The AI Times
Anglosphere
Read another desk
All Geopolitics & international affairsEconomyUnited StatesAnglosphereEuropeRussia & EurasiaLevant & Iran Gulf & Türkiye North Africa Africa South Asia East Asia Latin America Energy Technology Media Watch
Sections
News Panel Outlets Headlines Analysis & editorial coming soon
Who we are Alerts Pricing Sign in / up
Desks
All Geopolitics & international affairsEconomyUnited StatesAnglosphereEuropeRussia & EurasiaLevant & Iran Gulf & Türkiye North Africa Africa South Asia East Asia Latin America Energy Technology Media Watch
The AI Times
every claim sourced| every source shown| always on watch

Guardian calls them "the first ministers"; TheJournal.ie says they meet "as party leaders"

Three leaders sign a memorandum in Cardiff on Monday. The two reports we hold that carry it in full disagree about what they are signing as, and the DUP's deputy First Minister says one of them has no authority to sign at all.

Leaders at Celtic summit to affirm right to seek independence from UK
Leaders at Celtic summit to affirm right to seek independence from UK as published by The Guardian · seen at The Guardian
Anglosphere United Kingdom Ireland

What both reports agree on. John Swinney, Rhun ap Iorwerth and Michelle O'Neill meet in Cardiff on Monday, where they are expected to sign a memorandum of understanding. Neither report has seen it signed.

Where they split.

The Guardian TheJournal.ie
What they attend as "the first ministers of Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland" "in their capacity as party leaders, rather than as officials in their respective governments"
What the memorandum asks Westminster "to prepare, plan and facilitate constitutional change" "pushing for referendums in their respective countries"
The DUP objection not carried O'Neill has "no authority to sign anything as First Minister"

The Guardian changes title itself. Its opening line says first ministers. Its next sentence names all three by party office — Plaid Cymru leader, Scottish National party leader, Sinn Féin vice president. It does not note the switch.

Westminster. Only TheJournal.ie carries both halves: UK prime minister Andy Burnham told the Commons another Scottish vote could be held with a "clear consensus", then a letter to Swinney said a referendum remained "off limits". Both come through the Press Association.

Not settled. Who decides which title applies, and whether O'Neill's signature binds anything. No report we hold quotes more than a phrase of the memorandum. Nobody opposed to the meeting is quoted from Wales or Scotland. The Independent report we hold is a headline with no text.

What this is about. Three nationalist party leaders who also hold office in devolved governments plan to sign a joint document in Cardiff asking the UK government to open the way to independence referendums in Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland.

How it got here. The United Kingdom is a single state made up of England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. Referendums in 1997 created a Scottish Parliament and a Welsh assembly, both sitting from 1999; Northern Ireland's Assembly came out of the Good Friday Agreement of April 1998. Devolution handed those bodies health, education and much else, but the union itself stayed reserved to Westminster. Scotland held an independence referendum in September 2014 and voted to stay in the UK. When the Scottish government pressed for a second, the UK Supreme Court ruled in November 2022 that the Scottish Parliament cannot legislate for one on its own — so any further vote needs Westminster. Northern Ireland is different: the Good Friday Agreement sets out a route to a referendum on Irish unity, called by the UK government's Northern Ireland Secretary if it appears a majority would back change. Wales has no such mechanism. Three countries, three legal positions — which is why one joint document is awkward.

The actors. The Scottish National party governs Scotland and seeks independence. Plaid Cymru seeks Welsh independence. Sinn Féin, which seeks Irish unity, became the largest party in the Northern Ireland Assembly in 2022; Michelle O'Neill is its vice-president. Northern Ireland's First Minister and deputy First Minister are one joint office of equal rank, split between unionist and nationalist designations — neither holder can act for the executive alone, which is the ground the Democratic Unionist party's deputy First Minister stands on. Andy Burnham's UK government is the body being asked.

What is at stake. Whether three separate constitutional arguments are pressed as one, whether Westminster concedes any vote, and whether a First Minister's signature binds a shared government.

Where it stands. The Cardiff meeting is Monday. No report we hold has seen the document signed, or quotes more than a phrase of it.

The story so far

Earlier stories The AI Times filed on this thread.

What is being argued about

  • Whether the three sign as first ministers or as party leaders
  • What the Cardiff memorandum asks Westminster to do
  • Whether a second Scottish referendum is off limits
  • The DUP's claim that a jointly held office cannot be used alone
What they attend as, and what they ask forSide by side
OutletWhat they attend asWhat the memorandum asksHedged?
The Guardian"the first ministers of Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland"Westminster "to prepare, plan and facilitate constitutional change"No — stated flat, then all three named by party office one sentence later
TheJournal.ie"in their capacity as party leaders, rather than as officials in their respective governments""pushing for referendums in their respective countries"Yes — "the Press Association understands"
The IndependentNot stated — we hold the headline onlyNot stated — we hold the headline only—
A count of what each report printed, with the quotes. It is not a judgement of any outlet.
Sources The Guardian
Centre-left estimate · not a score
The Guardian 🇬🇧UK · newspaper · independent Leaders at Celtic summit to affirm right to seek independence from UK Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Guardian → What we have measured Actor named Denial in the passive voice, with no one named as the person who dismissed it ×1Actor named names Israel as acting and states the death toll flat, with no source ×1Actor named Ireland named as the side that ended the conference ×1Allegation omitted the police statement is cut with an ellipsis where the other two reports carry the controlling or coercive behaviour allegation ×1 from 10552 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
T TheJournal.ie
Centre estimate · not a score
TheJournal.ie 🇮🇪IE · digital · Sinn Féin's O'Neill and other UK nationalist leaders to jointly push Westminster for referendums Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at TheJournal.ie → What we have measured Accuracy of attribution The report calls the Tánaiste the Taoiseach partway through. That puts his words under another office. ×1Accusation carried without a reply a charge against a named party, no answer from it in the text held ×1Actor labelling calls the accusers 'opposition parties' when the named accuser is the deputy First Minister ×1Actor mislabelled The first line calls the accusers 'opposition parties', but the accuser quoted is the DUP deputy First Minister, who sits in the same executive ×1 from 2218 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The Independent
Centre-left estimate · not a score
The Independent 🇬🇧UK · digital · independent Scottish minister insists independence vote not off table in fresh United Kingdom row Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Independent → What we have measured Accused party response Russia's side is reported as no comment. ×1A company statement about itself, taken as a "reveals" rather than "says", for a company's account of its own product ×1A count stated flat four crimes is given as a settled number in the headline, with no court, charge or jurisdiction attached ×1Actor named No actor named for the cut-short or for the clashes ×1 from 20313 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Sunday, in the order the reports came inTimeline
  1. Sun 13 Sep13:34 printed on the page The Independent publishes a headline only: a Scottish minister insists an independence vote is not off the tablewe hold no text for it
  2. Sun 13 Sep15:34 printed on the page TheJournal.ie reports the three will meet "in their capacity as party leaders", and carries the DUP objection to O'Neill signing as First Ministersourced to the Press Association
  3. Sun 13 Sep16:41 printed on the page The Guardian opens by calling the three "the first ministers of Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland", then names them by party officequotes the memorandum's wording
  4. Mon 14 Sep— no time published Swinney, ap Iorwerth and O'Neill are expected to meet in Cardiff and sign the memorandumno report we hold has seen it signed
Publication times as printed by each outlet.
Sources The Guardian
Centre-left estimate · not a score
The Guardian 🇬🇧UK · newspaper · independent Leaders at Celtic summit to affirm right to seek independence from UK Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Guardian → What we have measured Actor named Denial in the passive voice, with no one named as the person who dismissed it ×1Actor named names Israel as acting and states the death toll flat, with no source ×1Actor named Ireland named as the side that ended the conference ×1Allegation omitted the police statement is cut with an ellipsis where the other two reports carry the controlling or coercive behaviour allegation ×1 from 10552 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
T TheJournal.ie
Centre estimate · not a score
TheJournal.ie 🇮🇪IE · digital · Sinn Féin's O'Neill and other UK nationalist leaders to jointly push Westminster for referendums Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at TheJournal.ie → What we have measured Accuracy of attribution The report calls the Tánaiste the Taoiseach partway through. That puts his words under another office. ×1Accusation carried without a reply a charge against a named party, no answer from it in the text held ×1Actor labelling calls the accusers 'opposition parties' when the named accuser is the deputy First Minister ×1Actor mislabelled The first line calls the accusers 'opposition parties', but the accuser quoted is the DUP deputy First Minister, who sits in the same executive ×1 from 2218 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The Independent
Centre-left estimate · not a score
The Independent 🇬🇧UK · digital · independent Scottish minister insists independence vote not off table in fresh United Kingdom row Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Independent → What we have measured Accused party response Russia's side is reported as no comment. ×1A company statement about itself, taken as a "reveals" rather than "says", for a company's account of its own product ×1A count stated flat four crimes is given as a settled number in the headline, with no court, charge or jurisdiction attached ×1Actor named No actor named for the cut-short or for the clashes ×1 from 20313 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The bias in this coverageBias

First ministers or party leaders

The two reports that carry the meeting in full disagree on what the three people are attending as, and the answer decides whether anything can be signed. One report says party leaders and gives the deputy First Minister's objection in her own words; the other says first ministers in the headline, then names all three by party office one paragraph later. Neither states who, if anyone, has settled the question.

1 of three reports, those calling them first ministers 1 of three reports, those calling them party leaders 1 reports carrying the objection to the title being used

Named against unnamed

The objection is from a named officeholder, quoted at length, twice. The case for the meeting is from a party source who is not named. Two of the three attending are quoted in their own words; the third is only described.

2 of three attending leaders, those quoted directly 1 reports resting the case for the meeting on an unnamed source
Scored without the mastheads. Where the two passes differ, both are kept.
Sources The Guardian
Centre-left estimate · not a score
The Guardian 🇬🇧UK · newspaper · independent Leaders at Celtic summit to affirm right to seek independence from UK Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Guardian → What we have measured Actor named Denial in the passive voice, with no one named as the person who dismissed it ×1Actor named names Israel as acting and states the death toll flat, with no source ×1Actor named Ireland named as the side that ended the conference ×1Allegation omitted the police statement is cut with an ellipsis where the other two reports carry the controlling or coercive behaviour allegation ×1 from 10552 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
T TheJournal.ie
Centre estimate · not a score
TheJournal.ie 🇮🇪IE · digital · Sinn Féin's O'Neill and other UK nationalist leaders to jointly push Westminster for referendums Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at TheJournal.ie → What we have measured Accuracy of attribution The report calls the Tánaiste the Taoiseach partway through. That puts his words under another office. ×1Accusation carried without a reply a charge against a named party, no answer from it in the text held ×1Actor labelling calls the accusers 'opposition parties' when the named accuser is the deputy First Minister ×1Actor mislabelled The first line calls the accusers 'opposition parties', but the accuser quoted is the DUP deputy First Minister, who sits in the same executive ×1 from 2218 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The Independent
Centre-left estimate · not a score
The Independent 🇬🇧UK · digital · independent Scottish minister insists independence vote not off table in fresh United Kingdom row Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Independent → What we have measured Accused party response Russia's side is reported as no comment. ×1A company statement about itself, taken as a "reveals" rather than "says", for a company's account of its own product ×1A count stated flat four crimes is given as a settled number in the headline, with no court, charge or jurisdiction attached ×1Actor named No actor named for the cut-short or for the clashes ×1 from 20313 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →

Claims and verdicts

misleading The three leaders are meeting in Cardiff as the first ministers of Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland.
The Guardian's opening line calls them "the first ministers of Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland", but TheJournal.ie reports the trio meet in their capacity as party leaders rather than as officials in their governments, and carries DUP deputy First Minister Emma Little-Pengelly saying Michelle O'Neill has no authority to sign anything as First Minister. The Guardian itself then names them by party title — SNP leader, Plaid Cymru leader, Sinn Féin vice president.
Checked against 2 sources:
The Guardian
Centre-left estimate · not a score
The Guardian 🇬🇧UK · newspaper · independent Leaders at Celtic summit to affirm right to seek independence from UK Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Guardian → What we have measured Actor named Denial in the passive voice, with no one named as the person who dismissed it ×1Actor named names Israel as acting and states the death toll flat, with no source ×1Actor named Ireland named as the side that ended the conference ×1Allegation omitted the police statement is cut with an ellipsis where the other two reports carry the controlling or coercive behaviour allegation ×1 from 10552 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
T TheJournal.ie
Centre estimate · not a score
TheJournal.ie 🇮🇪IE · digital · Sinn Féin's O'Neill and other UK nationalist leaders to jointly push Westminster for referendums Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at TheJournal.ie → What we have measured Accuracy of attribution The report calls the Tánaiste the Taoiseach partway through. That puts his words under another office. ×1Accusation carried without a reply a charge against a named party, no answer from it in the text held ×1Actor labelling calls the accusers 'opposition parties' when the named accuser is the deputy First Minister ×1Actor mislabelled The first line calls the accusers 'opposition parties', but the accuser quoted is the DUP deputy First Minister, who sits in the same executive ×1 from 2218 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
true The three are expected to sign a memorandum of understanding asking Westminster to facilitate constitutional change.
The Guardian quotes the memorandum calling on Westminster "to prepare, plan and facilitate constitutional change in Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland", and TheJournal.ie reports, via the Press Association, an expected memorandum pushing for referendums. Both are prospective — neither has seen it signed.
Checked against 2 sources:
The Guardian
Centre-left estimate · not a score
The Guardian 🇬🇧UK · newspaper · independent Leaders at Celtic summit to affirm right to seek independence from UK Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Guardian → What we have measured Actor named Denial in the passive voice, with no one named as the person who dismissed it ×1Actor named names Israel as acting and states the death toll flat, with no source ×1Actor named Ireland named as the side that ended the conference ×1Allegation omitted the police statement is cut with an ellipsis where the other two reports carry the controlling or coercive behaviour allegation ×1 from 10552 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
T TheJournal.ie
Centre estimate · not a score
TheJournal.ie 🇮🇪IE · digital · Sinn Féin's O'Neill and other UK nationalist leaders to jointly push Westminster for referendums Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at TheJournal.ie → What we have measured Accuracy of attribution The report calls the Tánaiste the Taoiseach partway through. That puts his words under another office. ×1Accusation carried without a reply a charge against a named party, no answer from it in the text held ×1Actor labelling calls the accusers 'opposition parties' when the named accuser is the deputy First Minister ×1Actor mislabelled The first line calls the accusers 'opposition parties', but the accuser quoted is the DUP deputy First Minister, who sits in the same executive ×1 from 2218 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
unverified Burnham told the Commons a second Scottish referendum could be held with a "clear consensus", then wrote to Swinney saying it remained "off limits".
Only TheJournal.ie carries both halves, sourced to the Press Association, and the letter itself is not quoted beyond those two words. The Guardian does not mention the exchange, and the Independent report we hold is a headline only.
Checked against 1 source:
T TheJournal.ie
Centre estimate · not a score
TheJournal.ie 🇮🇪IE · digital · Sinn Féin's O'Neill and other UK nationalist leaders to jointly push Westminster for referendums Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at TheJournal.ie → What we have measured Accuracy of attribution The report calls the Tánaiste the Taoiseach partway through. That puts his words under another office. ×1Accusation carried without a reply a charge against a named party, no answer from it in the text held ×1Actor labelling calls the accusers 'opposition parties' when the named accuser is the deputy First Minister ×1Actor mislabelled The first line calls the accusers 'opposition parties', but the accuser quoted is the DUP deputy First Minister, who sits in the same executive ×1 from 2218 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →

Who wrote it

B Bethan McKernan The Guardian
What the bias passes found in their reporting
Allegation omitted the police statement is cut with an ellipsis where the other two reports carry the controlling or coercive behaviour allegation×1
Asserted vs attributed 'bailed' stated flat in the lede, before his 'released without charge' statement appears×1
Headline vs quote the opening line says 'bailed', using the police word; his own statement later in the report says 'released without charge'×1
Quote trimmed cuts the police statement with an ellipsis, so only the assault arrest is reported; the second offence in the full statement does not appear×1
Claims we checked that rest on their reporting
2 misleading2 unverified1 true
From 7 reports we hold under this byline, at The Guardian. Two independent readings, each made without the masthead, a quote attached to every tag. A record, never a rating. Their full record →
P Patrick Greenfield The Guardian
What the bias passes found in their reporting
Asserted flat road blocking and balaclavas asserted as fact, no source attached×1
Same report switches title in the next sentence named by party office, not government office×1
The capacity in which they meet stated flat as first ministers×1
The same report's second title the next paragraph names all three by party office instead, without noting the switch×1
Claims we checked that rest on their reporting
1 misleading1 unverified1 true
From 23 reports we hold under this byline, at The Guardian. Two independent readings, each made without the masthead, a quote attached to every tag. A record, never a rating. Their full record →
C Craig Paton The Independent
No independent reading has coded a report under this byline yet. We do not infer a journalist's views from the outlet that employs them.
From 11 reports we hold under this byline, at The Independent. Two independent readings, each made without the masthead, a quote attached to every tag. A record, never a rating. Their full record →
The bylines on the reports this story is built from. Hover one for what our passes have measured on their reporting. · 1 report we hold carries no byline — we do not invent one.

Coverage, outlet by outlet

The Guardian
Centre-left estimate · not a score
The Guardian 🇬🇧UK · newspaper · independent Leaders at Celtic summit to affirm right to seek independence from UK Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Guardian → What we have measured Actor named Denial in the passive voice, with no one named as the person who dismissed it ×1Actor named names Israel as acting and states the death toll flat, with no source ×1Actor named Ireland named as the side that ended the conference ×1Allegation omitted the police statement is cut with an ellipsis where the other two reports carry the controlling or coercive behaviour allegation ×1 from 10552 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— independent
The only report that quotes the memorandum's own wording — Westminster "to prepare, plan and facilitate constitutional change in Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland" — and the only one to frame the meeting as a
The first ministers of Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland are to affirm their countries’ right to seek independence from the UK at a summit that is likely to challenge Andy Burnham’s devolution agenda. The Plaid Cymru leader, Rhun ap Iorwerth, the Scottish National party leader, John Swinney , and the Sinn Féin vice-president, Michelle O’Neill, are expected to sign a memorandum of understanding at a landmark conference in Cardiff on Monday that will call on Westminster “to prepare, plan and facilitate constitutional change in Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland”.
What title is used: the three are called first ministers in the headline and the first line — “The first ministers of Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland are meeting to affirm their nations’ right to seek independence from the UK”
The same report's second title: the next paragraph names all three by party office instead, without noting the switch — “Plaid Cymru leader Rhun ap Iorwerth, Scottish National party leader John Swinney and Sinn Féin vice president Michelle O’Neill”
Whose agenda it is measured against: the meeting is framed by its effect on the UK prime minister rather than on the three nations — “as part of a summit that is likely to challenge Andy Burnham’s devolution agenda”
The capacity in which they meet: stated flat as first ministers — “The first ministers of Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland are meeting to affirm their nations’ right to seek independence from the UK”
Same report switches title in the next sentence: named by party office, not government office — “Plaid Cymru leader Rhun ap Iorwerth, Scottish National party leader John Swinney and Sinn Féin vice president Michelle O’Neill are expected to sign a memorandum of understanding”
The summit framed against the prime minister: framed as a challenge to London — “likely to challenge Andy Burnham’s devolution agenda”
Read it at The Guardian → https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2026/sep/13/first-ministers-to-aff…
T TheJournal.ie
Centre estimate · not a score
TheJournal.ie 🇮🇪IE · digital · Sinn Féin's O'Neill and other UK nationalist leaders to jointly push Westminster for referendums Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at TheJournal.ie → What we have measured Accuracy of attribution The report calls the Tánaiste the Taoiseach partway through. That puts his words under another office. ×1Accusation carried without a reply a charge against a named party, no answer from it in the text held ×1Actor labelling calls the accusers 'opposition parties' when the named accuser is the deputy First Minister ×1Actor mislabelled The first line calls the accusers 'opposition parties', but the accuser quoted is the DUP deputy First Minister, who sits in the same executive ×1 from 2218 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
—
The only report that states what capacity the three attend in, and the only one carrying Emma Little-Pengelly's objection, Mary Lou McDonald's attendance, Burnham's Commons remark and the letter that followed it, ap
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more. SNP leader John Swinney, Plaid Cymru leader Rhun ap Iorwerth and Sinn Féin vice president Michelle O’Neill will meet in Cardiff on Monday, where they are expected to sign a memorandum of understanding pushing for referendums in their respective countries, the Press Association understands. The trio will meet in their capacity as party leaders, rather than as officials in their respective governments. Sinn Féin’s president Mary Lou Macdonald will also attend the meeting. Northern Ireland’s deputy First Minister Emma Little-
What capacity is stated: the distinction the whole dispute turns on is stated flat in the third sentence — “The trio will meet in their capacity as party leaders, rather than as officials in their respective governments.”
Whose objection is carried: the deputy First Minister's objection is quoted twice and at length, including the scare-quoted "summit" — “Michelle O’Neill is not travelling to this “summit” as First Minister, she has no authority to present herself as representing the FM role at any such “summit””
Who the source is: the case for the meeting comes from an unnamed party source; the objection comes from a named officeholder — “A Sinn Féin source told the Press Association the Cardiff summit will be about “where the parties can work together to make a difference to people’s lives”
The capacity in which they meet: stated flat as party leaders — “The trio will meet in their capacity as party leaders, rather than as officials in their respective governments.”
The objection to the title is quoted at length: direct quotation, scare quotes around the event — “Michelle O’Neill is not travelling to this “summit” as First Minister”
One side's purpose comes through an unnamed: unnamed, paraphrased then quoted — “A Sinn Féin source told the Press Association the Cardiff summit will be about”
Read it at TheJournal.ie → https://www.thejournal.ie/independence-declaration-devolved-first-minis…
The Independent
Centre-left estimate · not a score
The Independent 🇬🇧UK · digital · independent Scottish minister insists independence vote not off table in fresh United Kingdom row Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Independent → What we have measured Accused party response Russia's side is reported as no comment. ×1A company statement about itself, taken as a "reveals" rather than "says", for a company's account of its own product ×1A count stated flat four crimes is given as a settled number in the headline, with no court, charge or jurisdiction attached ×1Actor named No actor named for the cut-short or for the clashes ×1 from 20313 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— independent
Read it at The Independent → https://www.independent.co.uk/bulletin/news/scottish-independence-vote-…
Checked, didn’t cover
T The Irish Times
Centre estimate · not a score
The Irish Times 🇮🇪IE · digital · No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Actor framing The release is framed as a joint agreement, with no pressure mentioned ×1Actor named Names the residents as the ones who blocked the road ×1Actor named killers named as 'loyalist gunmen'; verb 'shot dead' ×1With no actor named construction no actor named for the theft or the driving in the standfirst ×1 from 1358 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
R RNZ
Centre estimate · not a score
RNZ 🇳🇿NZ · digital · PUBLIC No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Headline against body headline claims a 20-year decline reversed; the first line of the body reports a new low in reading ×1Headline against body headline claims a turnaround; the text carries a record low and puts it on boys ×1 from 2328 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
R RTÉ News
Centre estimate · not a score
RTÉ News 🇮🇪IE · digital · PUBLIC No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Abstraction as the actor the dispute acts and no one in it is named ×1Account taken as default the police description of the crowd as 'hostile' is carried with no other account ×1Accuracy the Slovenia entry in the country list repeats Austria's name ×1Active voice offender Donaldson is named as the one who did the abuse, in the active voice. ×1 from 2361 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
ABC News (Australia)
Centre estimate · not a score
ABC News (Australia) 🇦🇺AU · public broadcaster · public-service No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Actor label and hedge The same man is called 'far-right' and named by his legal name. The act is hedged with 'allegedly', where the longer report states it flat. ×1A different count, stated flat one dead and 140 missing, unattributed, earliest of the four ×1Affected counted The only report to count the local people affected ×1Are the dead named one of the dead named, through a relative at the hospital ×1 from 4667 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
C CBC News
Centre-left estimate · not a score
CBC News 🇨🇦CA · public broadcaster · public-service No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Asserted vs attributed the measure is attributed to the three governments; the territory is called occupied in the outlet's own voice ×1Attribution kept in the headline the sourcing travels with the claim into the headline ×1Figure rounded in the headline more than 600 in the headline; the body sources it to a flight-tracking site ×1How the sourcing is hedged the claim is hedged to an unnamed newspaper in both headline and body; the reporting is not held by this report ×1 from 2730 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Silence is recorded, not inferred — each of these was read when we built this story and carried nothing on this event.
We could not read these
BBC News
Centre estimate · not a score
BBC News 🇬🇧UK · public broadcaster · public-service No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Dating and attribution 'It was not until Tuesday' is a judgement about delay, not a date. No other report we hold comments on how long the German finding took. ×1How hard the claim is stated Headline says the UN voted to adopt and replace; the last sentence of the report says the vote is non-binding ×1How hard the claim is stated The qualification arrives in the last sentence and is immediately overridden by an effect the report gives no source for. ×1Which figure is used States the replacement as done — the Assembly voted to replace the map — where the resolution urges states to use a different projection. ×1 from 473 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The Daily Telegraph
Right estimate · not a score
The Daily Telegraph 🇬🇧UK · newspaper · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The Times
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Times 🇬🇧UK · newspaper · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
These are must-cite outlets for this desk that we did not manage to read when we built this story. That is a gap in our reach, not a silence on their part, and it is not evidence of anything about this story.

Sign in to The AI Times

Everything is free while we are building it. Signing in is how comments, likes and your reading stay yours.

Continue with Google

Sign-in is coming soon.

By continuing you agree to be a reader of a paper that shows its working.

×