hold that the settlements are illegal under international law. The International Court of Justice said so in an advisory opinion in July 2024. Israel disputes this. Violence between settlers, the army and Palestinians rose sharply in the West Bank after the Hamas-led attack of 7 October 2023 and the war in Gaza that followed.

The actors. - The Israeli army runs security in most of the West Bank. It makes arrests there and carries out raids. - Settlers are Israeli civilians living in the settlements. Neveh Tzuf is one of them, north of Ramallah. - Palestinian villages such as Biddu, northwest of Jerusalem, sit beside the settlements and the army's roads. - Itamar Ben Gvir has been Israel's National Security Minister since December 2022. He leads a far-right party and lives in a settlement himself.

What is at stake. For years Israel has demolished the family homes of Palestinians it accuses of attacks. It says this deters attacks. Rights groups call it collective punishment. Mass arrests after an attack follow the same argument. The words outlets choose matter here. "Suspect" leaves guilt open. "Terrorist" settles it before any charge.

Where it stands. One man is in custody. The reports carry no charge. Biddu has been raided. Neither of the dead has been named in any report we hold.

What is being argued about

  • 'Suspected gunman' or 'terrorist': two outlets hedge, two do not
  • A Palestinian driver's death, carried by one outlet in the army's words
  • Mass arrests in Biddu, and a count that rests on one report
  • A minister's call for the death penalty before any charge
Four outlets, two words for the arrested manSide by side
OutletWhat it calls the arrested manHedged?What it says of the raid
France 24"a suspected Palestinian gunman accused of killing an Israeli man"YesNo raid reported
Asharq Al-Awsat"a Palestinian man suspected of shooting dead an Israeli settler"YesIsraeli forces raided his hometown, local authorities said
The Jerusalem Post"Neveh Tzuf terrorist"NoThe army is preparing a mass-arrest operation and a demolition of his home, citing Army Radio
Arutz Sheva"Ben Gvir demands: Execute the terrorist"No, in a minister's wordsNo raid reported
Al Jazeera EnglishDoes not describe him in the text we hold—"At least 53 young men are being held in Biddu"
The quotes are from each outlet's published text. France 24 and Arutz Sheva are held as headline and opening lines only.
Sources France 24
Centre estimate · not a score
France 24 🇫🇷FR · public broadcaster · state-funded international West Bank: Israeli settler, Palestinian killed in latest violence Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at France 24 → What we have measured Actor label Hezbollah is identified by its backer. ×1Adversary left to inference the quote names independence but never who from; the report does not fill it in ×1Agency Uses active voice for both killings. The soldiers' account of the car-ramming is credited to the military, not stated as fact ×1A price without its measure above 100 dollars a barrel, with no benchmark named and no date for the comparison ×1 from 2849 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Israeli Forces Raid Town of Suspected Palestinian Gunman Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent IDF prepares West Bank mass-arrest operation, demolition of Neveh Tzuf terrorist’s home - report Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Arutz Sheva
Right estimate · not a score
Arutz Sheva 🇮🇱IL · digital · Ben Gvir demands: Execute the terrorist Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Arutz Sheva → What we have measured A caveat kept in the only report we hold that says the rejection was of a promo, not the finished film ×1A different word, and a hedge Calls the same event an airstrike rather than a controlled demolition, and marks it "Reported" while offering footage as its evidence. ×1An allegation stated as established the headline presents the plan as fact and as a disclosure, with no attribution to the charge sheet ×1Asserted flat Calls it a 'terror network' and says Iran helped build it, in its own voice, with no source. ×1 from 2982 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al Jazeera English
Centre estimate · not a score
Al Jazeera English 🇶🇦QA · TV/radio · state-funded international Israeli forces arrest dozens of Palestinians in occupied West Bank raid Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al Jazeera English → What we have measured Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1 from 4959 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
From the shooting to the raid, in the order it was reportedTimeline
  1. 2026-09-20— no time published A gunman shoots dead an Israeli man near Neveh Tzuf, north of Ramallah, on the eve of Yom Kippur 1 killedAsharq Al-Awsat, citing AFP
  2. 2026-09-2015:50 published time, UTC Itamar Ben Gvir calls for the Terrorist Death Penalty Law to be applied to the manArutz Sheva
  3. 2026-09-2016:57 published time, UTC The Jerusalem Post reports the army is preparing a mass-arrest operation and a demolition of the suspect's homeciting Army Radio
  4. 2026-09-2107:11 published time, UTC Asharq Al-Awsat reports Israeli military reinforcements in the West Bank ahead of Yom Kippur
  5. 2026-09-2109:53 published time, UTC Asharq Al-Awsat reports Israeli forces raided Biddu, the suspect's home villageciting local authorities and the military
  6. 2026-09-2112:31 published time, UTC Al Jazeera English reports young men held in Biddu, with schools and businesses shut at least 53 heldthe only count we hold
  7. 2026-09-2112:58 published time, UTC France 24 reports Israeli soldiers killed a Palestinian driver who, the military said, tried to run them over 1 killedthe only report of this death
Times are the published times of each report, in UTC. The reports give no time for the shooting itself.
Sources A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Israeli Forces Raid Town of Suspected Palestinian Gunman Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Arutz Sheva
Right estimate · not a score
Arutz Sheva 🇮🇱IL · digital · Ben Gvir demands: Execute the terrorist Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Arutz Sheva → What we have measured A caveat kept in the only report we hold that says the rejection was of a promo, not the finished film ×1A different word, and a hedge Calls the same event an airstrike rather than a controlled demolition, and marks it "Reported" while offering footage as its evidence. ×1An allegation stated as established the headline presents the plan as fact and as a disclosure, with no attribution to the charge sheet ×1Asserted flat Calls it a 'terror network' and says Iran helped build it, in its own voice, with no source. ×1 from 2982 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent IDF prepares West Bank mass-arrest operation, demolition of Neveh Tzuf terrorist’s home - report Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Israel Steps Ups Military Reinforcements in West Bank Ahead of Yom Kippur Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al Jazeera English
Centre estimate · not a score
Al Jazeera English 🇶🇦QA · TV/radio · state-funded international Israeli forces arrest dozens of Palestinians in occupied West Bank raid Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al Jazeera English → What we have measured Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1 from 4959 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
France 24
Centre estimate · not a score
France 24 🇫🇷FR · public broadcaster · state-funded international West Bank: Israeli settler, Palestinian killed in latest violence Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at France 24 → What we have measured Actor label Hezbollah is identified by its backer. ×1Adversary left to inference the quote names independence but never who from; the report does not fill it in ×1Agency Uses active voice for both killings. The soldiers' account of the car-ramming is credited to the military, not stated as fact ×1A price without its measure above 100 dollars a barrel, with no benchmark named and no date for the comparison ×1 from 2849 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The bias in this coverageBias

Suspect or terrorist

Two reports call the arrested man a suspect. Two call him a terrorist in their own voice or a minister's. The Palestinian driver's death appears in only one report, and only in the army's account.

2 reports calling the arrested man a suspect 2 reports calling him a terrorist 1 reports carrying the Palestinian driver's death

Neither dead man has a name

No report names the Israeli killed near Neveh Tzuf or the Palestinian driver. One report counts the men detained in Biddu. The others describe the raid without a number.

0 reports naming either of the dead 1 reports giving a detainee count 6 reports held on the event
Scored without the mastheads. Where the two passes differ, both are kept.
Sources France 24
Centre estimate · not a score
France 24 🇫🇷FR · public broadcaster · state-funded international West Bank: Israeli settler, Palestinian killed in latest violence Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at France 24 → What we have measured Actor label Hezbollah is identified by its backer. ×1Adversary left to inference the quote names independence but never who from; the report does not fill it in ×1Agency Uses active voice for both killings. The soldiers' account of the car-ramming is credited to the military, not stated as fact ×1A price without its measure above 100 dollars a barrel, with no benchmark named and no date for the comparison ×1 from 2849 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Israeli Forces Raid Town of Suspected Palestinian Gunman Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al Jazeera English
Centre estimate · not a score
Al Jazeera English 🇶🇦QA · TV/radio · state-funded international Israeli forces arrest dozens of Palestinians in occupied West Bank raid Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al Jazeera English → What we have measured Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1 from 4959 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent IDF prepares West Bank mass-arrest operation, demolition of Neveh Tzuf terrorist’s home - report Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Arutz Sheva
Right estimate · not a score
Arutz Sheva 🇮🇱IL · digital · Ben Gvir demands: Execute the terrorist Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Arutz Sheva → What we have measured A caveat kept in the only report we hold that says the rejection was of a promo, not the finished film ×1A different word, and a hedge Calls the same event an airstrike rather than a controlled demolition, and marks it "Reported" while offering footage as its evidence. ×1An allegation stated as established the headline presents the plan as fact and as a disclosure, with no attribution to the charge sheet ×1Asserted flat Calls it a 'terror network' and says Iran helped build it, in its own voice, with no source. ×1 from 2982 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Israel Steps Ups Military Reinforcements in West Bank Ahead of Yom Kippur Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →

Claims and verdicts

true An Israeli man was shot dead near the settlement of Neveh Tzuf on Sunday, and soldiers arrested a Palestinian suspect.
France 24 and Asharq Al-Awsat (citing AFP) both report the killing and the arrest; Asharq Al-Awsat says the suspect was found at a hospital. The Jerusalem Post (citing Army Radio) and Arutz Sheva refer to the same attack; that the suspect carried it out remains an allegation.
Checked against 4 sources:
France 24
Centre estimate · not a score
France 24 🇫🇷FR · public broadcaster · state-funded international West Bank: Israeli settler, Palestinian killed in latest violence Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at France 24 → What we have measured Actor label Hezbollah is identified by its backer. ×1Adversary left to inference the quote names independence but never who from; the report does not fill it in ×1Agency Uses active voice for both killings. The soldiers' account of the car-ramming is credited to the military, not stated as fact ×1A price without its measure above 100 dollars a barrel, with no benchmark named and no date for the comparison ×1 from 2849 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Israeli Forces Raid Town of Suspected Palestinian Gunman Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent IDF prepares West Bank mass-arrest operation, demolition of Neveh Tzuf terrorist’s home - report Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Arutz Sheva
Right estimate · not a score
Arutz Sheva 🇮🇱IL · digital · Ben Gvir demands: Execute the terrorist Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Arutz Sheva → What we have measured A caveat kept in the only report we hold that says the rejection was of a promo, not the finished film ×1A different word, and a hedge Calls the same event an airstrike rather than a controlled demolition, and marks it "Reported" while offering footage as its evidence. ×1An allegation stated as established the headline presents the plan as fact and as a disclosure, with no attribution to the charge sheet ×1Asserted flat Calls it a 'terror network' and says Iran helped build it, in its own voice, with no source. ×1 from 2982 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
unverified Israeli soldiers killed a Palestinian driver who had tried to run them over.
Only France 24 reports this killing, and it gives the ramming account as the Israeli military's version. No other report we hold carries the incident or any Palestinian account of it.
Checked against 1 source:
France 24
Centre estimate · not a score
France 24 🇫🇷FR · public broadcaster · state-funded international West Bank: Israeli settler, Palestinian killed in latest violence Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at France 24 → What we have measured Actor label Hezbollah is identified by its backer. ×1Adversary left to inference the quote names independence but never who from; the report does not fill it in ×1Agency Uses active voice for both killings. The soldiers' account of the car-ramming is credited to the military, not stated as fact ×1A price without its measure above 100 dollars a barrel, with no benchmark named and no date for the comparison ×1 from 2849 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
unverified At least 53 young men are being held in Biddu after Israeli raids.
The figure comes from Al Jazeera English alone. Asharq Al-Awsat confirms a raid on Biddu and the Jerusalem Post reports a planned mass-arrest operation, but neither gives a number.
Checked against 3 sources:
Al Jazeera English
Centre estimate · not a score
Al Jazeera English 🇶🇦QA · TV/radio · state-funded international Israeli forces arrest dozens of Palestinians in occupied West Bank raid Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al Jazeera English → What we have measured Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1 from 4959 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Israeli Forces Raid Town of Suspected Palestinian Gunman Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent IDF prepares West Bank mass-arrest operation, demolition of Neveh Tzuf terrorist’s home - report Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →

Who wrote it

N Nazir Magally Asharq Al-Awsat
No independent reading has coded a report under this byline yet. We do not infer a journalist's views from the outlet that employs them.
From 6 reports we hold under this byline, at Asharq Al-Awsat. Two independent readings, each made without the masthead, a quote attached to every tag. A record, never a rating. Their full record →
The bylines on the reports this story is built from. Hover one for what our passes have measured on their reporting. · 5 reports we hold carry no byline — we do not invent one.

Coverage, outlet by outlet

France 24
Centre estimate · not a score
France 24 🇫🇷FR · public broadcaster · state-funded international West Bank: Israeli settler, Palestinian killed in latest violence Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at France 24 → What we have measured Actor label Hezbollah is identified by its backer. ×1Adversary left to inference the quote names independence but never who from; the report does not fill it in ×1Agency Uses active voice for both killings. The soldiers' account of the car-ramming is credited to the military, not stated as fact ×1A price without its measure above 100 dollars a barrel, with no benchmark named and no date for the comparison ×1 from 2849 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— state-funded international
The only report of the second killing: Israeli soldiers killed a Palestinian driver who, the military said, tried to run them over.
Violence flared in the Israeli-occupied West Bank on Sunday, as Israeli forces arrested a suspected Palestinian gunman accused of killing an Israeli man. In a separate incident, Israeli soldiers killed a Palestinian driver who the military said had attempted to run them over. Nicholas Rushworth reports.
No actor named: The headline names neither killer. The Israeli is 'settler' in the headline and 'man' in the body. — “Israeli settler, Palestinian killed in latest violence”
Single account: The Palestinian driver's death is explained only in the army's words. No family or local account appears. — “who the military said had attempted to run them over”
Agency: Uses active voice for both killings. The soldiers' account of the car-ramming is credited to the military, not stated as fact — “Israeli soldiers killed a Palestinian driver who the military said had attempted to run them over”
Hedge: The arrested man is 'suspected' and 'accused' — “a suspected Palestinian gunman accused of killing an Israeli man”
Read it at France 24 → https://www.france24.com/en/west-bank-israeli-settler-palestinian-kille…
Al Jazeera English
Centre estimate · not a score
Al Jazeera English 🇶🇦QA · TV/radio · state-funded international Israeli forces arrest dozens of Palestinians in occupied West Bank raid Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al Jazeera English → What we have measured Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1 from 4959 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— state-funded international
The only number for the raid: at least 53 young men held, with schools and businesses in Biddu shut.
play Live Sign up Show navigation menu Navigation menu NewsShow more news sections Africa Asia US & Canada Latin America Europe Asia Pacific Middle East Explained Sport Opinion Video MoreShow more sections Features Economy Human Rights Climate Crisis Investigations Interactives In Pictures Science & Technology Podcasts Travel Sponsored Content play Live Click here to searchsearch Sign up Navigation menucaret-left Israel-Palestine conflict Shackled, bleeding, raped: Abuse in Israeli prisons ‘This is an apartheid regime’ Does Trump have real leverage over Netanyahu? History of flotilla campaigns
No actor named: A count of detainees is given, but the sentence names no one holding them. — “At least 53 young men are being held in Biddu”
Agency: No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown — “At least 53 young men are being held in Biddu after raids left the town in lockdown”
Read it at Al Jazeera English → https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2026/9/21/israeli-forces-arrest-dozens-o…
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Israeli Forces Raid Town of Suspected Palestinian Gunman Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
—
Places the shooting near Neveh Tzuf on the eve of Yom Kippur, says the suspect was found at a hospital, and reports the raid on Biddu, citing local authorities and the military.
Israeli forces on Monday raided the hometown of a Palestinian man suspected of shooting dead an Israeli settler in the occupied West Bank the day before, local authorities said. Sunday's shooting occurred near the Israeli settlement of Neveh Tzuf, north of Ramallah, on the eve of the Jewish holiday of Yom Kippur, with the suspected assailant apprehended by soldiers after being located at a hospital. Israel's military told AFP on Sunday that its troops had raided the home of the attacker's family in the Palestinian village of Biddu, northwest of Jerusalem in the West Bank. The Jerusalem Governo
Hedged: The suspect stays a suspect, and the raid is attributed to local authorities. — “suspected of shooting dead an Israeli settler”
Label: The dead Israeli is called a 'settler'. The shooter stays 'suspected' — “a Palestinian man suspected of shooting dead an Israeli settler”
Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → https://english.aawsat.com/node/5320753
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Israel Steps Ups Military Reinforcements in West Bank Ahead of Yom Kippur Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
—
Reports Israeli military reinforcements in the West Bank ahead of Yom Kippur.
Israeli military on Sunday have ramped up their forces in the West Bank and elevated their operational readiness to the highest alert level across all commands ahead of Yom Kippur, the Jewish Day of Atonement that begins on Sunday evening and ends Monday. Israeli authorities set up military checkpoints at the main entrances of two villages in Jerusalem, and raided a village east of the governorate. The official Palestinian news agency Wafa said a checkpoint was set up at the main entrance of the village of Battir, west of Jerusalem and another at the entrance of Wadi Fukin. It said the Israeli
Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → https://english.aawsat.com/node/5320709
The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent IDF prepares West Bank mass-arrest operation, demolition of Neveh Tzuf terrorist’s home - report Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— independent
Citing Army Radio, reports a planned mass-arrest operation and demolition of the suspect's home, and says he is believed to have acted alone.
The IDF is preparing a mass-arrest operation in the West Bank Palestinian village of Biddu, the hometown of the Neveh Tzuf terrorist captured by the military earlier on Sunday, Army Radio reported.Suspects in the village, which is located near Ramallah, will be arrested, and the terrorist's home will be mapped for demolition, Army Radio added.According to Army Radio, the operation will further span across the West Bank, with dozens of suspects expected to be arrested.Army Radio identified the terrorist as a 37-year-old Hamas operative, saying that he had visited the attack site on Saturday to
Stated flat: 'Terrorist' appears in the outlet's own voice, with no 'suspected', before any charge. — “Neveh Tzuf terrorist’s home”
Label: The headline calls the suspect a 'terrorist' with no hedge, before any charge or trial — “demolition of Neveh Tzuf terrorist’s home”
Read it at The Jerusalem Post → https://www.jpost.com/israel-news/defense-news/article-909196
A Arutz Sheva
Right estimate · not a score
Arutz Sheva 🇮🇱IL · digital · Ben Gvir demands: Execute the terrorist Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Arutz Sheva → What we have measured A caveat kept in the only report we hold that says the rejection was of a promo, not the finished film ×1A different word, and a hedge Calls the same event an airstrike rather than a controlled demolition, and marks it "Reported" while offering footage as its evidence. ×1An allegation stated as established the headline presents the plan as fact and as a disclosure, with no attribution to the charge sheet ×1Asserted flat Calls it a 'terror network' and says Iran helped build it, in its own voice, with no source. ×1 from 2982 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
—
Carries Itamar Ben Gvir's call for the Terrorist Death Penalty Law to be applied to the man.
National Security Minister Itamar Ben Gvir calls for the Terrorist Death Penalty Law to be applied to the terrorist responsible for the attack in Binyamin. (Arutz Sheva-Israel National News' North American desk is keeping you updated until the start of Yom Kippur in New York. The time posted automatically on all Israel National News articles, however, is Israeli time.)
Voice quoted: A minister's call for execution is the headline. No Palestinian voice appears. — “Ben Gvir demands: Execute the terrorist”
Voice: The only politician quoted is a minister calling for execution, and he calls the suspect a terrorist — “Ben Gvir demands: Execute the terrorist”
Read it at Arutz Sheva → https://www.israelnationalnews.com/flashes/693845
Checked, didn’t cover
Haaretz
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Haaretz 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured A previous framing corrected the twelve-country statement described as ambiguously worded ×1Asserted flat The report states as fact that barring Arab parties is a standing ritual. ×1Asserted flat The report says ethnicity explains the different outcomes, in its own voice. ×1Asserted in the report's own voice Parties are characterised by what they are said to promise, unattributed, and the headline calls the result frightening. ×1 from 1936 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Palestine TV · Palestinian Broadcasting Corporation
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
Palestine TV · Palestinian Broadcasting Corporation 🇵🇸PS · TV/radio · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Asserted versus attributed recognition itself stated as fact ×1Attribution 'historic' attributed to the Palestinian ambassador ×1Dead counted, not named two dead are counted as 'citizens' and none are named; the wounded are not counted ×1Dead named Gives the dead man's full name and age. ×1 from 766 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
IRNA (Islamic Republic News Agency)
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
IRNA (Islamic Republic News Agency) 🇮🇷IR · state agency · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured A contested word in the headline "illegal" is a Chinese spokesperson's characterisation, carried unmarked in the headline ×1A contested word taken as the report's own "illegal" appears in the headline without quotation marks or attribution to the speaker ×1Acted upon, never acting police are named as acting; whoever hoarded a billion toman of staples is not named at all ×1Actor label The Houthi-run authority is called Yemen's transport ministry. ×1 from 15038 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Ynet
Centre estimate · not a score
Ynet 🇮🇱IL · digital · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured A claim in the headline that the other reports very close to deciding the regime appears in one report only ×1Active voice The killers are the subject of the verbs 'beat' and 'burned'. ×1Active voice The killers are named as acting ×1Army's term, attributed the army names the target of its strikes, and no one on the other side is quoted ×1 from 2684 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Shargh
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Shargh 🇮🇷IR · newspaper · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured A count with its base both days given, and the data called preliminary ×1Actor named as a state the attack is Yemen's, not the Houthis' ×1A different actor does the asking Pakistan's army chief, not Beijing, is the one asking Tehran to use its influence, on the word of unnamed Pakistani government sources. ×1'aggression' in the narration The US campaign is called aggression in the report's own narration, which it credits to Al-Ahram's account of the call. ×1 from 10199 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al-Monitor
Centre estimate · not a score
Al-Monitor 🇺🇸US/ME · digital · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Actor from anonymous officials Puts the IRGC at the trigger in a sentence sourc ×1Actor named Names the Director-General as the one who requested the dismissal ×1Actor named names Trump as the one who began the war, with Israel ×1Actor named names Israel as the actor in its military actions against the Palestinians ×1 from 1566 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Tehran Times
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
Tehran Times 🇮🇷IR · newspaper · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Asserted vs attributed headline states the seizure flat; the body attributes it to the claimant ×1Attribution the toll is attributed to a body that is described but not named ×1Headline against body headline states the seizure flat; the body attributes it to the IRGC ×1How the objectors are framed opposition is described as protesters speaking for civilians ×1 from 1753 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
An-Nahar
Centre estimate · not a score
An-Nahar 🇱🇧LB · newspaper · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Accused named the accused is named and his age is given ×1Accused named names the accused and gives his age ×1A contested finding relayed with the case still the prime minister's claim carried, with the court proceedings noted in the same sentence ×1Active voice and a toll in the background paragraph, the July strikes get named actors and counted dead — the only counted dead in this story ×1 from 10777 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
LBCI (Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International)
Centre estimate · not a score
LBCI (Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International) 🇱🇧LB · TV/radio · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Active voice, actor named the Israeli army carried out the detonation ×1Actor framing Tehran calls the meeting. Iraq is the only other state named. ×1Actor left unnamed the strike in Iraqi waters has no one named as firing it — the source is "unknown" ×1Actor named names Israel as the one striking ×1 from 8159 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Silence is recorded, not inferred — each of these was read when we built this story and carried nothing on this event.
We could not read these
K Kan · Israeli Public Broadcasting Corporation
Centre estimate · not a score
Kan · Israeli Public Broadcasting Corporation 🇮🇱IL · public broadcaster · public-service No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The Times of Israel
Centre estimate · not a score
The Times of Israel 🇮🇱IL · digital · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Actorless in own voice The killing is passive with no shooter in the se ×1Headline carries the purpose The livestock and the army's reason are in the h ×1Headline frame The headline carries the military's word for the ×1Military words carried whole Both the label for the dead and the phrase for t ×1 from 149 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Al-Sabaah
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
Al-Sabaah 🇮🇶IQ · newspaper · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Ma'an News Agency
Centre estimate · not a score
Ma'an News Agency 🇵🇸PS · digital · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al Rai
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
Al Rai 🇯🇴JO · newspaper · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al-Mada
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Al-Mada 🇮🇶IQ · newspaper · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
North Press Agency
Centre estimate · not a score
North Press Agency 🇸🇾SY · wire · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Attribution the damage list is carried in full, attributed to the side claiming it ×1Single official source Uses the Saudi Press Agency's account: 'bilateral relations', with no mention of reconstruction or money. ×1What is at stake presents the stakes as trade and energy security; no ship, crew or price is counted ×1Which line is led with led by the legal instrument, naming the Security Council resolution by number ×1 from 1169 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
WAFA · Palestinian News & Information Agency
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
WAFA · Palestinian News & Information Agency 🇵🇸PS · state agency · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
SANA (Syrian Arab News Agency)
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
SANA (Syrian Arab News Agency) 🇸🇾SY · state agency · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al-Manar
State-owned, sometimes critical estimate · not a score
Al-Manar 🇱🇧LB · TV/radio · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Galei Tzahal (Army Radio)
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
Galei Tzahal (Army Radio) 🇮🇱IL · TV/radio · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Middle East Eye
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Middle East Eye 🇬🇧UK · digital · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured How hard the claim is stated Its own body says the investigators did not attribute the network to the Emirati state — the qualification its headline drops. ×1How hard the claim is stated The body withdraws in one line the attribution its own headline makes ×1How deeply it is sourced Cites its own past reporting as the evidence for the claim in its own headline, and calls the evidence widespread in its own voice ×1How deeply it is sourced Offers its own past reporting as the evidence supporting the claim in its headline, inside the same sentence that carries the denial. ×1 from 125 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Ammon News
Centre estimate · not a score
Ammon News 🇯🇴JO · digital · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
These are must-cite outlets for this desk that we did not manage to read when we built this story. That is a gap in our reach, not a silence on their part, and it is not evidence of anything about this story.

Sign in to The AI Times

Everything is free while we are building it. Signing in is how comments, likes and your reading stay yours.

Continue with Google

Sign-in is coming soon.

By continuing you agree to be a reader of a paper that shows its working.

×