The AI Times
Levant & Iran
Read another desk
All Geopolitics & international affairsEconomyUnited StatesAnglosphereEuropeRussia & EurasiaLevant & Iran Gulf & Türkiye North Africa Africa South Asia East Asia Latin America Energy Technology Media Watch
Sections
News Panel Outlets Headlines Analysis & editorial coming soon
Who we are Alerts Pricing Sign in / up
Desks
All Geopolitics & international affairsEconomyUnited StatesAnglosphereEuropeRussia & EurasiaLevant & Iran Gulf & Türkiye North Africa Africa South Asia East Asia Latin America Energy Technology Media Watch
The AI Times
every claim sourced| every source shown| always on watch

Haaretz says "four Palestinians, including two children"; the Jerusalem Post says one Hamas man, wanted for twenty-three years

Three reports describe Israeli strikes in Gaza on the same day. Two count four dead. The third counts none, and carries the only name in the coverage — an Israeli killed in 2003.

Hamas terrorist behind 2003 murder of Shalom Har-Melech killed in IDF strike in Gaza
Hamas terrorist behind 2003 murder of Shalom Har-Melech killed in IDF strike in Gaza as published by The Jerusalem Post · seen at The Jerusalem Post
Levant & Iran Palestine Israel

Three reports, one day of strikes. All three we hold are dated 10 September and describe Israeli strikes in Gaza. They do not describe the same dead.

Outlet Who it says was killed What it says was hit Attributed to
Haaretz "four Palestinians, including two children" weapons facilities, Israel says; homes, residents say both, in one sentence
Asharq Al-Awsat a "Family of Four" not stated nobody named
The Jerusalem Post a "Hamas terrorist" wanted for a killing in 2003 sites in three parts of Gaza holding "weapons, explosive devices, anti-tank missiles" the Israeli military

Nobody killed this week is named. Two reports count the dead and neither gives a name. The one person named in the coverage is Shalom Har-Melech, an Israeli killed twenty-three years ago, carried in a Jerusalem Post headline about a death this week.

One toll is held at arm's length. Haaretz prefixes its own headline with "Report:", and writes the wider tally with no actor named: "At least six houses have been struck across Gaza over the past two days."

Not settled. Who counted the four dead. Whether the four Haaretz reports and the family of four in Asharq Al-Awsat are the same four. Whether anyone was inside the buildings the Israeli military describes. No Palestinian outlet is among the reports we hold on these strikes.

What this is about. Three newspapers described the same day of Israeli air strikes on Gaza — 10 September — and produced different dead, different targets and, between them, a single name.

How it got here. Gaza is a coastal Palestinian territory bordered by Israel and Egypt. Israel captured it in 1967 and withdrew its settlers and soldiers in 2005. Hamas, an armed Palestinian Islamist movement, won Palestinian elections in 2006 and took sole control of Gaza in 2007, after which Israel and Egypt imposed a blockade on the territory. On 7 October 2023 Hamas-led fighters attacked southern Israel, killing and seizing Israelis; Israel replied with air strikes and ground operations in Gaza that have run since. The killing in the Jerusalem Post's headline is older still: Shalom Har-Melech was killed in 2003, during the second Palestinian uprising against Israeli rule, and the paper reports this week's strike through that death.

Who is involved. The Israeli military carries out the strikes and announces what it says they hit. Hamas governs Gaza and is the stated target. The dead in Gaza are counted by Palestinian hospitals and health officials — Asharq Al-Awsat's account rests on an official at Al-Shifa hospital in Gaza City and a Palestinian security source, with the Israeli military saying it was checking. Haaretz and the Jerusalem Post are published in Israel; Asharq Al-Awsat is a Saudi-owned pan-Arab daily published in London. International reporters have had no independent access to Gaza during the war, so almost every account reaches readers either through the military or through local hospitals, officials and residents.

What is at stake. Whether the people killed in a strike are recorded as fighters or as a family, and whether they are recorded by name at all. Each side's count is its own, and the two accounts of one morning in Beit Lahia do not meet.

What is being argued about

  • Who was killed in the strikes, and by whose count
  • Whether the buildings hit were weapons stores or homes
  • Which accounts are attributed and which are asserted
  • That no report names any of the Palestinians killed
Same strikes, three answers to who diedSide by side
OutletWho it says was killedWhat it says was hitAttributed to
Haaretz"four Palestinians, including two children""Hamas weapons facilities" and "a broader wave of attacks on homes"Israel for the target, Palestinian residents for the homes
Asharq Al-Awsata "Family of Four"not statednobody named
The Jerusalem Posta "Hamas terrorist" wanted for a killing in 2003sites in "three different parts of the Strip" holding "weapons, explosive devices, anti-tank missiles"the Israeli military, carried in the report's own voice
Wording is quoted from each report's own headline or text.
Sources Haaretz
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Haaretz 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent Report: Israeli strike kills four Palestinians, including two children, in Gaza Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Haaretz → What we have measured A previous framing corrected the twelve-country statement described as ambiguously worded ×1Asserted flat The report states as fact that barring Arab parties is a standing ritual. ×1Asserted flat The report says ethnicity explains the different outcomes, in its own voice. ×1Asserted in the report's own voice Parties are characterised by what they are said to promise, unattributed, and the headline calls the result frightening. ×1 from 1936 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Israeli Strike in Gaza Kills Family of Four Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent Hamas terrorist behind 2003 murder of Shalom Har-Melech killed in IDF strike in Gaza Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
What the three reports carryChart
A count of what is in the text, not a judgement of any outlet.
Sources Haaretz
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Haaretz 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent Report: Israeli strike kills four Palestinians, including two children, in Gaza Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Haaretz → What we have measured A previous framing corrected the twelve-country statement described as ambiguously worded ×1Asserted flat The report states as fact that barring Arab parties is a standing ritual. ×1Asserted flat The report says ethnicity explains the different outcomes, in its own voice. ×1Asserted in the report's own voice Parties are characterised by what they are said to promise, unattributed, and the headline calls the result frightening. ×1 from 1936 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Israeli Strike in Gaza Kills Family of Four Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent Hamas terrorist behind 2003 murder of Shalom Har-Melech killed in IDF strike in Gaza Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
How the day was reported, hour by hourTimeline
  1. Thu 10 Sep06:53 published time on the report Asharq Al-Awsat names Israel as the actor and counts the dead as one family family of fourheadline only; no text beneath it
  2. Thu 10 Sep11:36 published time on the report Haaretz sets Israel's target claim against residents describing strikes on homes four killed, two childrenits own headline is prefixed "Report:"
  3. Thu 10 Sep15:25 published time on the report The Jerusalem Post carries the military's account of what the buildings held, and one name no civilian tollthe name is Shalom Har-Melech, killed in 2003
Times as published on each report.
Sources A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Israeli Strike in Gaza Kills Family of Four Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Haaretz
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Haaretz 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent Report: Israeli strike kills four Palestinians, including two children, in Gaza Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Haaretz → What we have measured A previous framing corrected the twelve-country statement described as ambiguously worded ×1Asserted flat The report states as fact that barring Arab parties is a standing ritual. ×1Asserted flat The report says ethnicity explains the different outcomes, in its own voice. ×1Asserted in the report's own voice Parties are characterised by what they are said to promise, unattributed, and the headline calls the result frightening. ×1 from 1936 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent Hamas terrorist behind 2003 murder of Shalom Har-Melech killed in IDF strike in Gaza Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The bias in this coverageBias

One name among the dead, from 2003

Three reports hold this strike. None names any of the Palestinians killed; two give a figure of four, and one adds that two were children. The only person named is Shalom Har-Melech, killed twenty-three years ago, named in a headline about a death this week.

3 reports on the strike 0 Palestinians killed who are named 2 reports carrying a figure for the dead 1 people named in all three reports

A weapons store or six houses

One report sets the two accounts side by side and attributes both, saying Israel targeted weapons facilities while residents describe strikes on homes. Another carries only the military's account of what the buildings held. The wider tally in the first report — six houses over two days — is written with no actor named.

1 reports carrying both accounts 1 reports carrying only the military's account 1 reports quoting a Palestinian voice
Scored without the mastheads. Where the two passes differ, both are kept.
Sources Haaretz
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Haaretz 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent Report: Israeli strike kills four Palestinians, including two children, in Gaza Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Haaretz → What we have measured A previous framing corrected the twelve-country statement described as ambiguously worded ×1Asserted flat The report states as fact that barring Arab parties is a standing ritual. ×1Asserted flat The report says ethnicity explains the different outcomes, in its own voice. ×1Asserted in the report's own voice Parties are characterised by what they are said to promise, unattributed, and the headline calls the result frightening. ×1 from 1936 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Israeli Strike in Gaza Kills Family of Four Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent Hamas terrorist behind 2003 murder of Shalom Har-Melech killed in IDF strike in Gaza Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →

Claims and verdicts

unverified An Israeli strike in Gaza killed four Palestinians from one family, two of them children.
Haaretz reports four killed including two children and Asharq Al-Awsat reports a family of four, but neither names the dead nor says who counted them, and Haaretz labels its own account a report. The Jerusalem Post, covering strikes on the same days, gives no civilian toll at all.
Checked against 3 sources:
Haaretz
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Haaretz 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent Report: Israeli strike kills four Palestinians, including two children, in Gaza Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Haaretz → What we have measured A previous framing corrected the twelve-country statement described as ambiguously worded ×1Asserted flat The report states as fact that barring Arab parties is a standing ritual. ×1Asserted flat The report says ethnicity explains the different outcomes, in its own voice. ×1Asserted in the report's own voice Parties are characterised by what they are said to promise, unattributed, and the headline calls the result frightening. ×1 from 1936 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Israeli Strike in Gaza Kills Family of Four Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent Hamas terrorist behind 2003 murder of Shalom Har-Melech killed in IDF strike in Gaza Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
disputed The strikes hit Hamas weapons storage facilities in three parts of Gaza.
The Jerusalem Post carries the Israeli military's account that the sites in three parts of the Strip stored weapons, explosive devices and anti-tank missiles. Haaretz sets that claim against Palestinian residents describing a wider wave of strikes on homes, with at least six houses hit in two days.
Checked against 2 sources:
The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent Hamas terrorist behind 2003 murder of Shalom Har-Melech killed in IDF strike in Gaza Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Haaretz
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Haaretz 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent Report: Israeli strike kills four Palestinians, including two children, in Gaza Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Haaretz → What we have measured A previous framing corrected the twelve-country statement described as ambiguously worded ×1Asserted flat The report states as fact that barring Arab parties is a standing ritual. ×1Asserted flat The report says ethnicity explains the different outcomes, in its own voice. ×1Asserted in the report's own voice Parties are characterised by what they are said to promise, unattributed, and the headline calls the result frightening. ×1 from 1936 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
unverified The strike killed the Hamas member responsible for the 2003 killing of Shalom Har-Melech.
Only The Jerusalem Post makes this identification, sourced to the Israeli military. Neither Haaretz nor Asharq Al-Awsat names anyone killed in the strikes.
Checked against 3 sources:
The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent Hamas terrorist behind 2003 murder of Shalom Har-Melech killed in IDF strike in Gaza Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Haaretz
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Haaretz 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent Report: Israeli strike kills four Palestinians, including two children, in Gaza Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Haaretz → What we have measured A previous framing corrected the twelve-country statement described as ambiguously worded ×1Asserted flat The report states as fact that barring Arab parties is a standing ritual. ×1Asserted flat The report says ethnicity explains the different outcomes, in its own voice. ×1Asserted in the report's own voice Parties are characterised by what they are said to promise, unattributed, and the headline calls the result frightening. ×1 from 1936 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Israeli Strike in Gaza Kills Family of Four Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →

Who wrote it

J Jonah Davidov The Jerusalem Post
What the bias passes found in their reporting
Asserted or attributed the military's account of what the buildings held is carried in the report's own voice, in the passive×1
Hedge photo caption hedges as a Palestinian claim what the text states flat×1
Hedged versus flat the photo caption hedges the settler attack as a Palestinian claim, while the body states it flat×1
Stated or attributed the use of the buildings is asserted, with the military's own words quoted inside the assertion×1
Claims we checked that rest on their reporting
1 disputed3 unverified
From 36 reports we hold under this byline, at The Jerusalem Post. Two independent readings, each made without the masthead, a quote attached to every tag. A record, never a rating. Their full record →
The bylines on the reports this story is built from. Hover one for what our passes have measured on their reporting. · 2 reports we hold carry no byline — we do not invent one.

Coverage, outlet by outlet

The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent Hamas terrorist behind 2003 murder of Shalom Har-Melech killed in IDF strike in Gaza Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— independent
The only report to name anyone, and the name is an Israeli killed in 2003. It is also the only one describing what the buildings held — weapons, explosive devices, anti-tank missiles, in three parts of Gaza — and it
Farah Hamed, a senior Hamas member and terrorist who carried out a 2003 attack that resulted in the murder of Shalom Har-Melech, late husband of MK Limor Son Har-Melech, was killed in an IDF strike in the Gaza Strip, Hamas announced on Wednesday.Hamed, who killed Shalom Har-Melech in a drive-by shooting, was released from prison in the 2011 Gilad Shalit prisoner exchange deal, in which Israel freed 1,027 Palestinian prisoners in exchange for IDF soldier Gilad Shalit, who had been held captive in Gaza for over five years.Limor, who was seven months pregnant at the time, was critically injured i
Who is named among the dead: the Israeli killed in 2003 is named in the headline; the person killed this week is not — “Hamas terrorist behind 2003 murder of Shalom Har-Melech killed in IDF strike in Gaza”
Stated or attributed: the use of the buildings is asserted, with the military's own words quoted inside the assertion — “The facilities, which were located in three different parts of the Strip, were utilized by Hamas to "store weapons, explosive devices, anti-tank missiles, and additional military equipment."”
Who is named: the man killed is identified only by an act from 2003; the person named is the Israeli killed then — “Hamas terrorist behind 2003 murder of Shalom Har-Melech killed in IDF strike in Gaza”
Asserted or attributed: the military's account of what the buildings held is carried in the report's own voice, in the passive — “The facilities, which were located in three different parts of the Strip, were utilized by Hamas to "store weapons, explosive devices, anti-tank missiles, and additional military equipment."”
Read it at The Jerusalem Post → https://www.jpost.com/israel-news/defense-news/article-908211
Haaretz
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Haaretz 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent Report: Israeli strike kills four Palestinians, including two children, in Gaza Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Haaretz → What we have measured A previous framing corrected the twelve-country statement described as ambiguously worded ×1Asserted flat The report states as fact that barring Arab parties is a standing ritual. ×1Asserted flat The report says ethnicity explains the different outcomes, in its own voice. ×1Asserted in the report's own voice Parties are characterised by what they are said to promise, unattributed, and the headline calls the result frightening. ×1 from 1936 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— independent
The only report carrying both accounts in one sentence — Israel says weapons facilities, Palestinian residents say homes — and the only one giving a wider tally: at least six houses struck across Gaza in two days.
oNavigationAccount Details Haaretz - back to home page SearchAccessibility Current section Israel says its latest strikes targeted Hamas weapons facilities, while Palestinian residents report a broader wave of attacks on homes. At least six houses have been struck across Gaza over the past two days Ad-free and in a comfortable reading format Four Palestinians, including two children aged 8 and 12, were killed Thursday in an Israeli drone strike on a home in Beit Lahia in the northern Gaza Strip, according to Palestinian media and health officials.
Symmetry of attribution: both accounts attributed, in one sentence, with the same verb weight — “Israel says its latest strikes targeted Hamas weapons facilities, while Palestinian residents report a broader wave of attacks on homes.”
Who is named as acting: the wider tally is written with no actor named — “At least six houses have been struck across Gaza over the past two days”
What the headline hedges: the death toll is held at arm's length by a one-word prefix — “Report: Israeli strike kills four Palestinians, including two children, in Gaza”
Attribution, both sides: target claim and resident account are attributed in the same sentence, in the same form — “Israel says its latest strikes targeted Hamas weapons facilities, while Palestinian residents report a broader wave of attacks on homes.”
No actor named: the count of struck houses is written with nobody doing the striking — “At least six houses have been struck across Gaza over the past two days”
Hedged or stated flat: the toll is held at arm's length by a one-word prefix; the strike itself is not — “Report: Israeli strike kills four Palestinians, including two children, in Gaza”
Read it at Haaretz → https://www.haaretz.com/gaza/2026-09-10/ty-article/palestinian-reports-…
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Israeli Strike in Gaza Kills Family of Four Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
—
Counts the dead as one family rather than as four individuals, and names Israel as the actor in its headline. It reaches us as a headline with no text beneath it.
An Israeli strike in Gaza on Thursday killed a family of four including two children, Palestinian hospital and security sources said. "The bodies of four members of the Ahmad family were recovered in pieces after an Israeli strike hit a house in the Beit Lahia Project area in the northern Gaza Strip," an official at Al-Shifa hospital in Gaza City said, identifying the children as aged 12 and eight. The Israeli military, contacted by AFP, said it was checking. A Palestinian security source in Gaza, which is under the control of Hamas, said that Israeli warplanes struck after midnight in Beit La
How the dead are counted: counted as a family, actor named, nobody named — “Israeli Strike in Gaza Kills Family of Four”
How the dead are counted: the dead are measured as a family of four, unnamed, with the actor named in active voice — “Israeli Strike in Gaza Kills Family of Four”
Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → https://english.aawsat.com/node/5316693
Checked, didn’t cover
Palestine TV · Palestinian Broadcasting Corporation
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
Palestine TV · Palestinian Broadcasting Corporation 🇵🇸PS · TV/radio · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Asserted versus attributed recognition itself stated as fact ×1Attribution 'historic' attributed to the Palestinian ambassador ×1Dead counted, not named two dead are counted as 'citizens' and none are named; the wounded are not counted ×1Dead named Gives the dead man's full name and age. ×1 from 766 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
IRNA (Islamic Republic News Agency)
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
IRNA (Islamic Republic News Agency) 🇮🇷IR · state agency · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured A contested word in the headline "illegal" is a Chinese spokesperson's characterisation, carried unmarked in the headline ×1A contested word taken as the report's own "illegal" appears in the headline without quotation marks or attribution to the speaker ×1Acted upon, never acting police are named as acting; whoever hoarded a billion toman of staples is not named at all ×1Actor label The Houthi-run authority is called Yemen's transport ministry. ×1 from 15038 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Ynet
Centre estimate · not a score
Ynet 🇮🇱IL · digital · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured A claim in the headline that the other reports very close to deciding the regime appears in one report only ×1Active voice The killers are the subject of the verbs 'beat' and 'burned'. ×1Active voice The killers are named as acting ×1Army's term, attributed the army names the target of its strikes, and no one on the other side is quoted ×1 from 2684 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
North Press Agency
Centre estimate · not a score
North Press Agency 🇸🇾SY · wire · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Attribution the damage list is carried in full, attributed to the side claiming it ×1Single official source Uses the Saudi Press Agency's account: 'bilateral relations', with no mention of reconstruction or money. ×1What is at stake presents the stakes as trade and energy security; no ship, crew or price is counted ×1Which line is led with led by the legal instrument, naming the Security Council resolution by number ×1 from 1169 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Shargh
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Shargh 🇮🇷IR · newspaper · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured A count with its base both days given, and the data called preliminary ×1Actor named as a state the attack is Yemen's, not the Houthis' ×1A different actor does the asking Pakistan's army chief, not Beijing, is the one asking Tehran to use its influence, on the word of unnamed Pakistani government sources. ×1'aggression' in the narration The US campaign is called aggression in the report's own narration, which it credits to Al-Ahram's account of the call. ×1 from 10199 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al-Monitor
Centre estimate · not a score
Al-Monitor 🇺🇸US/ME · digital · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Actor from anonymous officials Puts the IRGC at the trigger in a sentence sourc ×1Actor named Names the Director-General as the one who requested the dismissal ×1Actor named names Trump as the one who began the war, with Israel ×1Actor named names Israel as the actor in its military actions against the Palestinians ×1 from 1566 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Tehran Times
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
Tehran Times 🇮🇷IR · newspaper · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Asserted vs attributed headline states the seizure flat; the body attributes it to the claimant ×1Attribution the toll is attributed to a body that is described but not named ×1Headline against body headline states the seizure flat; the body attributes it to the IRGC ×1How the objectors are framed opposition is described as protesters speaking for civilians ×1 from 1753 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al Jazeera English
Centre estimate · not a score
Al Jazeera English 🇶🇦QA · TV/radio · state-funded international No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1 from 4959 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
An-Nahar
Centre estimate · not a score
An-Nahar 🇱🇧LB · newspaper · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Accused named the accused is named and his age is given ×1Accused named names the accused and gives his age ×1A contested finding relayed with the case still the prime minister's claim carried, with the court proceedings noted in the same sentence ×1Active voice and a toll in the background paragraph, the July strikes get named actors and counted dead — the only counted dead in this story ×1 from 10777 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
LBCI (Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International)
Centre estimate · not a score
LBCI (Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International) 🇱🇧LB · TV/radio · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Active voice, actor named the Israeli army carried out the detonation ×1Actor framing Tehran calls the meeting. Iraq is the only other state named. ×1Actor left unnamed the strike in Iraqi waters has no one named as firing it — the source is "unknown" ×1Actor named names Israel as the one striking ×1 from 8159 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Silence is recorded, not inferred — each of these was read when we built this story and carried nothing on this event.
We could not read these
K Kan · Israeli Public Broadcasting Corporation
Centre estimate · not a score
Kan · Israeli Public Broadcasting Corporation 🇮🇱IL · public broadcaster · public-service No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The Times of Israel
Centre estimate · not a score
The Times of Israel 🇮🇱IL · digital · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Actorless in own voice The killing is passive with no shooter in the se ×1Headline carries the purpose The livestock and the army's reason are in the h ×1Headline frame The headline carries the military's word for the ×1Military words carried whole Both the label for the dead and the phrase for t ×1 from 149 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Al-Sabaah
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
Al-Sabaah 🇮🇶IQ · newspaper · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Ma'an News Agency
Centre estimate · not a score
Ma'an News Agency 🇵🇸PS · digital · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al Rai
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
Al Rai 🇯🇴JO · newspaper · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al-Mada
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Al-Mada 🇮🇶IQ · newspaper · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
WAFA · Palestinian News & Information Agency
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
WAFA · Palestinian News & Information Agency 🇵🇸PS · state agency · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
SANA (Syrian Arab News Agency)
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
SANA (Syrian Arab News Agency) 🇸🇾SY · state agency · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al-Manar
State-owned, sometimes critical estimate · not a score
Al-Manar 🇱🇧LB · TV/radio · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Galei Tzahal (Army Radio)
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
Galei Tzahal (Army Radio) 🇮🇱IL · TV/radio · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Middle East Eye
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Middle East Eye 🇬🇧UK · digital · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured How hard the claim is stated Its own body says the investigators did not attribute the network to the Emirati state — the qualification its headline drops. ×1How hard the claim is stated The body withdraws in one line the attribution its own headline makes ×1How deeply it is sourced Cites its own past reporting as the evidence for the claim in its own headline, and calls the evidence widespread in its own voice ×1How deeply it is sourced Offers its own past reporting as the evidence supporting the claim in its headline, inside the same sentence that carries the denial. ×1 from 125 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Ammon News
Centre estimate · not a score
Ammon News 🇯🇴JO · digital · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
These are must-cite outlets for this desk that we did not manage to read when we built this story. That is a gap in our reach, not a silence on their part, and it is not evidence of anything about this story.

Sign in to The AI Times

Everything is free while we are building it. Signing in is how comments, likes and your reading stay yours.

Continue with Google

Sign-in is coming soon.

By continuing you agree to be a reader of a paper that shows its working.

×