The AI Times
Geopolitics & international affairs
Read another desk
All Geopolitics & international affairsEconomyUnited StatesAnglosphereEuropeRussia & EurasiaLevant & Iran Gulf & Türkiye North Africa Africa South Asia East Asia Latin America Energy Technology Media Watch
Sections
News Panel Outlets Headlines Analysis & editorial coming soon
Who we are Alerts Pricing Sign in / up
Desks
All Geopolitics & international affairsEconomyUnited StatesAnglosphereEuropeRussia & EurasiaLevant & Iran Gulf & Türkiye North Africa Africa South Asia East Asia Latin America Energy Technology Media Watch
The AI Times
every claim sourced| every source shown| always on watch

France 24 says 129 dead in a Houthi push for Bab al-Mandab. Al Jazeera says dozens, and the hills retaken are at Taiz.

Houthi forces attacked government lines on Yemen's Red Sea side on Thursday. France 24, running AFP, leads on 129 dead and an offensive to seize the Bab al-Mandab strait. Al Jazeera leads on government forces retaking two hills in Jabal Habashi, west of Taiz, and puts the dead at dozens. Both carry the same wire toll; neither names a single person killed.

Yemen’s army says recaptured key territory as clashes with Houthis continue | Conflict News | Al Jazeera
Yemen’s army says recaptured key territory as clashes with Houthis continue | Conflict News | Al Jazeera as published by Al Jazeera English · seen at Al Jazeera English

One wire toll, two front pages. France 24 runs AFP's copy under a toll of 129. Al Jazeera leads on Yemen's army retaking two hills in Jabal Habashi, west of Taiz, says "dozens", then carries AFP's 120-plus figure lower down. Every number in both rests on sources neither names.

France 24 (AFP) Al Jazeera
Toll led on more than 120, risen to 129 dozens, both sides
Fighting placed at "near coastal areas" hills west of Taiz
The Houthis are "the Iran-backed Houthis" "Houthi rebels"
Named human sources one, a US consultant none

The two figures were never in conflict. Al Jazeera's own sources — 24 and 15 government dead, at least 42 Houthi — add to 81, which is exactly the earlier count France 24 says the 129 rose from. A day apart, not a dispute.

The aim rests on one unnamed official. Both reports trace "they are going for Bab al-Mandab" to the same Yemeni official in Aden, via AFP. France 24's own text says the Houthis do not control areas bordering the strait.

Our two blind passes split on one count. One scored a single report as carrying another's figure; the other scored both as carrying the same wire toll. France 24 was running that wire itself.

What the coverage does not settle: who the dead were, how many civilians are among them, whether the target is the strait or Taiz, and whether Iran is behind it. No Yemeni is named in either report, living or dead.

This story is about a new Houthi offensive on Yemen's Red Sea coast, and what it could mean for one of the world's busiest shipping lanes.

How it got here

  • 2014: The Houthis, an armed movement from Yemen's north, took the capital, Sanaa. The government fled south and made Aden its base.
  • March 2015: A Saudi-led coalition went to war to restore that government. Yemen has been in civil war since then.
  • 2017: Government and coalition forces pushed the Houthis out of the port city of Mokha, which overlooks the Bab al-Mandab strait.
  • 2022: A truce largely halted the ground war.
  • From 2023: After the Gaza war broke out, the Houthis attacked ships passing through the Red Sea.
  • July 2026: France 24, running AFP, reports that the truce fell apart after the Houthis welcomed an Iranian plane to Sanaa. The Houthis then declared a naval blockade of Saudi Arabia and attacked its ships.
  • Thursday: The Houthis launched the offensive this story covers.

Who is involved

  • The Houthis hold Sanaa, the north and the port of Hodeida. AFP calls them "Iran-backed". How far Iran directs them is disputed.
  • The internationally recognised government holds Aden, Mokha and the south. Saudi Arabia backs it.
  • Saudi Arabia, the world's biggest crude exporter, now depends on the Red Sea. AFP reports that Iran has all but halted Gulf shipments by blockading the Strait of Hormuz. We covered that closure on 5 September.
  • Taiz, Yemen's third-largest city, has sat on the front line for most of the war.

What is at stake

Bab al-Mandab is the narrow strait between Yemen and the Horn of Africa. It links the Red Sea, and through the Suez Canal the Mediterranean, to the Indian Ocean. If the Houthis held the hills above it, AFP's sources say they could fire on ships from there. With Hormuz shut, that would put Saudi Arabia's other oil route at risk too. A US-based analyst told AFP the Houthis want more leverage in talks with the government and Riyadh.

Where it stands

The fighting is in western Taiz and southern Hodeida. The government says it has retaken two hills. The Houthis do not control any land on the strait itself.

What is being argued about

  • Whether the offensive is aimed at Bab al-Mandab or at al-Makha and Taiz. No Houthi source in either report says so; both trace the aim to one unnamed official in Aden.
  • How many of the 129 dead are civilians. One report says one; the other gives no civilian figure at all and names nobody as firing the missile that hit a restaurant in al-Makha.
  • Whether Iran is behind the offensive. One report calls the Houthis Iran-backed in its own voice with no source attached; the other never uses the word Iran.
  • Who the dead are. Neither report names a single person killed, and no Yemeni is named in either report, living or dead.
Four figures, four different things countedChart
Both reports carry AFP's 120-plus toll. Only one says what it counts, and only one gives the previous day's figure — which is the sum Al Jazeera reaches from its own separately sourced numbers.
Sources France 24
Centre estimate · not a score
France 24 🇫🇷FR · public broadcaster · state-funded international More than 120 killed in Yemen's worst clashes in years: sources Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at France 24 → What we have measured Actor label Hezbollah is identified by its backer. ×1Adversary left to inference the quote names independence but never who from; the report does not fill it in ×1Agency Uses active voice for both killings. The soldiers' account of the car-ramming is credited to the military, not stated as fact ×1A price without its measure above 100 dollars a barrel, with no benchmark named and no date for the comparison ×1 from 2849 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al Jazeera English
Centre estimate · not a score
Al Jazeera English 🇶🇦QA · TV/radio · state-funded international Yemen’s army says recaptured key territory as clashes with Houthis continue | Conflict News | Al Jazeera Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al Jazeera English → What we have measured Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1 from 4959 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The two accounts, line by lineSide by side
What differsFrance 24 (AFP)Al Jazeera
Toll it leads onmore than 120, risen to 129dozens on both sides
What the toll counts66 government troops, at least 62 Houthi fighters, one civilian24 and 15 government, at least 42 Houthi; nothing on AFP's 120-plus
Where the fighting is placednear coastal areas; elevated sites near the Red Sea and near Taizal-Khazan and al-Makahna hills, Jabal Habashi district, west of Taiz
What the offensive is forto seize the Bab al-Mandab straitto gain ground towards al-Makha, its correspondent says
Words used for the Houthisthe Iran-backed HouthisHouthi rebels, Houthi fighters
Human sources namedone, a US-based risk consultantnone
Houthi voice carriednonea Houthi source, on the toll only
Dead namednonenone
Both reports are dated Friday 4 September and cover the same two days of fighting.
Sources France 24
Centre estimate · not a score
France 24 🇫🇷FR · public broadcaster · state-funded international More than 120 killed in Yemen's worst clashes in years: sources Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at France 24 → What we have measured Actor label Hezbollah is identified by its backer. ×1Adversary left to inference the quote names independence but never who from; the report does not fill it in ×1Agency Uses active voice for both killings. The soldiers' account of the car-ramming is credited to the military, not stated as fact ×1A price without its measure above 100 dollars a barrel, with no benchmark named and no date for the comparison ×1 from 2849 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al Jazeera English
Centre estimate · not a score
Al Jazeera English 🇶🇦QA · TV/radio · state-funded international Yemen’s army says recaptured key territory as clashes with Houthis continue | Conflict News | Al Jazeera Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al Jazeera English → What we have measured Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1 from 4959 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Where each report puts the warMap optional section
Hodeidah Taiz city Jabal Habashi, west of Taiz Al-Makha (Mocha) Aden Bab al-Mandab strait
Map data: Natural Earth.
Coordinates are for the places the two reports name. Jabal Habashi is a district, plotted at its approximate centre west of Taiz city.
Sources France 24
Centre estimate · not a score
France 24 🇫🇷FR · public broadcaster · state-funded international More than 120 killed in Yemen's worst clashes in years: sources Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at France 24 → What we have measured Actor label Hezbollah is identified by its backer. ×1Adversary left to inference the quote names independence but never who from; the report does not fill it in ×1Agency Uses active voice for both killings. The soldiers' account of the car-ramming is credited to the military, not stated as fact ×1A price without its measure above 100 dollars a barrel, with no benchmark named and no date for the comparison ×1 from 2849 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al Jazeera English
Centre estimate · not a score
Al Jazeera English 🇶🇦QA · TV/radio · state-funded international Yemen’s army says recaptured key territory as clashes with Houthis continue | Conflict News | Al Jazeera Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al Jazeera English → What we have measured Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1 from 4959 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The bias in this coverageBias

The dead are counted, never named

Neither report names a single person killed. Both count by the side the dead fought for — 66 government troops against 62 fighters in one, 24 and 15 against 42 in the other. Civilians get one sentence in each, and in one of them nobody is named as firing the missile.

0 Reports naming any of the dead 2 Sentences given to civilian deaths across both 1 Reports putting a number on the civilian dead 1 Sources named by either report

One offensive, one sponsor, two tolls

One report calls the Houthis Iran-backed in its second sentence; the other names no sponsor at all. The higher toll is 129, shown rising from 81 within the day and credited to a tally compiled from several sources; the other leads on 'dozens' while carrying that same wire's 120-plus figure lower down. Every figure in both reports comes from sources neither names.

1 Reports naming a foreign backer 129 Highest toll published 1 Reports carrying the other's figure 2 Reports resting their tolls on unnamed sources
Scored without the mastheads. Where the two passes differ, both are kept.
Sources France 24
Centre estimate · not a score
France 24 🇫🇷FR · public broadcaster · state-funded international More than 120 killed in Yemen's worst clashes in years: sources Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at France 24 → What we have measured Actor label Hezbollah is identified by its backer. ×1Adversary left to inference the quote names independence but never who from; the report does not fill it in ×1Agency Uses active voice for both killings. The soldiers' account of the car-ramming is credited to the military, not stated as fact ×1A price without its measure above 100 dollars a barrel, with no benchmark named and no date for the comparison ×1 from 2849 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al Jazeera English
Centre estimate · not a score
Al Jazeera English 🇶🇦QA · TV/radio · state-funded international Yemen’s army says recaptured key territory as clashes with Houthis continue | Conflict News | Al Jazeera Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al Jazeera English → What we have measured Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1 from 4959 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →

Claims and verdicts

unverified More than 120 people have been killed since the Houthi offensive began.
The figure is a single AFP tally from unnamed sources — 129 by Friday, made up of 66 government troops, 62 Houthi fighters and one civilian — and Al Jazeera reprints that same AFP toll rather than confirming it. Al Jazeera's "dozens" counts two days from its own sources — 24 and 15 government dead, at least 42 Houthi — which is AFP's earlier count of 81, so the two figures are not in conflict.
Checked against 2 sources:
France 24
Centre estimate · not a score
France 24 🇫🇷FR · public broadcaster · state-funded international More than 120 killed in Yemen's worst clashes in years: sources Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at France 24 → What we have measured Actor label Hezbollah is identified by its backer. ×1Adversary left to inference the quote names independence but never who from; the report does not fill it in ×1Agency Uses active voice for both killings. The soldiers' account of the car-ramming is credited to the military, not stated as fact ×1A price without its measure above 100 dollars a barrel, with no benchmark named and no date for the comparison ×1 from 2849 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al Jazeera English
Centre estimate · not a score
Al Jazeera English 🇶🇦QA · TV/radio · state-funded international Yemen’s army says recaptured key territory as clashes with Houthis continue | Conflict News | Al Jazeera Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al Jazeera English → What we have measured Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1 from 4959 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
unverified The Houthi offensive is an attempt to seize the Bab al-Mandab strait.
France 24 and Al Jazeera source the aim to the same unnamed Yemeni official in Aden via AFP, and France 24 adds a US-based risk analyst, Mohammed al-Basha; no Houthi source in either report states it. France 24's own body says the Houthis do not control areas bordering Bab al-Mandab, and the only fighting either report places precisely is at Jabal Habashi west of Taiz, about 150km inland.
Checked against 2 sources:
France 24
Centre estimate · not a score
France 24 🇫🇷FR · public broadcaster · state-funded international More than 120 killed in Yemen's worst clashes in years: sources Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at France 24 → What we have measured Actor label Hezbollah is identified by its backer. ×1Adversary left to inference the quote names independence but never who from; the report does not fill it in ×1Agency Uses active voice for both killings. The soldiers' account of the car-ramming is credited to the military, not stated as fact ×1A price without its measure above 100 dollars a barrel, with no benchmark named and no date for the comparison ×1 from 2849 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al Jazeera English
Centre estimate · not a score
Al Jazeera English 🇶🇦QA · TV/radio · state-funded international Yemen’s army says recaptured key territory as clashes with Houthis continue | Conflict News | Al Jazeera Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al Jazeera English → What we have measured Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1 from 4959 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
unverified The Houthis are backed by Iran.
France 24 writes "the Iran-backed Houthis" as a modifier with no source attached; Al Jazeera writes "Houthi rebels" and "Houthi fighters" and names no sponsor at all. The nearest supporting fact either report carries is France 24's line that the July truce collapsed after the rebels welcomed an Iranian plane to Sanaa.
Checked against 2 sources:
France 24
Centre estimate · not a score
France 24 🇫🇷FR · public broadcaster · state-funded international More than 120 killed in Yemen's worst clashes in years: sources Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at France 24 → What we have measured Actor label Hezbollah is identified by its backer. ×1Adversary left to inference the quote names independence but never who from; the report does not fill it in ×1Agency Uses active voice for both killings. The soldiers' account of the car-ramming is credited to the military, not stated as fact ×1A price without its measure above 100 dollars a barrel, with no benchmark named and no date for the comparison ×1 from 2849 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al Jazeera English
Centre estimate · not a score
Al Jazeera English 🇶🇦QA · TV/radio · state-funded international Yemen’s army says recaptured key territory as clashes with Houthis continue | Conflict News | Al Jazeera Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al Jazeera English → What we have measured Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1 from 4959 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →

Who wrote it

2 reports we hold carry no byline — we do not invent one.

Coverage, outlet by outlet

Al Jazeera English
Centre estimate · not a score
Al Jazeera English 🇶🇦QA · TV/radio · state-funded international Yemen’s army says recaptured key territory as clashes with Houthis continue | Conflict News | Al Jazeera Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al Jazeera English → What we have measured Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1 from 4959 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— state-funded international
Names the ground actually fought over — al-Khazan and al-Makahna hills in Jabal Habashi, west of Taiz, retaken by government forces — carries a Houthi source's own count of more than 100 dead on both sides, and labels
Two days of fighting between government forces and Houthi fighters has left dozens dead on both sides, sources say. Buildings lay in ruins in al-Makha (Mocha), Yemen. The city was retaken from Houthi rebels in early 2017, part of Yemen's Saudi-led coalition-backed military campaign [File: Andrew Renneisen/Getty Images] Yemen’s army say they have recaptured strategically important territory, as heavy clashes with Houthi rebels continue in the southwest of the country. Yemeni government forces recaptured al-Khazan and al-Makahna hills in Jabal Habashi district west of Taiz city, according to a s
Which figure is used: Summarises the fighting as 'dozens dead' at the top while its own body carries the 120-plus wire toll further down. The reader who stops at the standfirst gets a figure a fifth the size. — “Two days of fighting between government forces and Houthi fighters has left dozens dead on both sides, sources say.”
How deeply it is sourced: The territorial gain — the news in the headline — rests on 'a statement' whose author is never identified. — “Yemeni government forces recaptured al-Khazan and al-Makahna hills in Jabal Habashi district west of Taiz city, according to a statement on Friday.”
Which figure is used: Carries the same higher toll in the body while its own headline and standfirst say 'dozens' — “Over 120 people were killed in Yemen since the Houthis launched their advance, according to an AFP casualty toll.”
Who is named as acting: The offensive has a named actor in every other sentence, but the missile that killed civilians in a restaurant has none — no one is named as firing it. — “Several civilians were killed and others injured in a ballistic missile attack that hit a restaurant in the coastal city of al-Makha (Mocha), state-run Saba TV reported.”
Read it at Al Jazeera English → https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2026/9/4/yemens-army-says-recaptured-key…
France 24
Centre estimate · not a score
France 24 🇫🇷FR · public broadcaster · state-funded international More than 120 killed in Yemen's worst clashes in years: sources Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at France 24 → What we have measured Actor label Hezbollah is identified by its backer. ×1Adversary left to inference the quote names independence but never who from; the report does not fill it in ×1Agency Uses active voice for both killings. The soldiers' account of the car-ramming is credited to the military, not stated as fact ×1A price without its measure above 100 dollars a barrel, with no benchmark named and no date for the comparison ×1 from 2849 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— state-funded international
Breaks the toll down and dates it: 129 by Friday, up from 81 — 66 government troops, at least 62 Houthi fighters, one civilian. Names the only human source in either report, a US-based risk consultant, and states that
Sanaa (AFP) – A major offensive by Yemen's Houthis to seize control of the gateway to the Red Sea has left more than 120 people dead, sources told AFP Friday, the country's deadliest clashes in years. Fighting erupted on Thursday, after the Iran-backed Houthis launched a ground assault along with rocket and drone attacks near coastal areas, vying for control of the narrow Bab al-Mandab strait at the Red Sea's southern entrance. Yemen, embroiled in more than a decade of civil conflict, in July became the latest country to be drawn into the Middle East war as the Houthis upended a 2022 truce wit
How the victims appear: Civilian deaths get one clause, unnamed and uncounted beyond one, after two tallies of dead combatants broken down by side. — “Another medical source said a civilian had also been killed.”
Which figure is used: The only report that shows its own figure moving inside a day and says how it was assembled, rather than presenting one number as the toll. — “The toll rose to 129 on Friday, according to an AFP tally compiled from several sources, up from an earlier count of 81.”
Which figure is used: Says whose tally the figure is, what it was the day before, and breaks it into soldiers, fighters and one civilian — “The toll rose to 129 on Friday, according to an AFP tally compiled from several sources, up from an earlier count of 81.”
How the victims appear: The one civilian death gets a single clause with no place, no weapon and no actor; the other report gives its civilian deaths a paragraph with both — “Another medical source said a civilian had also been killed.”
How hard the claim is stated: The offensive's objective is stated as fact in the lede and only attributed to officials and a consultant further down — “A major offensive by Yemen's Houthis to seize control of the gateway to the Red Sea has left more than 120 people dead”
How deeply it is sourced: The only named human source across both reports is a foreign risk consultant, quoted twice on what the Houthis want — “said Mohammed al-Basha, of the US-based risk advisory Basha Report”
Who is named as acting: Names a foreign sponsor in the second sentence — 'the Iran-backed Houthis'. The other report calls them rebels and fighters throughout and names no sponsor anywhere. — “Fighting erupted on Thursday, after the Iran-backed Houthis launched a ground assault along with rocket and drone attacks near coastal areas, vying for control of the narrow Bab al-Mandab strait at the Red Sea's southern entrance.”
Who is named as acting: The dead on one side are 'his men'; the dead on the other are 'militants', in the same sentence — “66 of his men had been killed, while medical and military sources close to the Houthis said at least 62 militants had died”
Read it at France 24 → https://www.france24.com/en/live-news/20260904-more-than-120-killed-in-…
We could not read these
International Court of Justice
Spectrum not set estimate · not a score
International Court of Justice INT · official record · intergovernmental body No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
International Criminal Court
Spectrum not set estimate · not a score
International Criminal Court INT · official record · intergovernmental body No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
UN News
Spectrum not set estimate · not a score
UN News INT · official record · intergovernmental body No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Actors named Names both vetoing states and the sponsor, and says what the draft would have created ×1Asserted versus attributed share of women and children among the dead given with no source ×1Asserted vs attributed Israel named as acting, stated in the report's own voice ×1Asymmetric verb The Iranian government's crimes are 'confirmed'. The US finding is only 'reasonable grounds'. The two findings are weighted differently in one sentence. ×1 from 439 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
These are must-cite outlets for this desk that we did not manage to read when we built this story. That is a gap in our reach, not a silence on their part, and it is not evidence of anything about this story.

Sign in to The AI Times

Everything is free while we are building it. Signing in is how comments, likes and your reading stay yours.

Continue with Google

Sign-in is coming soon.

By continuing you agree to be a reader of a paper that shows its working.

×