The AI Times
Geopolitics & international affairs
Read another desk
All Geopolitics & international affairsEconomyUnited StatesAnglosphereEuropeRussia & EurasiaLevant & Iran Gulf & Türkiye North Africa Africa South Asia East Asia Latin America Energy Technology Media Watch
Sections
News Panel Outlets Headlines Analysis & editorial coming soon
Who we are Alerts Pricing Sign in / up
Desks
All Geopolitics & international affairsEconomyUnited StatesAnglosphereEuropeRussia & EurasiaLevant & Iran Gulf & Türkiye North Africa Africa South Asia East Asia Latin America Energy Technology Media Watch
The AI Times
every claim sourced| every source shown| always on watch

Ynet says the Houthis are encircling Taiz as Yemen's government attacks; Asharq Al-Awsat says they are being fought off

Rashad al-Alimi heads Yemen's Presidential Leadership Council. On 4 October he announced an operation to retake the land the Houthis hold, and five outlets carried it. They disagree on who is advancing around Taiz, Yemen's third-largest city. None of them gives a casualty figure.

Al-Alimi Announces Start of Full-Scale Military Campaign Against Houthis
Al-Alimi Announces Start of Full-Scale Military Campaign Against Houthis as published by Asharq Al-Awsat · seen at Asharq Al-Awsat

The announcement. On Sunday 4 October, Rashad al-Alimi announced military operations to retake the territory the Houthis hold. The Jerusalem Post, Asharq Al-Awsat, Interfax, Ynet and Efimerida ton Syntakton all carry it. Interfax quotes him, citing Al Jazeera: "Today we announce the start of a military operation to regain control of our territories."

Who is advancing. The accounts of the ground around Taiz differ.

Outlet What it says about Taiz Sourced to
Ynet The Houthis "are only advancing" and are encircling the city unnamed security sources
Asharq Al-Awsat The Houthis are pushing to cut the roads south and meet "fierce" government resistance not stated
The other three nothing on Taiz —

The size of it. Only Ynet gives a number. It says up to 100,000 troops may take part, backed by Saudi air strikes, and credits the figure to Reuters.

The labels. The Jerusalem Post gives each side a backer: al-Alimi is "Saudi-backed" and the Houthis are "Iran-backed". Interfax calls only the government "internationally recognised". Efimerida ton Syntakton calls the Houthis "rebels".

What is not settled - Whether Taiz is under siege. Ynet says it is. Asharq Al-Awsat describes roads under attack. - How far the offensive has got. No report says. - Who flew the air strikes on Houthi positions. Asharq Al-Awsat names no one. Ynet says the Saudis. - How many people have been killed, hurt or displaced. No report we hold gives any figure.

This story is about a new government offensive in Yemen's civil war, and a Houthi push on the city of Taiz.

How it got here. The Houthis are an armed movement from Yemen's north, formally called Ansar Allah. In September 2014 they took the capital, Sanaa, and the government fled south. In March 2015 a coalition led by Saudi Arabia intervened to restore it. The war split the country. The Houthis held Sanaa and most of the populous north-west. The government and its allies held the south and east, with Aden as their base. In April 2022 a truce brokered by the UN largely halted the main fronts. That same month the president handed power to a Presidential Leadership Council, headed by Rashad al-Alimi. From late 2023 the Houthis attacked ships in the Red Sea, saying they were acting over the war in Gaza. The United States and Britain struck Houthi targets in response.

Who is involved, and why. - The government is the authority recognised at the United Nations. It wants back the territory it lost. - Saudi Arabia backs the government and borders Yemen to the north. - The Houthis govern Sanaa and the north-west. Iran is widely described as their backer. How much it supports them is disputed. - Taiz has been a front line since 2015, split between the two sides.

What is at stake. The Bab al-Mandab is the strait at Yemen's south-western tip. It joins the Red Sea to the Gulf of Aden and carries shipping between the Suez Canal and Asia. Ynet reports that new Houthi gains in the south-west give them control of that strait. The roads south of Taiz lead towards Lahj and Aden, and the Houthis are trying to cut them.

Where it stands. The offensive was announced on 4 October. No report we hold says how far it has got, or counts any dead.

What is being argued about

  • Whether Houthi forces have encircled Taiz or are being held off
  • How large the government offensive is, and whether Saudi aircraft are part of it
  • How each outlet labels the two sides
  • That no report counts the dead
One offensive, five ways of naming the sidesSide by side
OutletThe governmentThe HouthisTaiz
The Jerusalem Post"Saudi-backed head" of the council"Iran-backed Houthis"not mentioned
Interfax"internationally recognised authorities""Houthis"not mentioned
Ynet"the pro-Saudi government""the Houthis"encircled, say unnamed security sources
Asharq Al-Awsat"government forces, backed by popular resistance""the Iran-aligned Houthi group"roads to the south under attack
Efimerida ton Syntaktonnot described"rebels"not mentioned
Words quoted from each report. For Asharq Al-Awsat's report on the announcement we could read only the headline, so this row uses its Taiz report.
Sources The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent Head of Yemen's presidential council announces military operations to retake territory Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
I Interfax
Centre estimate · not a score
Interfax 🇷🇺RU · digital · Власти Йемена объявили о военной операции против хуситов Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Interfax → What we have measured A checkable claim passed on unchecked relays the president's statistic about world cities in quotation marks with no check and no counter-voice ×1A denial carried as characterisation press reports are labelled planted, and the label is passed on in the report's own voice ×1Anonymous source The meetings are sourced to unnamed people familiar with the situation. ×1Anyone hurt named or counted injuries described in clinical detail; the man is never named ×1 from 7622 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Ynet
Centre estimate · not a score
Ynet 🇮🇱IL · digital · independent המבצע "לשחרור תימן" יוצא לדרך - אבל הבליץ החות'י נמשך: "הטילו מצור על עיר אסטרטגית" Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Ynet → What we have measured A claim in the headline that the other reports very close to deciding the regime appears in one report only ×1Active voice The killers are the subject of the verbs 'beat' and 'burned'. ×1Active voice The killers are named as acting ×1Army's term, attributed the army names the target of its strikes, and no one on the other side is quoted ×1 from 2683 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Houthi Pressure Isolates Taiz from Its Southern Countryside Amid Fierce Resistance Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Efimerida ton Syntakton
Left estimate · not a score
Efimerida ton Syntakton 🇬🇷GR · newspaper · independent Υεμένη: Μεγάλη στρατιωτική επιχείρηση κατά των Χούθι – Οι αντάρτες λένε ότι έπληξαν εγκαταστάσεις της Saudi Aramco Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Efimerida ton Syntakton → What we have measured Adjective without figure Calls the war bloody but gives no count ×1Anyone hurt named the only report we hold that names one of the dead ×1Anyone hurt named the only report we hold that names a person who died ×1Asserted not attributed Calls the move 'unprecedented' in its own voice ×1 from 8171 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
How 4 October was reportedTimeline
  1. 2026-10-0413:52 Efimerida ton Syntakton publication time Efimerida ton Syntakton A major operation against the Houthis; the 'rebels' say they hit Saudi Aramco facilitiesNone
  2. 2026-10-0413:52 Ynet publication time Ynet Offensive launched; Houthis said to be encircling Taiz up to 100,000 troops, per ReutersNone
  3. 2026-10-0413:55 Interfax publication time Interfax Quotes al-Alimi announcing the operation, citing Al JazeeraNone
  4. 2026-10-0414:00 Asharq Al-Awsat publication time Asharq Al-Awsat Houthi push to cut Taiz off from its southern countrysideNone
  5. 2026-10-0414:12 Asharq Al-Awsat publication time Asharq Al-Awsat Al-Alimi announces a 'Full-Scale Military Campaign'None
  6. 2026-10-0415:16 The Jerusalem Post publication time The Jerusalem Post Al-Alimi announces operations to retake Houthi-held landNone
Publication times in UTC, as each outlet published them.
Sources Efimerida ton Syntakton
Left estimate · not a score
Efimerida ton Syntakton 🇬🇷GR · newspaper · independent Υεμένη: Μεγάλη στρατιωτική επιχείρηση κατά των Χούθι – Οι αντάρτες λένε ότι έπληξαν εγκαταστάσεις της Saudi Aramco Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Efimerida ton Syntakton → What we have measured Adjective without figure Calls the war bloody but gives no count ×1Anyone hurt named the only report we hold that names one of the dead ×1Anyone hurt named the only report we hold that names a person who died ×1Asserted not attributed Calls the move 'unprecedented' in its own voice ×1 from 8171 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Ynet
Centre estimate · not a score
Ynet 🇮🇱IL · digital · independent המבצע "לשחרור תימן" יוצא לדרך - אבל הבליץ החות'י נמשך: "הטילו מצור על עיר אסטרטגית" Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Ynet → What we have measured A claim in the headline that the other reports very close to deciding the regime appears in one report only ×1Active voice The killers are the subject of the verbs 'beat' and 'burned'. ×1Active voice The killers are named as acting ×1Army's term, attributed the army names the target of its strikes, and no one on the other side is quoted ×1 from 2683 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
I Interfax
Centre estimate · not a score
Interfax 🇷🇺RU · digital · Власти Йемена объявили о военной операции против хуситов Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Interfax → What we have measured A checkable claim passed on unchecked relays the president's statistic about world cities in quotation marks with no check and no counter-voice ×1A denial carried as characterisation press reports are labelled planted, and the label is passed on in the report's own voice ×1Anonymous source The meetings are sourced to unnamed people familiar with the situation. ×1Anyone hurt named or counted injuries described in clinical detail; the man is never named ×1 from 7622 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Houthi Pressure Isolates Taiz from Its Southern Countryside Amid Fierce Resistance Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Al-Alimi Announces Start of Full-Scale Military Campaign Against Houthis Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent Head of Yemen's presidential council announces military operations to retake territory Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The bias in this coverageBias

Two backers, one war, no dead

The reports put a foreign patron on both sides: Saudi for the government, Iran for the Houthis. The only number any of them gives is the size of the attacking force. None of them counts anyone killed, wounded or displaced around Taiz.

2 reports naming a foreign backer for each side 0 reports giving any casualty figure 5 reports with readable text

Whose offensive is it?

Four reports lead with the government's announcement. Two lead with the Houthis advancing on Taiz. Where the strikes fall on the Houthis, one report names no one as carrying them out.

4 reports leading with the government announcement 2 reports leading with the Houthi advance
Scored without the mastheads. Where the two passes differ, both are kept.
Sources The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent Head of Yemen's presidential council announces military operations to retake territory Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Al-Alimi Announces Start of Full-Scale Military Campaign Against Houthis Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
I Interfax
Centre estimate · not a score
Interfax 🇷🇺RU · digital · Власти Йемена объявили о военной операции против хуситов Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Interfax → What we have measured A checkable claim passed on unchecked relays the president's statistic about world cities in quotation marks with no check and no counter-voice ×1A denial carried as characterisation press reports are labelled planted, and the label is passed on in the report's own voice ×1Anonymous source The meetings are sourced to unnamed people familiar with the situation. ×1Anyone hurt named or counted injuries described in clinical detail; the man is never named ×1 from 7622 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Ynet
Centre estimate · not a score
Ynet 🇮🇱IL · digital · independent המבצע "לשחרור תימן" יוצא לדרך - אבל הבליץ החות'י נמשך: "הטילו מצור על עיר אסטרטגית" Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Ynet → What we have measured A claim in the headline that the other reports very close to deciding the regime appears in one report only ×1Active voice The killers are the subject of the verbs 'beat' and 'burned'. ×1Active voice The killers are named as acting ×1Army's term, attributed the army names the target of its strikes, and no one on the other side is quoted ×1 from 2683 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Efimerida ton Syntakton
Left estimate · not a score
Efimerida ton Syntakton 🇬🇷GR · newspaper · independent Υεμένη: Μεγάλη στρατιωτική επιχείρηση κατά των Χούθι – Οι αντάρτες λένε ότι έπληξαν εγκαταστάσεις της Saudi Aramco Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Efimerida ton Syntakton → What we have measured Adjective without figure Calls the war bloody but gives no count ×1Anyone hurt named the only report we hold that names one of the dead ×1Anyone hurt named the only report we hold that names a person who died ×1Asserted not attributed Calls the move 'unprecedented' in its own voice ×1 from 8171 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Houthi Pressure Isolates Taiz from Its Southern Countryside Amid Fierce Resistance Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →

Claims and verdicts

true Rashad al-Alimi, head of Yemen's Presidential Leadership Council, announced on 4 October the start of military operations to retake territory held by the Houthis.
The Jerusalem Post, Asharq Al-Awsat, Interfax (citing Al Jazeera), Ynet and Efimerida ton Syntakton all report the announcement, and Interfax quotes al-Alimi directly. No report we hold contradicts it, though none says how far the operation has actually got.
Checked against 5 sources:
The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent Head of Yemen's presidential council announces military operations to retake territory Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Al-Alimi Announces Start of Full-Scale Military Campaign Against Houthis Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
I Interfax
Centre estimate · not a score
Interfax 🇷🇺RU · digital · Власти Йемена объявили о военной операции против хуситов Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Interfax → What we have measured A checkable claim passed on unchecked relays the president's statistic about world cities in quotation marks with no check and no counter-voice ×1A denial carried as characterisation press reports are labelled planted, and the label is passed on in the report's own voice ×1Anonymous source The meetings are sourced to unnamed people familiar with the situation. ×1Anyone hurt named or counted injuries described in clinical detail; the man is never named ×1 from 7622 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Ynet
Centre estimate · not a score
Ynet 🇮🇱IL · digital · independent המבצע "לשחרור תימן" יוצא לדרך - אבל הבליץ החות'י נמשך: "הטילו מצור על עיר אסטרטגית" Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Ynet → What we have measured A claim in the headline that the other reports very close to deciding the regime appears in one report only ×1Active voice The killers are the subject of the verbs 'beat' and 'burned'. ×1Active voice The killers are named as acting ×1Army's term, attributed the army names the target of its strikes, and no one on the other side is quoted ×1 from 2683 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Efimerida ton Syntakton
Left estimate · not a score
Efimerida ton Syntakton 🇬🇷GR · newspaper · independent Υεμένη: Μεγάλη στρατιωτική επιχείρηση κατά των Χούθι – Οι αντάρτες λένε ότι έπληξαν εγκαταστάσεις της Saudi Aramco Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Efimerida ton Syntakton → What we have measured Adjective without figure Calls the war bloody but gives no count ×1Anyone hurt named the only report we hold that names one of the dead ×1Anyone hurt named the only report we hold that names a person who died ×1Asserted not attributed Calls the move 'unprecedented' in its own voice ×1 from 8171 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
unverified Up to 100,000 troops may take part in the government offensive, backed by Saudi air strikes.
Only Ynet carries this figure, and Ynet attributes it to Reuters. No other report we hold gives a troop number or describes Saudi air support for this operation.
Checked against 1 source:
Ynet
Centre estimate · not a score
Ynet 🇮🇱IL · digital · independent המבצע "לשחרור תימן" יוצא לדרך - אבל הבליץ החות'י נמשך: "הטילו מצור על עיר אסטרטגית" Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Ynet → What we have measured A claim in the headline that the other reports very close to deciding the regime appears in one report only ×1Active voice The killers are the subject of the verbs 'beat' and 'burned'. ×1Active voice The killers are named as acting ×1Army's term, attributed the army names the target of its strikes, and no one on the other side is quoted ×1 from 2683 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
unverified Houthi forces have encircled Taiz, Yemen's third-largest city.
Ynet cites security sources saying the Houthis are encircling Taiz. Asharq Al-Awsat describes something narrower: a Houthi push to cut the roads from Taiz to its southern countryside, met by fierce government resistance, which falls short of a confirmed siege.
Checked against 2 sources:
Ynet
Centre estimate · not a score
Ynet 🇮🇱IL · digital · independent המבצע "לשחרור תימן" יוצא לדרך - אבל הבליץ החות'י נמשך: "הטילו מצור על עיר אסטרטגית" Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Ynet → What we have measured A claim in the headline that the other reports very close to deciding the regime appears in one report only ×1Active voice The killers are the subject of the verbs 'beat' and 'burned'. ×1Active voice The killers are named as acting ×1Army's term, attributed the army names the target of its strikes, and no one on the other side is quoted ×1 from 2683 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Houthi Pressure Isolates Taiz from Its Southern Countryside Amid Fierce Resistance Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →

Who wrote it

ל ליאור בן ארי Ynet
What the bias passes found in their reporting
Figure attributed force size is the only figure, sourced to a wire and hedged×1
Figure attributed troop figure is an upper bound and is credited to a wire agency×1
Sourcing a second, unverified channel is added and attributed to a network identified with Hezbollah×1
The verb chosen for the remark the same remark is rendered as a promise×1
Claims we checked that rest on their reporting
1 misleading3 unverified3 true
From 106 reports we hold under this byline, at Ynet. Two independent readings, each made without the masthead, a quote attached to every tag. A record, never a rating. Their full record →
The bylines on the reports this story is built from. Hover one for what our passes have measured on their reporting. · 5 reports we hold carry no byline — we do not invent one.

Coverage, outlet by outlet

The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent Head of Yemen's presidential council announces military operations to retake territory Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— independent
Names a foreign backer for each side in one sentence: Saudi Arabia for al-Alimi, Iran for the Houthis.
The Saudi-backed head of Yemen's presidential council, Rashad al-Alimi, announced on Sunday the start of military operations to retake the remaining territory held by Iran-backed Houthis.
Patron labels: both sides given a foreign backer in the same sentence — “The Saudi-backed head of Yemen's Presidential Council, Rashad al-Alimi”
Patron labels: both sides given a foreign backer in one sentence: Saudi for the council, Iran for the Houthis — “The Saudi-backed head of Yemen's Presidential Council, Rashad al-Alimi, announced on Sunday the start of military operations to retake the remaining territory held by Iran-backed Houthis.”
Read it at The Jerusalem Post → https://www.jpost.com/middle-east/article-910539
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Al-Alimi Announces Start of Full-Scale Military Campaign Against Houthis Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
—
Its headline calls it a 'Full-Scale Military Campaign'. We could read only the headline.
Yemeni Presidential Leadership Council Chairman Rashad Al-Alimi on Sunday announced the start of military operations to reclaim the remaining territory of the republic and extend the authority of the state and its institutions across the entire country, marking an official transition from a phase of preparation and mobilization to open military action. In an address to the Yemeni people, Al-Alimi said the decision to begin the operations was taken after the necessary procedures and measures had been completed and based on decisions by the National Defense Council. He said he had instructed the
Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → https://english.aawsat.com/node/5325792
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Houthi Pressure Isolates Taiz from Its Southern Countryside Amid Fierce Resistance Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
—
The only report on the Taiz front itself. It describes a Houthi push to cut the roads south towards Lahj and Aden, fought by government forces and 'popular resistance'.
The Iran-aligned Houthi group has deployed its full weight in the southwestern countryside of Taiz to seize the main roads linking the city with its southern rural areas and cut lines of communication toward Lahj province and the city of Aden. Government forces, backed by popular resistance, are meanwhile engaged in fierce fighting to halt the advance, alongside airstrikes targeting the group's reinforcements and military capabilities. The front has gained particular importance as the Houthis continue to push forces into new areas in southern Taiz. Reports said the group took control on Sunday
No actor named: strikes on the Houthis are given no actor, while the Houthi advance is in the active voice — “alongside airstrikes targeting the group's reinforcements and military capabilities”
Who is named as acting: the Houthis are the grammatical subject of the offensive; the government side only resists — “The Iran-aligned Houthi group has deployed its full weight”
No actor named: the Houthis act in full voice, but the airstrikes on them have no named actor — “alongside airstrikes targeting the group's reinforcements and military capabilities”
Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → https://english.aawsat.com/node/5325779
I Interfax
Centre estimate · not a score
Interfax 🇷🇺RU · digital · Власти Йемена объявили о военной операции против хуситов Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Interfax → What we have measured A checkable claim passed on unchecked relays the president's statistic about world cities in quotation marks with no check and no counter-voice ×1A denial carried as characterisation press reports are labelled planted, and the label is passed on in the report's own voice ×1Anonymous source The meetings are sourced to unnamed people familiar with the situation. ×1Anyone hurt named or counted injuries described in clinical detail; the man is never named ×1 from 7622 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
—
Quotes al-Alimi directly, citing Al Jazeera, and calls the government 'internationally recognised'.
Власти Йемена объявили о военной операции против хуситов Москва. 4 октября. INTERFAX.RU - Признанные на международном уровне власти Йемена объявили о начале масштабной военной операции, цель которой - отбить территории, занимаемые хуситами, сообщает в воскресенье "Аль-Джазира". "Сегодня мы объявляем о начале военной операции, чтобы вернуть контроль над нашими территориями", - заявил председатель Руководящего президентского совета Йемена Рашад Мухаммед аль-Алими. Хуситы удерживают под контролем существенную часть территории Йемена, в том числе столицу страны и ряд других густонаселенных городов
Legitimacy label: one side called 'internationally recognised'; the Houthis get no equivalent label — “Признанные на международном уровне власти Йемена”
Legitimacy label: only the government side gets a legitimacy label; the Houthis get none — “Признанные на международном уровне власти Йемена объявили о начале масштабной военной операции”
Read it at Interfax → https://www.interfax.ru/world/1120251
Ynet
Centre estimate · not a score
Ynet 🇮🇱IL · digital · independent המבצע "לשחרור תימן" יוצא לדרך - אבל הבליץ החות'י נמשך: "הטילו מצור על עיר אסטרטגית" Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Ynet → What we have measured A claim in the headline that the other reports very close to deciding the regime appears in one report only ×1Active voice The killers are the subject of the verbs 'beat' and 'burned'. ×1Active voice The killers are named as acting ×1Army's term, attributed the army names the target of its strikes, and no one on the other side is quoted ×1 from 2683 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— independent
The only report with a troop figure: up to 100,000, credited to Reuters, with Saudi air support. It also says, citing unnamed security sources, that the Houthis are encircling Taiz.
בתימן מדווחים היום (א') על הסלמה נוספת בקרבות בין המורדים החות'ים לבין כוחות הממשלה התימנית, זו שמוכרת על ידי הקהילה הבינלאומית וזוכה לתמיכה נרחבת מסעודיה, שבימים האחרונים מפציצה שוב ושוב את החות'ים מהאוויר. על רקע דיווחים שלפיהם החות'ים ממשיכים להתקדם במסע הכיבושים שלהם בדרום-מערב תימן, כיבושים שהביאו להם בחודש שעבר שליטה אסטרטגית על מצר באב אל-מנדב, אחר הצהריים הודיעה הממשלה הפרו-סעודית על תחילתו של מבצע קרקעי נרחב שמטרתו לסלק את בעלי בריתה של איראן מהאזורים החדשים שכבשו. "עברנו משלב ההכנות לשלב הפעולה", הודיע ראש מועצת ההנהגה הנשיאותית של תימן רשאד אל-עלימי. "אנחנו מכריזים על המערכה למען המ
Figure attributed: force size is the only figure, sourced to a wire and hedged — “ולפי רויטרס עד 100,000 חיילים עשויים לקחת חלק במתקפה”
Figure attributed: troop figure is an upper bound and is credited to a wire agency — “ולפי רויטרס עד 100,000 חיילים עשויים לקחת חלק במתקפה”
Unnamed source: the siege of Taiz rests on unnamed security sources — “וגורמים ביטחוניים מדווחים: הם מכתרים את העיר תעז”
Read it at Ynet → https://www.ynet.co.il/news/article/r1ry66yifx
Efimerida ton Syntakton
Left estimate · not a score
Efimerida ton Syntakton 🇬🇷GR · newspaper · independent Υεμένη: Μεγάλη στρατιωτική επιχείρηση κατά των Χούθι – Οι αντάρτες λένε ότι έπληξαν εγκαταστάσεις της Saudi Aramco Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Efimerida ton Syntakton → What we have measured Adjective without figure Calls the war bloody but gives no count ×1Anyone hurt named the only report we hold that names one of the dead ×1Anyone hurt named the only report we hold that names a person who died ×1Asserted not attributed Calls the move 'unprecedented' in its own voice ×1 from 8171 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— independent
Its headline carries a Houthi claim to have hit Saudi Aramco facilities, credited to the 'rebels'.
ΜΕΣΗ ΑΝΑΤΟΛΗ Υεμένη: Μεγάλη στρατιωτική επιχείρηση κατά των Χούθι – Οι αντάρτες λένε ότι έπληξαν εγκαταστάσεις της Saudi Aramco Η εν λόγω επιχείρηση έχει ως στόχο την κατάληψη των εδαφών που βρίσκονται υπό τον έλεγχο των ανταρτών. Φωτογραφία αρχείου: Ansar Allah Media Office via AP 4 Οκτωβρίου 2026, 16:52 efsyn.gr Μοιράσου στο facebook Μοιράσου στο twitter Μοιράσου στο bluesky Μοιράσου στο linkedin Μοιράσου στο whatsapp αποστολή με email αντιγραφή συνδέσμου Ανακαλύψτε περισσότερα άρθρα στα αποτελέσματα αναζήτησης Προσθήκη του efsyn.gr στην Google Ο επικεφαλής της υποστηριζόμενης από τη Σαουδικ
Claim attributed: the Houthi strike claim is carried as 'the rebels say', not stated flat — “Οι αντάρτες λένε ότι έπληξαν εγκαταστάσεις της Saudi Aramco”
Label choice: Houthis called 'rebels' in the reporter's own voice — “υπό τον έλεγχο των ανταρτών”
Read it at Efimerida ton Syntakton → https://www.efsyn.gr/kosmos/1480674/yemeni-megali-stratiotiki-epiheiris…
Checked, didn’t cover
International Criminal Court
Spectrum not set estimate · not a score
International Criminal Court INT · official record · intergovernmental body No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
UN News
Spectrum not set estimate · not a score
UN News INT · official record · intergovernmental body No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Actors named Names both vetoing states and the sponsor, and says what the draft would have created ×1Asserted versus attributed share of women and children among the dead given with no source ×1Asserted vs attributed Israel named as acting, stated in the report's own voice ×1Asymmetric verb The Iranian government's crimes are 'confirmed'. The US finding is only 'reasonable grounds'. The two findings are weighted differently in one sentence. ×1 from 439 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Silence is recorded, not inferred — each of these was read when we built this story and carried nothing on this event.
We could not read these
International Court of Justice
Spectrum not set estimate · not a score
International Court of Justice INT · official record · intergovernmental body No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
These are must-cite outlets for this desk that we did not manage to read when we built this story. That is a gap in our reach, not a silence on their part, and it is not evidence of anything about this story.

Sign in to The AI Times

Everything is free while we are building it. Signing in is how comments, likes and your reading stay yours.

Continue with Google

Sign-in is coming soon.

By continuing you agree to be a reader of a paper that shows its working.

×