The AI Times
Economy
Read another desk
All Geopolitics & international affairsEconomyUnited StatesAnglosphereEuropeRussia & EurasiaLevant & Iran Gulf & Türkiye North Africa Africa South Asia East Asia Latin America Energy Technology Media Watch
Sections
News Panel Outlets Headlines Analysis & editorial coming soon
Who we are Alerts Pricing Sign in / up
Desks
All Geopolitics & international affairsEconomyUnited StatesAnglosphereEuropeRussia & EurasiaLevant & Iran Gulf & Türkiye North Africa Africa South Asia East Asia Latin America Energy Technology Media Watch
The AI Times
every claim sourced| every source shown| always on watch

Reuters says an airbase and oil infrastructure were hit; the coalition says civilian and economic sites

Two accounts of Tuesday's attacks in southern Saudi Arabia carry the same number, 73, and count it differently. The Saudi energy ministry reports fires and a temporary halt to some operations. No report we hold says how much production stopped.

Exclusive-Pakistan warns Iran to rein in Houthis as Riyadh strikes back
Exclusive-Pakistan warns Iran to rein in Houthis as Riyadh strikes back as published by Al-Monitor · seen at Al-Monitor

What was struck. Al-Monitor, carrying Reuters copy, says the Houthis "struck an airbase in Khamis Mushait and oil infrastructure in nearby cities" on Tuesday. An-Nahar, quoting the coalition spokesman Major General Turki al-Malki, says the attacks hit "civilian and economic sites" in Abha, Khamis Mushait, Jazan and Najran. The Saudi energy ministry, in the same report, says energy plants and facilities in the south were targeted, causing fires and "a temporary halt to some operations".

The same 73. Both reports carry the figure. Reuters writes "wounding 73 people". An-Nahar writes "73 civilians", attributed to the coalition. Both trace to the coalition, so this is one account rather than two.

Report What was hit Who the 73 are
Al-Monitor (Reuters) An airbase at Khamis Mushait, oil infrastructure nearby 73 people wounded
An-Nahar (coalition) Civilian and economic sites in four cities 73 civilians hurt
An-Nahar (energy ministry) Energy plants and facilities in the south Citizens and residents, no figure

Who warned whom. Al Jazeera says Pakistan warns the Mecca defence agreement "may be activated". Al-Monitor adds that Pakistan delivered a Saudi warning to Iran, from Saudi, Pakistani and Iranian sources it does not name.

Not settled. How much crude or refining capacity stopped, and for how long: no report we hold gives a figure. One report names an airbase among the targets; none denies it. None of the three names anyone hurt, gives a death toll, or carries a Houthi or Yemeni voice.

What this is about. Yemen's Houthi movement fired missiles and drones at cities and energy sites in southern Saudi Arabia. The attacks raise the question of whether a war that had mostly gone quiet on the Saudi border is starting again.

How it got here. - 2014: The Houthis, an armed movement from Yemen's north also called Ansar Allah, took the capital, Sanaa, and pushed out the internationally recognised government. - March 2015: Saudi Arabia formed a military coalition to restore that government. It began bombing Houthi areas. The Houthis answered with missiles and drones fired across the border, often at the same southern cities hit this week: Abha, Khamis Mushait, Jazan and Najran. - September 2019: An attack hit the Saudi oil plants at Abqaiq and Khurais. The Houthis claimed it. The United States blamed Iran, which denied it. - April 2022: A UN-brokered truce began. Cross-border attacks largely stopped, even after the truce formally lapsed. - Late 2023 onward: After the Gaza war began, the Houthis attacked shipping in the Red Sea. The Saudi foreign ministry told An-Nahar those attacks are still going on. - February 2026: Reuters, carried by Al-Monitor, dates a "U.S.-Israeli war on Iran" to February. It calls Tuesday's strike one of the biggest on Saudi Arabia since then.

Who is involved, and why. - The Houthis govern most of northern Yemen's population. They are allied with Iran. - Saudi Arabia leads the coalition. The targets were its oil facilities and its southern cities. - Iran backs the Houthis. How much it directs them is disputed. US Secretary of State Marco Rubio told reporters he believes "the Iranian hand" is behind some of the attacks. - Pakistan signed a mutual defence agreement with Saudi Arabia in September 2025. Under it, an attack on one counts as an attack on both. That is why Pakistan's warning matters.

What is at stake. Saudi Arabia is one of the world's largest oil exporters. Damage to its plants can reach fuel prices far from the Gulf. A return to cross-border war would end the calm that has held since 2022. If the pact were activated, a nuclear-armed state would be drawn into the conflict.

Where it stands. The coalition says there were more attacks on Wednesday. Saudi Arabia says it has the right to respond. No report we hold says how much output stopped, or for how long.

The story so far

Earlier stories The AI Times filed on this thread.

What is being argued about

  • What the Houthis hit on Tuesday: an airbase and oil infrastructure, or civilian and economic sites
  • Whether the 73 hurt were civilians, and that both figures come from one source
  • What the halt at Saudi energy facilities costs, which no report quantifies
  • Pakistan's warning to Iran and the Mecca defence agreement
One day, four descriptions of the same attacksSide by side
OutletWhat it said was hitWho the 73 areHedged?
No. Stated in the outlet's own voice.Al-Monitor (Reuters)"struck an airbase in Khamis Mushait and oil infrastructure in nearby cities""wounding 73 people" — not called civilians
Attributed to the coalition. The words terrorist militia and extremist thinking sit in the paraphrase, not in quotes.An-Nahar (coalition spokesman)"civilian and economic sites" in Abha, Khamis Mushait, Jazan and Najran"73 civilians" hurt
Attributed to the ministry. No production figure, no duration.An-Nahar (Saudi energy ministry)energy plants and facilities in the south; fires and "a temporary halt to some operations""a number of citizens and residents" hurt, no figure
Twice: "could activate", "may be activated", "Pakistan says".Al Jazeera Englishdoes not describe the targets; reports Pakistan's warning over "targeting Saudi Arabia"no casualty figure
Measured from the published text of the reports we hold, with the quote attached. Not a rating of any outlet.
Sources Al-Monitor
Centre estimate · not a score
Al-Monitor 🇺🇸US/ME · digital · independent Exclusive-Pakistan warns Iran to rein in Houthis as Riyadh strikes back Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al-Monitor → What we have measured Actor from anonymous officials Puts the IRGC at the trigger in a sentence sourc ×1Actor named Names the Director-General as the one who requested the dismissal ×1Actor named names Trump as the one who began the war, with Israel ×1Actor named names Israel as the actor in its military actions against the Palestinians ×1 from 1566 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
An-Nahar
Centre estimate · not a score
An-Nahar 🇱🇧LB · newspaper · independent بصواريخ ومسيّرات... "التحالف" يعلن تعرض مدن سعودية لهجمات حوثية جديدة Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at An-Nahar → What we have measured Accused named the accused is named and his age is given ×1Accused named names the accused and gives his age ×1A contested finding relayed with the case still the prime minister's claim carried, with the court proceedings noted in the same sentence ×1Active voice and a toll in the background paragraph, the July strikes get named actors and counted dead — the only counted dead in this story ×1 from 10777 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al Jazeera English
Centre estimate · not a score
Al Jazeera English 🇶🇦QA · TV/radio · state-funded international Houthi attacks on Saudi Arabia could activate defence pact, Pakistan says Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al Jazeera English → What we have measured Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1 from 4959 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Two days of attacks, and who said what afterTimeline
  1. 2026-09-08— no time published The Houthis Attacks in southern Saudi Arabia. Reuters names an airbase at Khamis Mushait and oil infrastructure nearby; the coalition names civilian and economic sites in Abha, Khamis Mushait, Jazan and Najran. 73 hurtBoth figures come from the coalition.
  2. 2026-09-08— no time published Saudi energy ministry Says energy plants and facilities in the south were targeted, causing fires, a temporary halt to some operations, and injuries to citizens and residents. no figure for the operations haltedCarried by An-Nahar alone.
  3. 2026-09-09— no time published The Houthis Further ballistic missile and drone attacks on Khamis Mushait, Abha and Jazan, the coalition spokesman says. no casualty figure givenSaudi Arabia says it will act to defend its territory.
  4. 2026-09-0918:31 published time, Al Jazeera English Al Jazeera English Pakistan warns the Mecca defence agreement may be activated if the Houthis keep targeting Saudi Arabia. —One sentence; no text of the agreement quoted.
  5. 2026-09-0918:46 published time, Al-Monitor Al-Monitor, carrying Reuters Pakistan has delivered a Saudi warning to Iran to rein in the Houthis, Saudi, Pakistani and Iranian sources say. —None of the sources is named.
  6. 2026-09-0918:50 published time, An-Nahar An-Nahar The coalition spokesman, the Saudi foreign ministry on Red Sea shipping, and Marco Rubio saying the Iranian hand is behind the attacks. —No Houthi or Yemeni response is carried.
Times are the times the reports were published. Where nothing was published, the row says so.
Sources Al-Monitor
Centre estimate · not a score
Al-Monitor 🇺🇸US/ME · digital · independent Exclusive-Pakistan warns Iran to rein in Houthis as Riyadh strikes back Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al-Monitor → What we have measured Actor from anonymous officials Puts the IRGC at the trigger in a sentence sourc ×1Actor named Names the Director-General as the one who requested the dismissal ×1Actor named names Trump as the one who began the war, with Israel ×1Actor named names Israel as the actor in its military actions against the Palestinians ×1 from 1566 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
An-Nahar
Centre estimate · not a score
An-Nahar 🇱🇧LB · newspaper · independent بصواريخ ومسيّرات... "التحالف" يعلن تعرض مدن سعودية لهجمات حوثية جديدة Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at An-Nahar → What we have measured Accused named the accused is named and his age is given ×1Accused named names the accused and gives his age ×1A contested finding relayed with the case still the prime minister's claim carried, with the court proceedings noted in the same sentence ×1Active voice and a toll in the background paragraph, the July strikes get named actors and counted dead — the only counted dead in this story ×1 from 10777 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al Jazeera English
Centre estimate · not a score
Al Jazeera English 🇶🇦QA · TV/radio · state-funded international Houthi attacks on Saudi Arabia could activate defence pact, Pakistan says Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al Jazeera English → What we have measured Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1 from 4959 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The bias in this coverageBias

Seventy-three, and what they were doing

Two reports carry the same casualty figure and disagree on what it counts: 73 people wounded where an airbase and oil infrastructure were struck, or 73 civilians hurt at civilian and economic sites. Neither names anyone hurt, and neither says how many were killed. The energy ministry account of fires and halted operations appears in one report only.

2 reports giving a casualty figure 1 reports counting the hurt as civilians 0 reports naming anyone hurt 3 reports we hold on this event

Who gets to speak

Every voice quoted on this event is Saudi, coalition, Pakistani or American. Two reports call the Houthis a militia or rebels; none carries a word from them or from Yemen. One report's diplomatic core is three sets of unnamed sources.

1 reports quoting a coalition or Saudi official 0 reports carrying a Houthi or Yemeni voice 1 reports resting on unnamed sources 2 reports calling the Houthis a militia or rebels
Scored without the mastheads. Where the two passes differ, both are kept.
Sources Al-Monitor
Centre estimate · not a score
Al-Monitor 🇺🇸US/ME · digital · independent Exclusive-Pakistan warns Iran to rein in Houthis as Riyadh strikes back Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al-Monitor → What we have measured Actor from anonymous officials Puts the IRGC at the trigger in a sentence sourc ×1Actor named Names the Director-General as the one who requested the dismissal ×1Actor named names Trump as the one who began the war, with Israel ×1Actor named names Israel as the actor in its military actions against the Palestinians ×1 from 1566 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
An-Nahar
Centre estimate · not a score
An-Nahar 🇱🇧LB · newspaper · independent بصواريخ ومسيّرات... "التحالف" يعلن تعرض مدن سعودية لهجمات حوثية جديدة Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at An-Nahar → What we have measured Accused named the accused is named and his age is given ×1Accused named names the accused and gives his age ×1A contested finding relayed with the case still the prime minister's claim carried, with the court proceedings noted in the same sentence ×1Active voice and a toll in the background paragraph, the July strikes get named actors and counted dead — the only counted dead in this story ×1 from 10777 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al Jazeera English
Centre estimate · not a score
Al Jazeera English 🇶🇦QA · TV/radio · state-funded international Houthi attacks on Saudi Arabia could activate defence pact, Pakistan says Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al Jazeera English → What we have measured Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1 from 4959 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →

Claims and verdicts

unverified Tuesday's Houthi attacks on southern Saudi Arabia wounded 73 people.
Al-Monitor's Reuters copy and An-Nahar both give 73, but both trace to the Saudi-led coalition, so this is one account rather than two. They also differ on who the 73 are: An-Nahar says 73 civilians, Al-Monitor says 73 people.
Checked against 2 sources:
Al-Monitor
Centre estimate · not a score
Al-Monitor 🇺🇸US/ME · digital · independent Exclusive-Pakistan warns Iran to rein in Houthis as Riyadh strikes back Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al-Monitor → What we have measured Actor from anonymous officials Puts the IRGC at the trigger in a sentence sourc ×1Actor named Names the Director-General as the one who requested the dismissal ×1Actor named names Trump as the one who began the war, with Israel ×1Actor named names Israel as the actor in its military actions against the Palestinians ×1 from 1566 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
An-Nahar
Centre estimate · not a score
An-Nahar 🇱🇧LB · newspaper · independent بصواريخ ومسيّرات... "التحالف" يعلن تعرض مدن سعودية لهجمات حوثية جديدة Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at An-Nahar → What we have measured Accused named the accused is named and his age is given ×1Accused named names the accused and gives his age ×1A contested finding relayed with the case still the prime minister's claim carried, with the court proceedings noted in the same sentence ×1Active voice and a toll in the background paragraph, the July strikes get named actors and counted dead — the only counted dead in this story ×1 from 10777 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
unverified The Houthis struck an airbase at Khamis Mushait on Tuesday.
Only Al-Monitor names an airbase, alongside oil infrastructure in nearby cities; An-Nahar's account of the same day, from the coalition spokesman, describes civilian and economic sites in Abha, Khamis Mushait, Jazan and Najran, and the Saudi energy ministry describes energy facilities. No report we hold denies an airbase was hit.
Checked against 2 sources:
Al-Monitor
Centre estimate · not a score
Al-Monitor 🇺🇸US/ME · digital · independent Exclusive-Pakistan warns Iran to rein in Houthis as Riyadh strikes back Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al-Monitor → What we have measured Actor from anonymous officials Puts the IRGC at the trigger in a sentence sourc ×1Actor named Names the Director-General as the one who requested the dismissal ×1Actor named names Trump as the one who began the war, with Israel ×1Actor named names Israel as the actor in its military actions against the Palestinians ×1 from 1566 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
An-Nahar
Centre estimate · not a score
An-Nahar 🇱🇧LB · newspaper · independent بصواريخ ومسيّرات... "التحالف" يعلن تعرض مدن سعودية لهجمات حوثية جديدة Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at An-Nahar → What we have measured Accused named the accused is named and his age is given ×1Accused named names the accused and gives his age ×1A contested finding relayed with the case still the prime minister's claim carried, with the court proceedings noted in the same sentence ×1Active voice and a toll in the background paragraph, the July strikes get named actors and counted dead — the only counted dead in this story ×1 from 10777 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
unverified Pakistan has warned Iran to rein in the Houthis, and says the Mecca defence pact could be activated.
Al Jazeera carries the public Pakistani warning about the defence agreement; Al-Monitor's exclusive adds that Pakistan delivered a Saudi message to Tehran, resting on unnamed Saudi, Pakistani and Iranian sources. The delivered warning is carried by one report only.
Checked against 2 sources:
Al Jazeera English
Centre estimate · not a score
Al Jazeera English 🇶🇦QA · TV/radio · state-funded international Houthi attacks on Saudi Arabia could activate defence pact, Pakistan says Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al Jazeera English → What we have measured Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1 from 4959 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al-Monitor
Centre estimate · not a score
Al-Monitor 🇺🇸US/ME · digital · independent Exclusive-Pakistan warns Iran to rein in Houthis as Riyadh strikes back Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al-Monitor → What we have measured Actor from anonymous officials Puts the IRGC at the trigger in a sentence sourc ×1Actor named Names the Director-General as the one who requested the dismissal ×1Actor named names Trump as the one who began the war, with Israel ×1Actor named names Israel as the actor in its military actions against the Palestinians ×1 from 1566 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →

Who wrote it

3 reports we hold carry no byline — we do not invent one.

Coverage, outlet by outlet

An-Nahar
Centre estimate · not a score
An-Nahar 🇱🇧LB · newspaper · independent بصواريخ ومسيّرات... "التحالف" يعلن تعرض مدن سعودية لهجمات حوثية جديدة Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at An-Nahar → What we have measured Accused named the accused is named and his age is given ×1Accused named names the accused and gives his age ×1A contested finding relayed with the case still the prime minister's claim carried, with the court proceedings noted in the same sentence ×1Active voice and a toll in the background paragraph, the July strikes get named actors and counted dead — the only counted dead in this story ×1 from 10777 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— independent
Carries the coalition spokesman and the Saudi energy ministry: the only account of fires and a temporary halt to some operations, the only one counting the 73 as civilians, and the only one quoting US Secretary of State
أعلن المتحدث الرسمي باسم قوات التحالف تحالف دعم الشرعية في اليمن اللواء الركن تركي المالكي، استمرار الحوثيين في اعتداءاتهم على المقدرات الوطنية والبنى التحتية في السعودية.وأوضح اللواء المالكي أن استمرار هذه الاعتداءات تثبت نهج الميليشيا الحوثية الإرهابية وفكرها المتطرف في التصعيد واستهداف المدنيين بالمملكة حيث قامت الميليشيا هذا اليوم الأربعاء باعتداءات تجاه مدن خميس مشيط وأبها وجازان بعدد من الصواريخ الباليستية والطائرات المسيّرة.وأكد أن قيادة القوات المشتركة للتحالف ستتعامل مع هذه الاعتداءات بمسؤولية لحماية سيادة المملكة ومقدراتها الوطنية وحماية المدنيين والأعيان المدنية من هذه الاعتداءات ال
What was hit and who was hurt: the same 73 are counted as civilians and the sites are civilian and economic — “أعلن التحالف إصابة 73 مدنيا من جراء هجمات حوثية استهدفت مواقع مدنية واقتصادية في أبها وخميس مشيط وجازان ونجران”
Label carried in the outlet's own voice: the paraphrase, not the quote, carries terrorist militia and extremist thought — “وأوضح اللواء المالكي أن استمرار هذه الاعتداءات تثبت نهج الميليشيا الحوثية الإرهابية وفكرها المتطرف في التصعيد واستهداف المدنيين بالمملكة”
The same figure, counted differently: the same 73 are civilians, and the sites are civilian and economic, attributed to the coalition — “أعلن التحالف إصابة 73 مدنيا من جراء هجمات حوثية استهدفت مواقع مدنية واقتصادية في أبها وخميس مشيط وجازان ونجران”
One party's adjectives carried through: terrorist militia and extremist thinking, from the coalition spokesman, reported without a countering voice — “نهج الميليشيا الحوثية الإرهابية وفكرها المتطرف في التصعيد واستهداف المدنيين بالمملكة”
The economic damage named: the energy ministry's account gives fires and a temporary halt to operations; the injured are counted as a number of people, unnamed — “فيما أعلنت وزارة الطاقة السعودية استهداف منشآت ومرافق للطاقة في جنوب المملكة، مما أدى إلى اندلاع حرائق وتوقف مؤقت لبعض العمليات وإصابة عدد من المواطنين والمقيمين.”
Read it at An-Nahar → https://www.annahar.com/arab-world/arabian-gulf/345822/التحالف-الحوثيون…
Al-Monitor
Centre estimate · not a score
Al-Monitor 🇺🇸US/ME · digital · independent Exclusive-Pakistan warns Iran to rein in Houthis as Riyadh strikes back Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al-Monitor → What we have measured Actor from anonymous officials Puts the IRGC at the trigger in a sentence sourc ×1Actor named Names the Director-General as the one who requested the dismissal ×1Actor named names Trump as the one who began the war, with Israel ×1Actor named names Israel as the actor in its military actions against the Palestinians ×1 from 1566 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— independent
The only report naming a military target, an airbase at Khamis Mushait, and the only one saying Pakistan delivered a Saudi warning to Tehran, from Saudi, Pakistani and Iranian sources it does not name.
Exclusive-Pakistan warns Iran to rein in Houthis as Riyadh strikes back By Samia Nakhoul, Mubasher Bukhari and Parisa Hafezi Sep 9, 2026 Add AL-MONITOR on Google A satellite image appears to show damage to the King Khalid Airbase at Saudi Airbase that Houthis claimed to have attacked on September 8, in this handout picture obtained by Reuters on September 9, 2026/PLANET LABS PBC/Handout via REUTERS — 2026 PLANET LABS PBC ANKARA, Sept 9 (Reuters) - Pakistan has delivered a Saudi warning to Iran to rein in its Yemeni Houthi allies after they stepped up attacks on the kingdom, in a coordinated ef
What was hit and who was hurt: targets given as an airbase and oil infrastructure; the 73 hurt are counted as people, not named — “The Houthis struck an airbase in Khamis Mushait and oil infrastructure in nearby cities on Tuesday, wounding 73 people”
Who is named as acting in the wider war: the war is named with both its actors and its month — “since the start of the U.S.-Israeli war on Iran in February”
Sourcing: the central diplomatic claim rests on unnamed sources on all three sides — “in a coordinated effort to prevent the crisis from spiralling, Saudi, Pakistani and Iranian sources said”
What was hit, and who was hurt: the targets are an airbase and oil infrastructure; the 73 wounded are people, neither civilian nor military — “The Houthis struck an airbase in Khamis Mushait and oil infrastructure in nearby cities on Tuesday, wounding 73 people”
What the wider war is called: named as the U.S.-Israeli war on Iran in the outlet's own voice, and dated to February — “in one of the biggest attacks on Saudi Arabia since the start of the U.S.-Israeli war on Iran in February”
Read it at Al-Monitor → https://www.al-monitor.com/originals/2026/09/exclusive-pakistan-warns-i…
Al Jazeera English
Centre estimate · not a score
Al Jazeera English 🇶🇦QA · TV/radio · state-funded international Houthi attacks on Saudi Arabia could activate defence pact, Pakistan says Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al Jazeera English → What we have measured Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1 from 4959 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— state-funded international
The public Pakistani warning, hedged twice: the Mecca defence agreement "may be activated" if the Houthis keep targeting Saudi Arabia.
play Live Sign up Show navigation menu Navigation menu NewsShow more news sections Africa Asia US & Canada Latin America Europe Asia Pacific Middle East Explained Sport Opinion Video MoreShow more sections Features Economy Human Rights Climate Crisis Investigations Interactives In Pictures Science & Technology Podcasts Travel Sponsored Content play Live Click here to searchsearch Sign up News Houthi attacks on Saudi Arabia could activate defence pact, Pakistan says Defence Minister Khawaja Asif says agreement between Pakistan, Turkiye and Saudi Arabia may be activated if Yemen’s Houthis contin
How hard the claim is stated: the treaty consequence is hedged to may; the targeting is stated flat — “Pakistan warns Mecca defence agreement may be activated if Yemen's Houthi rebels continue targeting Saudi Arabia.”
What is hedged: the treaty consequence is hedged twice, with could and with says, and no text of the pact is quoted — “Houthi attacks on Saudi Arabia could activate defence pact, Pakistan says”
Read it at Al Jazeera English → https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2026/9/9/pakistan-warns-mecca-defense-pa…

Sign in to The AI Times

Everything is free while we are building it. Signing in is how comments, likes and your reading stay yours.

Continue with Google

Sign-in is coming soon.

By continuing you agree to be a reader of a paper that shows its working.

×