The AI Times
Russia & Eurasia
Read another desk
All Geopolitics & international affairsEconomyUnited StatesAnglosphereEuropeRussia & EurasiaLevant & Iran Gulf & Türkiye North Africa Africa South Asia East Asia Latin America Energy Technology Media Watch
Sections
News Panel Outlets Headlines Analysis & editorial coming soon
Who we are Alerts Pricing Sign in / up
Desks
All Geopolitics & international affairsEconomyUnited StatesAnglosphereEuropeRussia & EurasiaLevant & Iran Gulf & Türkiye North Africa Africa South Asia East Asia Latin America Energy Technology Media Watch
The AI Times
every claim sourced| every source shown| always on watch

Kyiv Post: 258,980 named dead and 1.52 million "killed and wounded". Obozrevatel: about 270,000 losses in a year

Two Ukrainian outlets published five figures for Russian losses within sixteen minutes of each other on 23 September. Named dead, dead-and-wounded, one year and four years are set beside each other as though they were the same measure.

Confirmed Russian War Dead Top a Quarter Million
Confirmed Russian War Dead Top a Quarter Million as published by Kyiv Post · seen at Kyiv Post

Two reports, five numbers. Kyiv Post carries four: the BBC and Mediazona's count of 258,980 Russian soldiers identified by name as killed since 2022, "with the actual toll likely doubling that figure"; Ukraine's estimate of 1.52 million killed and wounded; and "London" putting the dead at around 500,000 out of 1.5 million casualties. Obozrevatel reports Zelensky giving about 270,000 Russian losses over the past year.

Figure Named as counting What it counts Period
258,980 the BBC and Mediazona, in Kyiv Post soldiers identified by name as killed since 2022
"likely doubling" that nobody named the real death toll since 2022
1.52 million Ukraine, in Kyiv Post killed and wounded together not stated
about 500,000, of 1.5 million "London", in Kyiv Post dead, inside total casualties not stated
about 270,000 Zelensky, in Obozrevatel "losses" — basis not given one year

The wording. The hardest figure states its own method inside the sentence — identified by name — and names who did the counting. The doubling that follows it names nobody. Obozrevatel's 270,000 does not say whether it means the dead, the wounded, or both. Its headline sets 890 square kilometres Russia "seized" against 800 Ukraine "liberated": two numbers of the same kind, a different verb for each army.

Not settled. Nothing in the two reports reconciles the five numbers. Neither gives a figure for Ukrainian dead or wounded, and neither carries Russia's own count. We hold no second report on any of these figures.

This is a story about how many Russian soldiers have been killed in Ukraine, and about the fact that the figures in circulation do not measure the same thing.

How it got here. Russia and Ukraine have been at war since 2014, when Russia annexed Crimea and fighting began in Ukraine's eastern Donbas. On 24 February 2022 Russia launched a full-scale invasion of the whole country. The war has been fought since largely along a long, barely moving front — the kind of fighting that produces very high losses for small movements of the line. That is why a figure for the dead and a figure for ground taken tend to be published together, as they are in the Obozrevatel report here.

Why nobody simply knows. Neither government publishes a running count of its own military dead; both publish counts of the enemy's. That leaves the field to third parties. The BBC, Britain's public broadcaster, and Mediazona, an independent Russian news outlet working from outside Russia, run a joint count built from named individuals rather than from estimates — the strictest, and therefore the lowest, of the methods in this story. The report we hold does not say how those names are gathered. Western governments, Britain's among them, publish their own estimates drawn from intelligence; "London" in the Kyiv Post report is not attached to any named department or document.

What is at stake. Casualty totals are arguments. They are used to say whether Russia can sustain the war, whether Ukraine should be armed further, and what either side should accept at a negotiating table. A count of names and an estimate of killed-and-wounded can differ several times over and both be honest — which is why the basis matters more than the number.

Where it stands. Five figures, two reports, one day, and nothing in what we hold that reconciles them.

What is being argued about

  • Five separate figures for Russian losses, each counting a different category over a different period
  • A count built from named dead against estimates of killed and wounded
  • Which figures name a counter and a basis, and which name neither
  • The absence of any Ukrainian loss figure, and of any Russian official count
Five figures, and what each one actually countsSide by side
FigureNamed as countingWhat it countsPeriodWhere
258,980the BBC and MediazonaRussian soldiers identified by name as killedsince 2022Kyiv Post
"likely doubling that figure"nobody namedthe real death tollsince 2022Kyiv Post
1.52 millionUkraineRussians killed and wounded togethernot statedKyiv Post
about 500,000, out of 1.5 million casualties"London"the dead, inside total casualtiesnot statedKyiv Post
about 270,000Zelensky"losses" — dead, wounded or both not saidthe past yearObozrevatel
As each report gives them. None is corroborated by a second report we hold, and the periods and categories differ, so the numbers do not stand against one another.
Sources K Kyiv Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Kyiv Post 🇺🇦UA · digital · Confirmed Russian War Dead Top a Quarter Million Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Kyiv Post → What we have measured A capital city stands in for a ministry the source of the 500,000 figure is a metonym, not a named institution or report ×1Actor named Russia is the active subject of the headline ×1Actor named the drone is identified as Russian, and a child is counted among the injured ×1Actor named Russia is named as the actor, and the report notes a child among the injured. ×1 from 1995 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
O Obozrevatel
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Obozrevatel 🇺🇦UA · digital · Россия за год захватила 890 км, Украина освободила – 800 км: Зеленский рассказал о ситуации на поле боя Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Obozrevatel → What we have measured Actor label Names the attacker as 'occupiers' and gives 12 hurt, with no one cited as counting ×1Actor named no attacker named; the drone 'hit near' the building ×1Actor named No actor is named, and the headline puts the hit near the building rather than on it. ×1Actors left vague the neighbouring countries are not named ×1 from 9944 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Five figures for Russian losses, side by sideChart
This is not one quantity counted five ways by people who disagree. Each bar counts a different category over a different period, which is why the heights cannot be read against each other.
Sources K Kyiv Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Kyiv Post 🇺🇦UA · digital · Confirmed Russian War Dead Top a Quarter Million Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Kyiv Post → What we have measured A capital city stands in for a ministry the source of the 500,000 figure is a metonym, not a named institution or report ×1Actor named Russia is the active subject of the headline ×1Actor named the drone is identified as Russian, and a child is counted among the injured ×1Actor named Russia is named as the actor, and the report notes a child among the injured. ×1 from 1995 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
O Obozrevatel
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Obozrevatel 🇺🇦UA · digital · Россия за год захватила 890 км, Украина освободила – 800 км: Зеленский рассказал о ситуации на поле боя Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Obozrevatel → What we have measured Actor label Names the attacker as 'occupiers' and gives 12 hurt, with no one cited as counting ×1Actor named no attacker named; the drone 'hit near' the building ×1Actor named No actor is named, and the headline puts the hit near the building rather than on it. ×1Actors left vague the neighbouring countries are not named ×1 from 9944 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The bias in this coverageBias

Five numbers, and they do not count the same thing

Named-and-confirmed dead, a projection of double that, killed-and-wounded, dead out of total casualties, and a year's undefined losses are all set side by side. Four of the five say who produced them; one says only what period it covers. Neither report we hold gives any figure for Ukrainian dead or wounded.

5 figures for Russian losses across the two reports 4 figures that say whether they count the dead only 0 figures for Ukrainian losses

Who is dying, and who is recruited

One report goes past the totals to where the dead come from and how the next soldiers are found. It ties deaths to poorer regions and recruitment to bonuses and pressure. The other stays at the level of a national total.

1 reports linking deaths to poorer regions 1 reports describing how recruits are found
Scored without the mastheads. Where the two passes differ, both are kept.
Sources K Kyiv Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Kyiv Post 🇺🇦UA · digital · Confirmed Russian War Dead Top a Quarter Million Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Kyiv Post → What we have measured A capital city stands in for a ministry the source of the 500,000 figure is a metonym, not a named institution or report ×1Actor named Russia is the active subject of the headline ×1Actor named the drone is identified as Russian, and a child is counted among the injured ×1Actor named Russia is named as the actor, and the report notes a child among the injured. ×1 from 1995 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
O Obozrevatel
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Obozrevatel 🇺🇦UA · digital · Россия за год захватила 890 км, Украина освободила – 800 км: Зеленский рассказал о ситуации на поле боя Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Obozrevatel → What we have measured Actor label Names the attacker as 'occupiers' and gives 12 hurt, with no one cited as counting ×1Actor named no attacker named; the drone 'hit near' the building ×1Actor named No actor is named, and the headline puts the hit near the building rather than on it. ×1Actors left vague the neighbouring countries are not named ×1 from 9944 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →

Claims and verdicts

unverified 258,980 Russian soldiers have been identified by name as killed in Ukraine since 2022.
Only the Kyiv Post report carries this figure, attributed to the BBC and Mediazona, and no other report we hold on this event tests it. The same report says the real toll is likely double, which is an estimate, not a count of names.
Checked against 1 source:
K Kyiv Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Kyiv Post 🇺🇦UA · digital · Confirmed Russian War Dead Top a Quarter Million Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Kyiv Post → What we have measured A capital city stands in for a ministry the source of the 500,000 figure is a metonym, not a named institution or report ×1Actor named Russia is the active subject of the headline ×1Actor named the drone is identified as Russian, and a child is counted among the injured ×1Actor named Russia is named as the actor, and the report notes a child among the injured. ×1 from 1995 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
unverified Ukraine and the United Kingdom both put total Russian casualties at roughly 1.5 million.
The Kyiv Post is the only report we hold carrying either figure — Ukraine's 1.52 million killed and wounded, London's 1.5 million casualties including around 500,000 dead — and one report is not corroboration. The two figures count the same category but come from the belligerent and from a government backing it.
Checked against 1 source:
K Kyiv Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Kyiv Post 🇺🇦UA · digital · Confirmed Russian War Dead Top a Quarter Million Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Kyiv Post → What we have measured A capital city stands in for a ministry the source of the 500,000 figure is a metonym, not a named institution or report ×1Actor named Russia is the active subject of the headline ×1Actor named the drone is identified as Russian, and a child is counted among the injured ×1Actor named Russia is named as the actor, and the report notes a child among the injured. ×1 from 1995 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
unverified Zelensky said Russian losses over the past year were about 270,000.
Only Obozrevatel carries this, and the report does not say whether the 270,000 counts dead, or dead and wounded together. No other report we hold gives a twelve-month figure to compare it with.
Checked against 1 source:
O Obozrevatel
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Obozrevatel 🇺🇦UA · digital · Россия за год захватила 890 км, Украина освободила – 800 км: Зеленский рассказал о ситуации на поле боя Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Obozrevatel → What we have measured Actor label Names the attacker as 'occupiers' and gives 12 hurt, with no one cited as counting ×1Actor named no attacker named; the drone 'hit near' the building ×1Actor named No actor is named, and the headline puts the hit near the building rather than on it. ×1Actors left vague the neighbouring countries are not named ×1 from 9944 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →

Who wrote it

S Stefan Korshak Kyiv Post
What the bias passes found in their reporting
A capital city stands in for a ministry the source of the 500,000 figure is a metonym, not a named institution or report×1
A multiplier with no source the doubling of the named count is stated flat, with nobody credited for the estimate×1
Counter named for the hardest number the only figure built from names has its counters named in the same sentence×1
Counting basis stated before comparison each figure is labelled as dead, or as killed and wounded, before the two are set side by side×1
Claims we checked that rest on their reporting
1 disputed5 unverified2 true
From 35 reports we hold under this byline, at Kyiv Post. Two independent readings, each made without the masthead, a quote attached to every tag. A record, never a rating. Their full record →
О Ольга Ганюкова Obozrevatel
What the bias passes found in their reporting
Asserted flat the drone's nationality is stated without a source×1
Different verb for each army Russia seizes, Ukraine liberates, for two numbers of the same kind×1
Evaluative wording in the report's own voice the report judges the statement rather than quoting it, and puts the peace language in scare quotes×1
Evaluative word in the report's own voice the headline calls the statement 'cynical' without saying who calls it that×1
Claims we checked that rest on their reporting
4 unverified3 true
From 336 reports we hold under this byline, at Obozrevatel. Two independent readings, each made without the masthead, a quote attached to every tag. A record, never a rating. Their full record →
The bylines on the reports this story is built from. Hover one for what our passes have measured on their reporting.

Coverage, outlet by outlet

K Kyiv Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Kyiv Post 🇺🇦UA · digital · Confirmed Russian War Dead Top a Quarter Million Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Kyiv Post → What we have measured A capital city stands in for a ministry the source of the 500,000 figure is a metonym, not a named institution or report ×1Actor named Russia is the active subject of the headline ×1Actor named the drone is identified as Russian, and a child is counted among the injured ×1Actor named Russia is named as the actor, and the report notes a child among the injured. ×1 from 1995 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
—
The only report we hold carrying the named-dead count — 258,980, credited to the BBC and Mediazona — and the only one setting Ukraine's 1.52 million killed and wounded beside London's roughly 500,000 dead out of 1.5
In brief: The BBC and Mediazona said 258,980 Russian soldiers have been identified by name as killed in Ukraine since 2022, with the actual toll likely doubling that figure. Ukraine estimates 1.52 million Russians killed and wounded, while London puts the number of dead at around 500,000 out of 1.5 million total casualties. Deaths are highest in poorer regions, while recruitment increasingly relies on bonuses and pressure amid low volunteer counts. Make us preferred on Google Flip Share Facebook X (Twitter) LinkedIn Bluesky Email Copy Copied Russian servicemen, involved in the so-called ‘speci
Says what the number counts: the strictest measure in the story states its method inside the sentence: identified by name — “258,980 Russian soldiers have been identified by name as killed in Ukraine since 2022”
Unattributed projection: a doubling of the confirmed count is offered with a hedge and no one named as estimating it — “with the actual toll likely doubling that figure”
A capital city stands in for a ministry: the source of the 500,000 figure is a metonym, not a named institution or report — “London puts the number of dead at around 500,000 out of 1.5 million total casualties”
One side is counted: killed and wounded are merged into one figure for Russia; no Ukrainian loss figure appears in either report — “Ukraine estimates 1.52 million Russians killed and wounded”
Counting basis stated before comparison: each figure is labelled as dead, or as killed and wounded, before the two are set side by side — “Ukraine estimates 1.52 million Russians killed and wounded, while London puts the number of dead at around 500,000 out of 1.5 million total casualties.”
A multiplier with no source: the doubling of the named count is stated flat, with nobody credited for the estimate — “with the actual toll likely doubling that figure”
Counter named for the hardest number: the only figure built from names has its counters named in the same sentence — “The BBC and Mediazona said 258,980 Russian soldiers have been identified by name as killed in Ukraine since 2022”
Social claim asserted without attribution: where the dead come from, and how recruits are found, are stated as fact with no source — “Deaths are highest in poorer regions, while recruitment increasingly relies on bonuses and pressure amid low volunteer counts.”
Read it at Kyiv Post → https://www.kyivpost.com/post/85241
O Obozrevatel
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Obozrevatel 🇺🇦UA · digital · Россия за год захватила 890 км, Украина освободила – 800 км: Зеленский рассказал о ситуации на поле боя Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Obozrevatel → What we have measured Actor label Names the attacker as 'occupiers' and gives 12 hurt, with no one cited as counting ×1Actor named no attacker named; the drone 'hit near' the building ×1Actor named No actor is named, and the headline puts the hit near the building rather than on it. ×1Actors left vague the neighbouring countries are not named ×1 from 9944 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
—
The only report we hold with a twelve-month figure: about 270,000 Russian losses over the past year, from Zelensky, with no word on whether that counts the dead or the dead and wounded together. It is also the only one
Президент Владимир Зеленский заявил, что в 2026 году Россия захватила около 890 квадратных километров украинской территории, тогда как Украина освободила около 800 квадратных километров. По его словам, российские потери за этот период составили около 270 тысяч человек. Зеленский отметил, что из-за такого соотношения территориальных завоеваний ситуация на фронте фактически остается практически неизменной. Об этом он рассказал в интервью The Wall Street Journal. Россия захватила около 890 км Зеленский рассказал, что в 2026 году российские войска захватили примерно 890 квадратных километров терри
Figure stated flat: a year's Russian losses given with no counter named and no word on whether it means dead or dead and wounded — “Российские потери за этот период составили около 270 тысяч человек”
Territory claim attributed at the tail: square kilometres taken and freed run as headline fact, with the source added after the colon — “Россия за год захватила 890 км, Украина освободила – 800 км: Зеленский рассказал о ситуации на поле боя”
Figure with no counting basis: "losses" is not defined as dead, wounded or both, and no counter is named in the sentence — “Российские потери за этот период составили около 270 тысяч человек”
Different verb for each army: Russia seizes, Ukraine liberates, for two numbers of the same kind — “Россия за год захватила 890 км, Украина освободила – 800 км”
Read it at Obozrevatel → https://war.obozrevatel.com/rossiya-za-god-zahvatila-890-km-ukraina-osv…
Checked, didn’t cover
M Meduza
Centre estimate · not a score
Meduza 🇱🇻LV · digital · exile No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Agenda given without a verdict the only report that lists what was discussed and stops there ×1Asserted versus attributed figure attributed to the leaders' own declaration ×1Attribution the release is sourced to the leaders' joint declaration ×1Attribution inside the sentence the whole account marked as one leader's telling ×1 from 1071 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
R RIA Novosti
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
RIA Novosti 🇷🇺RU · state agency · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Actor named no attacker named; the channels only 'said' there were failures ×1Actor named the outage is reported with no actor named ×1Actor named 'the West' is named as acting, attributed to the foreign ministry spokeswoman ×1Actor named headline names Ukraine's armed forces as the attacker ×1 from 31373 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
T The Moscow Times
Centre estimate · not a score
The Moscow Times 🇳🇱NL · newspaper · exile No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Asserted vs attributed Repeats a two-sided deal on one side's word; the second party's silence is not mentioned. ×1Asserted vs attributed headline states the nuclear warning flat, with no source ×1Attributed justification Russia's justification is carried in quotation marks and attributed. No Ukrainian response is given. ×1Attribution Attributes the threat to Moscow and repeats the ministry's list of targets unchallenged. ×1 from 429 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
S Suspilne
Centre estimate · not a score
Suspilne 🇺🇦UA · public broadcaster · public-service No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Actor label Names the attacker as 'the Russian army' and gives the date ×1Actor label The Russian side is called 'occupiers' in the headline. ×1Actor named The sentence is given by 'occupiers', so the actor is named and labelled. ×1Actor named hurt aged On the other side of the Dnipro, the Russian drone is named as the actor and the wounded man is given an age, not a name. The vote is called 'pseudo-elections' in the report's own voice. ×1 from 20607 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
U Ukrainska Pravda
Centre estimate · not a score
Ukrainska Pravda 🇺🇦UA · digital · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Actor named shortages are described with no one named as causing them ×1Actor named The cancellation is pinned on a named Hungarian official's refusal. ×1Actor named The town is called 'occupied', but the lede does not name who occupies it or who blocks aid. ×1Actor named Names the EU and partners as the ones paying ×1 from 7025 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
I Interfax
Centre estimate · not a score
Interfax 🇷🇺RU · digital · No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured A checkable claim passed on unchecked relays the president's statistic about world cities in quotation marks with no check and no counter-voice ×1A denial carried as characterisation press reports are labelled planted, and the label is passed on in the report's own voice ×1Anonymous source The meetings are sourced to unnamed people familiar with the situation. ×1Anyone hurt named or counted injuries described in clinical detail; the man is never named ×1 from 7627 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
U Ukrinform
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
Ukrinform 🇺🇦UA · digital · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Actor named names the occupying force ×1Actor named Names the occupying force but not what residents are fleeing from ×1Actor named No actor is named. The drone is not attributed to anyone. ×1Actor named Names the attacker and what was damaged, and states the halt flat without naming a source. ×1 from 2995 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
M Mediazona
Centre estimate · not a score
Mediazona 🇷🇺RU · digital · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Actor named the Russian army is named as the actor, in active voice ×1A running total, and a collective actor 'two more' implies earlier removals, and the courts act as a plural with no case or plaintiff named ×1Harm counted The only report that counts people hurt, with a floor rather than a figure ×1Harm counted the only report that counts people hurt ×1 from 803 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
N Novaya Gazeta Europe
Centre estimate · not a score
Novaya Gazeta Europe 🇱🇻LV · newspaper · exile No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Actor named Names Russia as the actor in the headline and in the first line. ×1Anonymous source asserts The report's strongest claim, that results were falsified across most regions, comes from a source it does not name ×1Anonymous sourcing Everything rests on a foreign newspaper citing two unnamed diplomats. ×1A party's label carried inside a quote, unmarked the Kremlin spokesman's phrase for the Ukrainian government is reproduced without a note ×1 from 1055 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
T TASS
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
TASS 🇷🇺RU · state agency · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Accusation carried by a verb of fact 'Noted' presents a Russian diplomat's accusation of terror as an observation. Kyiv gives no response anywhere in the text. ×1Accusation carried unhedged a charge of terror against civilians is introduced with 'noted', which treats it as fact, and nobody answers it ×1Actor named Ukrainian forces are named as acting, in the report's own voice ×1Actor named Names 'the Western community' as the actor, in Putin's words ×1 from 6410 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Silence is recorded, not inferred — each of these was read when we built this story and carried nothing on this event.

Sign in to The AI Times

Everything is free while we are building it. Signing in is how comments, likes and your reading stay yours.

Continue with Google

Sign-in is coming soon.

By continuing you agree to be a reader of a paper that shows its working.

×