The AI Times
Levant & Iran
Read another desk
All Geopolitics & international affairsEconomyUnited StatesAnglosphereEuropeRussia & EurasiaLevant & Iran Gulf & Türkiye North Africa Africa South Asia East Asia Latin America Energy Technology Media Watch
Sections
News Panel Outlets Headlines Analysis & editorial coming soon
Who we are Alerts Pricing Sign in / up
Desks
All Geopolitics & international affairsEconomyUnited StatesAnglosphereEuropeRussia & EurasiaLevant & Iran Gulf & Türkiye North Africa Africa South Asia East Asia Latin America Energy Technology Media Watch
The AI Times
every claim sourced| every source shown| always on watch

Jerusalem Post names two soldiers and two Hamas men killed in Gaza; Al-Modon counts '4 martyrs' and names none

On 25 September, six reports covered deaths in Gaza on both sides of the ceasefire line. Every account of the Israeli soldiers' deaths and of the Hamas men's roles comes from the Israeli army. Only one report counts Palestinian dead, and it gives no names and no source for the number.

IDF: Two soldiers killed by Israeli military drone exploding within Gaza outpost during operation
IDF: Two soldiers killed by Israeli military drone exploding within Gaza outpost during operation as published by The Jerusalem Post · seen at The Jerusalem Post
Levant & Iran Palestine Israel

The soldiers. Two Israeli reservists, Ofek Moalem, 23, and Nadav Kali, 24, were killed in Gaza, the Israeli army says. The Jerusalem Post quotes the head of the 99th Division, Brig.-Gen. Elad Tzuri: the soldiers were operating a drone, it crashed, they went to the crash site, and it exploded. The army's chief of staff, Eyal Zamir, has set up a team of experts to investigate, the Jerusalem Post reports.

The Hamas men. The army says it killed Hassan Mahmoud Siam, whom it calls a Hamas commander. It says he held the hostages Amit Soussana, Keith and Aviva Siegel, and Dafna Elyakim. Ynet adds, citing the army, that a second man was killed in Gaza City, and that both fired at troops and planted explosives "at the yellow line".

The Palestinians. Al-Modon's headline counts "4 martyrs in new violations by the occupation". The text we hold does not say who counted them, and it names none of them.

Outlet Israeli soldiers Hamas men Four Palestinians
The Jerusalem Post named; drone cause, per a general both named; army's charges not mentioned
Ynet — one named, "was eliminated" not mentioned
Asharq Al-Awsat "Army says" 2 killed — not mentioned
Al-Modon "operational" incident, per army — counted, not named

What is not settled

  • Why the drone exploded. The army is still investigating.
  • The Hamas men's roles come from the army alone. We hold no Hamas or Palestinian account.
  • Who the four Palestinians were, and who counted them.
  • Whether the strikes on the two men happened that day. The Jerusalem Post says "this week".

This story is about one day of deaths in Gaza, nearly two years into a war, under a ceasefire meant to have stopped it.

How it got here. On 7 October 2023, Hamas led an attack from Gaza into southern Israel. Its fighters killed people in Israeli towns and at a music festival and took hostages back into Gaza. Israel answered with an air and ground war on Gaza. Its stated aims were to destroy Hamas and bring the hostages home. The war destroyed much of the Strip and displaced most of its people. Hostages were freed in stages during negotiated pauses. In October 2025 a ceasefire brokered by the United States took effect. Israeli forces pulled back to a boundary inside Gaza known as the "yellow line" and kept control of the ground behind it. Each side has since accused the other of breaking the truce.

Who is involved.

  • The Israeli army holds positions inside Gaza up to the yellow line. It says it strikes people it accuses of attacking its troops there.
  • Hamas governed Gaza before the war. Its armed wing still operates in the parts Israel does not hold.
  • Palestinians in Gaza live on the other side of that line. Deaths among them are usually counted by Gaza's health ministry, which Hamas runs, or by local outlets.
  • The hostages named in these reports were among those taken on 7 October 2023.

What is at stake. Each death near the yellow line tests whether the ceasefire holds. Each side points to its own dead as proof that the other is breaking it.

Where it stands. On 25 September the Israeli army announced that two of its soldiers had died in what it treats as an accident, and that it had killed two Hamas men in strikes. One outlet reported four Palestinians dead. The army is investigating the drone explosion.

What is being argued about

  • How two Israeli soldiers were killed by their own drone
  • The army's charges against the two Hamas men it killed
  • Four Palestinian dead counted in one headline, none named
  • Whether deaths near the yellow line break the ceasefire
Four outlets, three sets of deadSide by side
OutletWhat it saysWhose word
The Jerusalem PostOfek Moalem, 23, and Nadav Kali, 24, killed when the drone they were operating exploded99th Division chief Brig.-Gen. Elad Tzuri
The Jerusalem Post"IDF kills two Hamas terrorists who participated in Oct. 7 massacre"The headline states it; the body says "According to the IDF"
Ynet"The terrorist who held four hostages in Gaza was eliminated"The army's announcement
Asharq Al-Awsat"Israeli Army Says 2 Soldiers Killed in Gaza"The army
Al-ModonTwo Israeli soldiers killed and "4 martyrs in new violations by the occupation"The army for the soldiers; no source given for the four
Every account of the Israeli and Hamas deaths rests on the Israeli army. We hold no Palestinian account of any of them.
Sources The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent IDF: Two soldiers killed by Israeli military drone exploding within Gaza outpost during operation Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent IDF kills two Hamas terrorists who participated in Oct. 7 massacre, held Israeli hostages Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Ynet
Centre estimate · not a score
Ynet 🇮🇱IL · digital · independent חוסל המחבל שהחזיק בארבעה חטופים בעזה Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Ynet → What we have measured A claim in the headline that the other reports very close to deciding the regime appears in one report only ×1Active voice The killers are the subject of the verbs 'beat' and 'burned'. ×1Active voice The killers are named as acting ×1Army's term, attributed the army names the target of its strikes, and no one on the other side is quoted ×1 from 2684 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Israeli Army Says 2 Soldiers Killed in Gaza Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Al-Modon
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Al-Modon 🇱🇧LB · digital · غزة: مقتل جنديين إسرائيليين و4 شهداء بخروقات جديدة للاحتلال Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al-Modon → What we have measured Actor left unnamed a man is killed by an air strike in the headline with nobody named as striking; shelling and demolitions simply "continue" ×1Actor named The Israeli army is named as the shooter. ×1Actor named, action nominalised Israeli escalation is named but arrives as a wave, not as a doer ×1Affected people The only report that looks at people in the south: the explosions, the fear and the displacement. ×1 from 3381 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Who is named, who is only countedChart
Counted across the six reports we hold on the day.
Sources The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent IDF: Two soldiers killed by Israeli military drone exploding within Gaza outpost during operation Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Israeli Army Says 2 Soldiers Killed in Gaza Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent IDF chief Zamir establishes expert team to investigate drone accident that killed two soldiers Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Al-Modon
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Al-Modon 🇱🇧LB · digital · غزة: مقتل جنديين إسرائيليين و4 شهداء بخروقات جديدة للاحتلال Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al-Modon → What we have measured Actor left unnamed a man is killed by an air strike in the headline with nobody named as striking; shelling and demolitions simply "continue" ×1Actor named The Israeli army is named as the shooter. ×1Actor named, action nominalised Israeli escalation is named but arrives as a wave, not as a doer ×1Affected people The only report that looks at people in the south: the explosions, the fear and the displacement. ×1 from 3381 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent IDF kills two Hamas terrorists who participated in Oct. 7 massacre, held Israeli hostages Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Ynet
Centre estimate · not a score
Ynet 🇮🇱IL · digital · independent חוסל המחבל שהחזיק בארבעה חטופים בעזה Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Ynet → What we have measured A claim in the headline that the other reports very close to deciding the regime appears in one report only ×1Active voice The killers are the subject of the verbs 'beat' and 'burned'. ×1Active voice The killers are named as acting ×1Army's term, attributed the army names the target of its strikes, and no one on the other side is quoted ×1 from 2684 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The bias in this coverageBias

Who is named, who is counted

One report names the two Israeli soldiers, with their ages. Two reports name at least one of the Hamas men. The four Palestinians killed appear in one report, as a number and with no names.

1 reports naming the Israeli soldiers 2 reports naming a Hamas man killed 1 reports mentioning the four Palestinians killed 0 reports naming any of the four

The army's account, and no other

Every account of the soldiers' deaths comes from the Israeli army. The two Hamas men's roles also come only from the army. We hold no account from Gaza of the four Palestinians killed.

4 reports on the soldiers that rest on the army 2 reports on the Hamas men that rest on the army
Scored without the mastheads. Where the two passes differ, both are kept.
Sources The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent IDF: Two soldiers killed by Israeli military drone exploding within Gaza outpost during operation Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Israeli Army Says 2 Soldiers Killed in Gaza Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent IDF chief Zamir establishes expert team to investigate drone accident that killed two soldiers Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Al-Modon
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Al-Modon 🇱🇧LB · digital · غزة: مقتل جنديين إسرائيليين و4 شهداء بخروقات جديدة للاحتلال Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al-Modon → What we have measured Actor left unnamed a man is killed by an air strike in the headline with nobody named as striking; shelling and demolitions simply "continue" ×1Actor named The Israeli army is named as the shooter. ×1Actor named, action nominalised Israeli escalation is named but arrives as a wave, not as a doer ×1Affected people The only report that looks at people in the south: the explosions, the fear and the displacement. ×1 from 3381 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent IDF kills two Hamas terrorists who participated in Oct. 7 massacre, held Israeli hostages Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Ynet
Centre estimate · not a score
Ynet 🇮🇱IL · digital · independent חוסל המחבל שהחזיק בארבעה חטופים בעזה Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Ynet → What we have measured A claim in the headline that the other reports very close to deciding the regime appears in one report only ×1Active voice The killers are the subject of the verbs 'beat' and 'burned'. ×1Active voice The killers are named as acting ×1Army's term, attributed the army names the target of its strikes, and no one on the other side is quoted ×1 from 2684 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →

Claims and verdicts

unverified Two Israeli soldiers, Ofek Moalem, 23, and Nadav Kali, 24, were killed in Gaza when an Israeli military drone they were operating exploded.
The deaths are carried by The Jerusalem Post, Asharq Al-Awsat and Al-Modon, but all three rest on the Israeli army's announcement. The drone explanation comes only from the army's 99th Division commander, as quoted by The Jerusalem Post, and the army has opened an investigation.
Checked against 4 sources:
The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent IDF: Two soldiers killed by Israeli military drone exploding within Gaza outpost during operation Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Israeli Army Says 2 Soldiers Killed in Gaza Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Al-Modon
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Al-Modon 🇱🇧LB · digital · غزة: مقتل جنديين إسرائيليين و4 شهداء بخروقات جديدة للاحتلال Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al-Modon → What we have measured Actor left unnamed a man is killed by an air strike in the headline with nobody named as striking; shelling and demolitions simply "continue" ×1Actor named The Israeli army is named as the shooter. ×1Actor named, action nominalised Israeli escalation is named but arrives as a wave, not as a doer ×1Affected people The only report that looks at people in the south: the explosions, the fear and the displacement. ×1 from 3381 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent IDF chief Zamir establishes expert team to investigate drone accident that killed two soldiers Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
unverified Israel killed Hassan Mahmoud Siam, a Hamas commander who had held four Israeli hostages, in Gaza City.
The Jerusalem Post and Ynet both report it, but both attribute it to the same Israeli army statement. No Palestinian or Hamas account of the strike is among the reports we hold.
Checked against 2 sources:
The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent IDF kills two Hamas terrorists who participated in Oct. 7 massacre, held Israeli hostages Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Ynet
Centre estimate · not a score
Ynet 🇮🇱IL · digital · independent חוסל המחבל שהחזיק בארבעה חטופים בעזה Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Ynet → What we have measured A claim in the headline that the other reports very close to deciding the regime appears in one report only ×1Active voice The killers are the subject of the verbs 'beat' and 'burned'. ×1Active voice The killers are named as acting ×1Army's term, attributed the army names the target of its strikes, and no one on the other side is quoted ×1 from 2684 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
unverified Four Palestinians were killed in Gaza on the same day.
Only Al-Modon's headline gives the figure, and the text we hold does not say who counted the dead or name them. No other report we hold carries a Palestinian toll for the day.
Checked against 1 source:
A Al-Modon
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Al-Modon 🇱🇧LB · digital · غزة: مقتل جنديين إسرائيليين و4 شهداء بخروقات جديدة للاحتلال Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al-Modon → What we have measured Actor left unnamed a man is killed by an air strike in the headline with nobody named as striking; shelling and demolitions simply "continue" ×1Actor named The Israeli army is named as the shooter. ×1Actor named, action nominalised Israeli escalation is named but arrives as a wave, not as a doer ×1Affected people The only report that looks at people in the south: the explosions, the fear and the displacement. ×1 from 3381 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →

Who wrote it

G Goldie Katz The Jerusalem Post
What the bias passes found in their reporting
Army claim stated flat in the headline The headline states the men's part in 7 October as fact and calls them 'terrorists' in the report's own voice. The body attributes the charge to the army.×1
Claim upgraded to confirmation two political rivals confirm rather than allege×1
Headline states what body attributes The headline states the two men's role on 7 October as fact. The body gives it as 'According to the IDF'×1
Picture and text the image is a file photograph of a US jet over Washington on a holiday, not of the sale or the buyer×1
Claims we checked that rest on their reporting
2 misleading4 unverified3 true
From 34 reports we hold under this byline, at The Jerusalem Post. Two independent readings, each made without the masthead, a quote attached to every tag. A record, never a rating. Their full record →
א אלישע בן קימון Ynet
What the bias passes found in their reporting
Both sides quoted Both the army's rebuke and the police's reply are quoted directly×1
Both sides quoted Both agencies are quoted in their own words. The police get the last word.×1
Characterisation The report calls the army's rebuke 'unusual' in its own voice. It says police 'insist'.×1
Detained unnamed The arrests are a bare number: no names, no charges, no word from the four or their families×1
Claims we checked that rest on their reporting
1 unverified1 true
From 153 reports we hold under this byline, at Ynet. Two independent readings, each made without the masthead, a quote attached to every tag. A record, never a rating. Their full record →
T Tzvi Jasper The Jerusalem Post
What the bias passes found in their reporting
Anonymous source The account of Iranian concessions rests on an unnamed regional official, passed on second-hand through another newspaper.×1
Assertion vs attribution Mamdani's charge is attributed to him as his belief×1
Attributed or asserted the Iranian conditions are attributed inside the sentence to the named spokesman, not stated flat×1
Conditions left unnamed The deal is tied to conditions that the report never lists×1
Claims we checked that rest on their reporting
3 disputed8 unverified5 true
From 122 reports we hold under this byline, at The Jerusalem Post. Two independent readings, each made without the masthead, a quote attached to every tag. A record, never a rating. Their full record →
A Avi Ashkenazi The Jerusalem Post
What the bias passes found in their reporting
Asserted not attributed The report states in its own voice that the ridge was Hezbollah's last line of defence.×1
Cause attributed How the drone exploded is attributed to a named general×1
Cause from one source The only account of how the drone exploded comes from an Israeli division commander.×1
Dead named The two Israeli soldiers are named, with their ages×1
Claims we checked that rest on their reporting
1 disputed3 unverified3 true
From 20 reports we hold under this byline, at The Jerusalem Post. Two independent readings, each made without the masthead, a quote attached to every tag. A record, never a rating. Their full record →
J James Genn The Jerusalem Post
What the bias passes found in their reporting
Asserted vs attributed The site's purpose, a nuclear bomb testing facility, is stated flat in the photo caption, not credited to the think tank that supplied the imagery×1
Asymmetric hedging the Houthi account is marked a claim in the headline while the 'terror group' label is stated flat×1
Cause attributed How the drone exploded is attributed to a named general×1
Cause from one source The only account of how the drone exploded comes from an Israeli division commander.×1
Claims we checked that rest on their reporting
2 disputed4 unverified3 true
From 34 reports we hold under this byline, at The Jerusalem Post. Two independent readings, each made without the masthead, a quote attached to every tag. A record, never a rating. Their full record →
Y Yonah Jeremy Bob The Jerusalem Post
What the bias passes found in their reporting
Asserted flat States as fact, with no source, that the US is blocking China from resupplying Iran.×1
Cause attributed How the drone exploded is attributed to a named general×1
Cause from one source The only account of how the drone exploded comes from an Israeli division commander.×1
Counter voice the army and the security service are quoted against the minister's warning×1
Claims we checked that rest on their reporting
1 disputed7 unverified2 true
From 73 reports we hold under this byline, at The Jerusalem Post. Two independent readings, each made without the masthead, a quote attached to every tag. A record, never a rating. Their full record →
ا المدن - عرب وعالم Al-Modon
What the bias passes found in their reporting
Actor named The Israeli army is named as the shooter.×1
Army wording attributed The report attributes the description of the soldiers' deaths as an 'operational incident' to the army.×1
Asserted not attributed pressure on Abu Dhabi presented as revealed, not claimed×1
Asserted, not attributed the US block is stated as fact with no source named×1
Claims we checked that rest on their reporting
2 misleading7 disputed18 unverified15 true
From 801 reports we hold under this byline, at Al-Modon. Two independent readings, each made without the masthead, a quote attached to every tag. A record, never a rating. Their full record →
The bylines on the reports this story is built from. Hover one for what our passes have measured on their reporting. · 1 report we hold carries no byline — we do not invent one.

Coverage, outlet by outlet

The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent IDF kills two Hamas terrorists who participated in Oct. 7 massacre, held Israeli hostages Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— independent
Names both Hamas men, Hassan Mahmoud Siam and Adham Sabhi Salim Ziara, and gives the army's charge that Siam held four hostages. It says the strikes came "this week".
According to the IDF, Hamas terrorist commander Hassan Mahmoud Siam held Amit Soussana, Keith and Aviva Siegel, and Dafna Elyakim hostage over the course of their captivity in Gaza.
Headline states what body attributes: The headline states the two men's role on 7 October as fact. The body gives it as 'According to the IDF' — “IDF kills two Hamas terrorists who participated in Oct. 7 massacre, held Israeli hostages”
Army claim stated flat in the headline: The headline states the men's part in 7 October as fact and calls them 'terrorists' in the report's own voice. The body attributes the charge to the army. — “IDF kills two Hamas terrorists who participated in Oct. 7 massacre”
Read it at The Jerusalem Post → https://www.jpost.com/israel-news/article-909721
Ynet
Centre estimate · not a score
Ynet 🇮🇱IL · digital · independent חוסל המחבל שהחזיק בארבעה חטופים בעזה Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Ynet → What we have measured A claim in the headline that the other reports very close to deciding the regime appears in one report only ×1Active voice The killers are the subject of the verbs 'beat' and 'burned'. ×1Active voice The killers are named as acting ×1Army's term, attributed the army names the target of its strikes, and no one on the other side is quoted ×1 from 2684 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— independent
In Hebrew, adds the army's charge that the two men fired at troops and planted explosives at the yellow line. Its headline names no one as the killer.
צה"ל פרסם אחר הצהריים (יום שישי) את זהותם של שני מחבלי חמאס שחוסלו השבוע ברצועת עזה. הוא מסר כי אחד מהם - המחבל חסן מחמוד סיאם, שהיה מפקד בזרוע הצבאית של ארגון הטרור - לקח חלק בטבח 7 באוקטובר והחזיק בחטופים עמית סוסנה, קית' ואביבה סיגל ודפנה אליקים. הוא חוסל בעיר עזה. המחבל השני, אדהם סבחי סלים זיארה, פעיל נוסף בזרוע הצבאית של חמאס, חוסל גם הוא בעיר עזה. על פי דובר צה"ל, המחבלים, שחוסלו מהאוויר, היו מעורבים בירי לעבר כוחות צה"ל והטמנת מטענים באזור הקו הצהוב - תוך הפרה שיטתית של הסכם הפסקת האש. מוקדם יותר, הודיע צה"ל כי חיסל אתמול בדיר אל-בלח שבמרכז רצועת עזה, את ג'בר מקבל, מחבל בזרוע הצבאית של
No actor named: The headline says the man 'was eliminated', with no actor named — “חוסל המחבל שהחזיק בארבעה חטופים בעזה”
No actor named: The Hebrew headline uses a passive verb: the militant 'was eliminated', and the headline does not say who killed him. — “חוסל המחבל שהחזיק בארבעה חטופים בעזה”
Read it at Ynet → https://www.ynet.co.il/news/article/ryjwzee5ge
The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent IDF chief Zamir establishes expert team to investigate drone accident that killed two soldiers Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— independent
The army's chief of staff, Eyal Zamir, has set up a team of experts, led by a Ground Forces brigadier-general, to investigate the drone accident.
IDF Chief of Staff Lt.-Gen. Eyal Zamir has ordered the establishment of an expert team to investigate the recent operational accident in which two IDF soldiers were killed, the military announced on Friday.The team, led by a Ground Forces brigadier-general, will examine the incident in order to ensure a similar one does not occur again.In addition, following the accident, all IDF attack drones will be grounded for 48 hours, after which a renewed assessment will be conducted.The "Atalef" (bat) suicide drone involved in the incident has been in operational use by the IDF since the start of the w
Read it at The Jerusalem Post → https://www.jpost.com/israel-news/defense-news/article-909679
The Jerusalem Post
Centre-right estimate · not a score
The Jerusalem Post 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent IDF: Two soldiers killed by Israeli military drone exploding within Gaza outpost during operation Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Jerusalem Post → What we have measured A count the body does not carry the headline says eight countries; the sentence names seven foreign ministers ×1Actor framing The Gulf ministers are the ones acting. Iran is the party they meet. ×1Actor generalised The headline has 'Baghdad' celebrating. The photo caption says the crowd is supporters of one armed group. ×1Actor named names the militias and calls the act 'desecration', in its own voice ×1 from 4111 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— independent
Names the two soldiers with their ages, and quotes the 99th Division chief on how the drone crashed and then exploded.
The two soldiers were operating the drone when it crashed; they went to investigate the crash site, and the drone exploded, 99th Division Chief Brig.-Gen. Elad Tzuri said.
Dead named: The two Israeli soldiers are named, with their ages — “Fallen soldiers Ofek Moalem, 23, and Nadav Kali, 24”
Cause attributed: How the drone exploded is attributed to a named general — “The two soldiers were operating the drone when it crashed; they went to investigate the crash site, and the drone exploded, 99th Division Chief Brig.-Gen. Elad Tzuri said.”
Dead named: The two Israeli soldiers are named, with their ages. — “Fallen soldiers Ofek Moalem, 23, and Nadav Kali, 24”
Cause from one source: The only account of how the drone exploded comes from an Israeli division commander. — “The two soldiers were operating the drone when it crashed; they went to investigate the crash site, and the drone exploded”
Read it at The Jerusalem Post → https://www.jpost.com/israel-news/defense-news/article-909641
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Israeli Army Says 2 Soldiers Killed in Gaza Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
—
Its headline gives the soldiers' deaths as the army's word: "Israeli Army Says".
Israel's army said Friday that two reserve soldiers were killed in Gaza, with a military source telling AFP they died in an explosion of an Israeli army drone. "The IDF drone crashed at a military post in the Gaza Strip but did not explode. The soldiers approached the drone, which exploded moments later," the official said. The army identified the soldiers as Nadav Kali, aged 24, and Ofek Moalem, 23, from its 7007th Battalion, 16th Brigade.
Attributed: The headline attributes the deaths to the army and gives no cause — “Israeli Army Says 2 Soldiers Killed in Gaza”
Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → https://english.aawsat.com/node/5322389
A Al-Modon
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Al-Modon 🇱🇧LB · digital · غزة: مقتل جنديين إسرائيليين و4 شهداء بخروقات جديدة للاحتلال Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al-Modon → What we have measured Actor left unnamed a man is killed by an air strike in the headline with nobody named as striking; shelling and demolitions simply "continue" ×1Actor named The Israeli army is named as the shooter. ×1Actor named, action nominalised Israeli escalation is named but arrives as a wave, not as a doer ×1Affected people The only report that looks at people in the south: the explosions, the fear and the displacement. ×1 from 3381 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
—
The only report to count Palestinian dead that day: "4 martyrs" in "new violations by the occupation". It reports that the army called the soldiers' deaths an "operational" incident.
حجم الخط مشاركة عبر أعلن الجيش الإسرائيلي مقتل جنديين من قوات الاحتياط في قطاع غزة، في حادث وصفه بالعملياتي، تزامن مع تصاعد خروقاته لاتفاق وقف إطلاق النار والتهدئة الهشة التي تسود القطاع، والتي أسفرت خلال الساعات الماضية عن استشهاد أربعة فلسطينيين وإصابة العشرات. وأكد الجيش الإسرائيلي في بيان صدر اليوم الجمعة، مقتل رقيبين ينتميان إلى الكتيبة 7007 التابعة للواء 16، خلال ما سماها معركة في قطاع غزة أمس الخميس. سقوط مسيرة داحل موقع عسكري ونقلت إذاعة الجيش الإسرائيلي عن التحقيقات الأولية، أن الحادث وقع عند نحو الساعة الرابعة من مساء الخميس، حين شغّل عناصر من اللواء 16 طائرتين مسيرتين مفخختين من طرا
Different words for the dead: The soldiers are 'killed' and the Palestinians are 'martyrs'. The four Palestinians are counted, not named — “مقتل جنديين إسرائيليين و4 شهداء بخروقات جديدة للاحتلال”
Dead counted, not named: The four Palestinians killed are given as a number and called martyrs. None is named, and the deaths are framed as the occupation's 'new violations'. — “4 شهداء بخروقات جديدة للاحتلال”
Army wording attributed: The report attributes the description of the soldiers' deaths as an 'operational incident' to the army. — “في حادث وصفه بالعملياتي”
Read it at Al-Modon → https://www.almodon.com/arabworld/2026/09/25/%D8%BA%D8%B2%D8%A9-%D9%85%…
Checked, didn’t cover
Haaretz
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Haaretz 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured A previous framing corrected the twelve-country statement described as ambiguously worded ×1Asserted flat The report states as fact that barring Arab parties is a standing ritual. ×1Asserted flat The report says ethnicity explains the different outcomes, in its own voice. ×1Asserted in the report's own voice Parties are characterised by what they are said to promise, unattributed, and the headline calls the result frightening. ×1 from 1936 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Palestine TV · Palestinian Broadcasting Corporation
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
Palestine TV · Palestinian Broadcasting Corporation 🇵🇸PS · TV/radio · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Asserted versus attributed recognition itself stated as fact ×1Attribution 'historic' attributed to the Palestinian ambassador ×1Dead counted, not named two dead are counted as 'citizens' and none are named; the wounded are not counted ×1Dead named Gives the dead man's full name and age. ×1 from 766 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
IRNA (Islamic Republic News Agency)
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
IRNA (Islamic Republic News Agency) 🇮🇷IR · state agency · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured A contested word in the headline "illegal" is a Chinese spokesperson's characterisation, carried unmarked in the headline ×1A contested word taken as the report's own "illegal" appears in the headline without quotation marks or attribution to the speaker ×1Acted upon, never acting police are named as acting; whoever hoarded a billion toman of staples is not named at all ×1Actor label The Houthi-run authority is called Yemen's transport ministry. ×1 from 15038 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
North Press Agency
Centre estimate · not a score
North Press Agency 🇸🇾SY · wire · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Attribution the damage list is carried in full, attributed to the side claiming it ×1Single official source Uses the Saudi Press Agency's account: 'bilateral relations', with no mention of reconstruction or money. ×1What is at stake presents the stakes as trade and energy security; no ship, crew or price is counted ×1Which line is led with led by the legal instrument, naming the Security Council resolution by number ×1 from 1169 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Shargh
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Shargh 🇮🇷IR · newspaper · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured A count with its base both days given, and the data called preliminary ×1Actor named as a state the attack is Yemen's, not the Houthis' ×1A different actor does the asking Pakistan's army chief, not Beijing, is the one asking Tehran to use its influence, on the word of unnamed Pakistani government sources. ×1'aggression' in the narration The US campaign is called aggression in the report's own narration, which it credits to Al-Ahram's account of the call. ×1 from 10199 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al-Monitor
Centre estimate · not a score
Al-Monitor 🇺🇸US/ME · digital · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Actor from anonymous officials Puts the IRGC at the trigger in a sentence sourc ×1Actor named Names the Director-General as the one who requested the dismissal ×1Actor named names Trump as the one who began the war, with Israel ×1Actor named names Israel as the actor in its military actions against the Palestinians ×1 from 1566 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Tehran Times
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
Tehran Times 🇮🇷IR · newspaper · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Asserted vs attributed headline states the seizure flat; the body attributes it to the claimant ×1Attribution the toll is attributed to a body that is described but not named ×1Headline against body headline states the seizure flat; the body attributes it to the IRGC ×1How the objectors are framed opposition is described as protesters speaking for civilians ×1 from 1753 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al Jazeera English
Centre estimate · not a score
Al Jazeera English 🇶🇦QA · TV/radio · state-funded international No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1 from 4959 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
An-Nahar
Centre estimate · not a score
An-Nahar 🇱🇧LB · newspaper · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Accused named the accused is named and his age is given ×1Accused named names the accused and gives his age ×1A contested finding relayed with the case still the prime minister's claim carried, with the court proceedings noted in the same sentence ×1Active voice and a toll in the background paragraph, the July strikes get named actors and counted dead — the only counted dead in this story ×1 from 10777 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Silence is recorded, not inferred — each of these was read when we built this story and carried nothing on this event.
We could not read these
K Kan · Israeli Public Broadcasting Corporation
Centre estimate · not a score
Kan · Israeli Public Broadcasting Corporation 🇮🇱IL · public broadcaster · public-service No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The Times of Israel
Centre estimate · not a score
The Times of Israel 🇮🇱IL · digital · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Actorless in own voice The killing is passive with no shooter in the se ×1Headline carries the purpose The livestock and the army's reason are in the h ×1Headline frame The headline carries the military's word for the ×1Military words carried whole Both the label for the dead and the phrase for t ×1 from 149 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Al-Sabaah
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
Al-Sabaah 🇮🇶IQ · newspaper · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Ma'an News Agency
Centre estimate · not a score
Ma'an News Agency 🇵🇸PS · digital · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al Rai
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
Al Rai 🇯🇴JO · newspaper · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al-Mada
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Al-Mada 🇮🇶IQ · newspaper · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
WAFA · Palestinian News & Information Agency
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
WAFA · Palestinian News & Information Agency 🇵🇸PS · state agency · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
SANA (Syrian Arab News Agency)
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
SANA (Syrian Arab News Agency) 🇸🇾SY · state agency · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al-Manar
State-owned, sometimes critical estimate · not a score
Al-Manar 🇱🇧LB · TV/radio · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Galei Tzahal (Army Radio)
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
Galei Tzahal (Army Radio) 🇮🇱IL · TV/radio · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Middle East Eye
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Middle East Eye 🇬🇧UK · digital · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured How hard the claim is stated Its own body says the investigators did not attribute the network to the Emirati state — the qualification its headline drops. ×1How hard the claim is stated The body withdraws in one line the attribution its own headline makes ×1How deeply it is sourced Cites its own past reporting as the evidence for the claim in its own headline, and calls the evidence widespread in its own voice ×1How deeply it is sourced Offers its own past reporting as the evidence supporting the claim in its headline, inside the same sentence that carries the denial. ×1 from 125 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Ammon News
Centre estimate · not a score
Ammon News 🇯🇴JO · digital · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
LBCI (Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International)
Centre estimate · not a score
LBCI (Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International) 🇱🇧LB · TV/radio · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Active voice, actor named the Israeli army carried out the detonation ×1Actor framing Tehran calls the meeting. Iraq is the only other state named. ×1Actor left unnamed the strike in Iraqi waters has no one named as firing it — the source is "unknown" ×1Actor named names Israel as the one striking ×1 from 8159 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
These are must-cite outlets for this desk that we did not manage to read when we built this story. That is a gap in our reach, not a silence on their part, and it is not evidence of anything about this story.

Sign in to The AI Times

Everything is free while we are building it. Signing in is how comments, likes and your reading stay yours.

Continue with Google

Sign-in is coming soon.

By continuing you agree to be a reader of a paper that shows its working.

×