The AI Times
Levant & Iran
Read another desk
All Geopolitics & international affairsEconomyUnited StatesAnglosphereEuropeRussia & EurasiaLevant & Iran Gulf & Türkiye North Africa Africa South Asia East Asia Latin America Energy Technology Media Watch
Sections
News Panel Outlets Headlines Analysis & editorial coming soon
Who we are Alerts Pricing Sign in / up
Desks
All Geopolitics & international affairsEconomyUnited StatesAnglosphereEuropeRussia & EurasiaLevant & Iran Gulf & Türkiye North Africa Africa South Asia East Asia Latin America Energy Technology Media Watch
The AI Times
every claim sourced| every source shown| always on watch

Al Jazeera says seven killed in Gaza, Asharq Al-Awsat 'at least six', Al-Modon five in Tel al-Hawa alone

Israeli strikes hit Gaza City and Khan Younis on Wednesday, under a ceasefire declared in October 2025. Four reports give three death tolls, cite three different counters and use different words for the strikes. None names a single person killed.

Israeli Strikes Kill Six People in Gaza, Medics Say
Israeli Strikes Kill Six People in Gaza, Medics Say as published by Asharq Al-Awsat · seen at Asharq Al-Awsat
Levant & Iran Palestine Israel

The tolls. Three reports give three different counts. Each counts something different, at a different hour, and credits a different source.

Report Tel al-Hawa vehicle strike Day's total Who counted
Al-Modon (10:25 GMT) 5 dead, 13 wounded — Palestinian Red Crescent
Al Jazeera English (12:49) 6 dead on a passenger van (no place named) 7 not named
Asharq Al-Awsat (13:25) at least 4 dead, 14 wounded at least 6 medics, health officials

The words. Al-Modon's headline calls it a "massacre" and counts the dead as "martyrs". Al Jazeera English puts "ceasefire" in quotation marks in its own headline and calls the strikes "violations". Asharq Al-Awsat uses neither word. IRNA, Iran's state agency, carries Hamas saying the strikes continue a "genocide" and openly break the truce.

Israel's side. Asharq Al-Awsat is the only report that gives Israel's reason: that "Hamas has been rearming and launching attacks". Its text breaks off there. We hold no Israeli military statement and no Israeli outlet on these strikes.

Who is missing. This is a story about Palestine, and we hold no Palestinian outlet on it. WAFA and Ma'an are not among the four.

Not settled - Whether Al Jazeera English's van is the Tel al-Hawa vehicle. It names no place. - The final toll. Every figure is from Gaza medics, health officials or the Red Crescent. None has been independently established. - Who the dead were. No report names them. - What Israel says it hit.

What this is about. Israeli strikes killed people in Gaza on a day when a ceasefire was supposed to be holding, and the outlets that reported it do not agree on how many died.

How it got here. On 7 October 2023, Hamas led an attack on southern Israel and took hostages back into Gaza. Israel answered with a war on the Gaza Strip, a narrow coastal territory of about two million Palestinians that Hamas had governed since 2007. The war lasted two years. In October 2025 a ceasefire took effect under a plan put forward by US President Donald Trump and brokered with Egypt, Qatar and Turkey. Hostages and Palestinian prisoners were exchanged. Israeli forces pulled back to a line inside Gaza. Later stages, including Hamas's disarmament and the future government of the Strip, were left to be negotiated.

Who is involved. - Israel's military carries out the strikes. Israel says Hamas has been rearming and launching attacks, according to Asharq Al-Awsat. - Hamas still holds power inside the part of Gaza Israel does not control. It calls the strikes a breach of the ceasefire. - Gaza's health officials work under the Hamas-run administration. They, medics and the Palestinian Red Crescent, a relief organisation, give most of the casualty counts from inside Gaza. - Tel al-Hawa is a neighbourhood of Gaza City. Khan Younis is the main city in the south of the Strip.

What is at stake. Each deadly strike tests whether the ceasefire still means anything. Israel presents such strikes as a response to Hamas. Hamas presents them as proof Israel is not keeping the deal. How outlets count the dead and name the strikes shapes which of those accounts readers take as the default.

Where it stands. On 30 September 2026 the ceasefire is still formally in place. Strikes are still killing people. The reports we hold say nothing of any talks to stop them.

What is being argued about

  • How many people Israeli strikes killed in Gaza on 30 September: five, six or seven
  • Who counted the dead: the Red Crescent, medics, health officials, or no one named
  • Whether to call it a ceasefire, a 'ceasefire' or a genocide
  • Israel's stated reason, carried by only one report
One vehicle strike, three tollsChart
Every figure comes from Gaza medics, health officials or the Red Crescent, and none has been independently established. Al Jazeera English does not say its van was in Tel al-Hawa.
Sources A Al-Modon
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Al-Modon 🇱🇧LB · digital · مجزرة في غزة: 5 شهداء و13 جريحاً بغارة على تل الهوى Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al-Modon → What we have measured Actor left unnamed a man is killed by an air strike in the headline with nobody named as striking; shelling and demolitions simply "continue" ×1Actor named The Israeli army is named as the shooter. ×1Actor named, action nominalised Israeli escalation is named but arrives as a wave, not as a doer ×1Affected people The only report that looks at people in the south: the explosions, the fear and the displacement. ×1 from 3381 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al Jazeera English
Centre estimate · not a score
Al Jazeera English 🇶🇦QA · TV/radio · state-funded international Israeli attacks on Gaza kill seven as ‘ceasefire’ violations continue Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al Jazeera English → What we have measured Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1 from 4959 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Israeli Strikes Kill Six People in Gaza, Medics Say Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
How the count moved on 30 SeptemberTimeline
  1. 2026-09-3010:25 Al-Modon publication time, GMT Al-Modon Palestinian Red Crescent says a strike on Tel al-Hawa killed 5 and wounded 13 5 deadheadline: 'massacre'
  2. 2026-09-3012:49 Al Jazeera English publication time, GMT Al Jazeera English Six killed in a drone attack on a passenger van, one in a strike on an apartment 7 deadno counter named
  3. 2026-09-3013:25 Asharq Al-Awsat publication time, GMT Asharq Al-Awsat Medics give 4 dead in the Tel al-Hawa vehicle, a woman in an apartment, one person outside a Khan Younis mosque at least 6 deadcarries Israel's stated reason
  4. 2026-09-3013:41 IRNA publication time, GMT Hamas, via IRNA Says the strikes continue a 'genocide' and openly break the ceasefire —no toll given
Times are when each report was published, not when each strike happened. No report gives a time for the strikes.
Sources A Al-Modon
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Al-Modon 🇱🇧LB · digital · مجزرة في غزة: 5 شهداء و13 جريحاً بغارة على تل الهوى Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al-Modon → What we have measured Actor left unnamed a man is killed by an air strike in the headline with nobody named as striking; shelling and demolitions simply "continue" ×1Actor named The Israeli army is named as the shooter. ×1Actor named, action nominalised Israeli escalation is named but arrives as a wave, not as a doer ×1Affected people The only report that looks at people in the south: the explosions, the fear and the displacement. ×1 from 3381 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al Jazeera English
Centre estimate · not a score
Al Jazeera English 🇶🇦QA · TV/radio · state-funded international Israeli attacks on Gaza kill seven as ‘ceasefire’ violations continue Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al Jazeera English → What we have measured Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1 from 4959 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Israeli Strikes Kill Six People in Gaza, Medics Say Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
IRNA (Islamic Republic News Agency)
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
IRNA (Islamic Republic News Agency) 🇮🇷IR · state agency · state-controlled حماس: تشدید حملات اسرائیل ادامه نسل‌کشی و نقض آشکار توافق آتش‌بس است Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at IRNA (Islamic Republic News Agency) → What we have measured A contested word in the headline "illegal" is a Chinese spokesperson's characterisation, carried unmarked in the headline ×1A contested word taken as the report's own "illegal" appears in the headline without quotation marks or attribution to the speaker ×1Acted upon, never acting police are named as acting; whoever hoarded a billion toman of staples is not named at all ×1Actor label The Houthi-run authority is called Yemen's transport ministry. ×1 from 15038 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
What each report calls itSide by side
OutletWord for the strikesWord for the truceWhose account is carried
Al-Modon'massacre'; the dead are 'martyrs'—Palestinian Red Crescent
Al Jazeera English'attacks', 'violations''ceasefire', in quotation marksnone named
Asharq Al-Awsat'strikes'—Gaza medics and health officials; Israel's stated reason
IRNA'genocide', credited to Hamas'ceasefire', credited to Hamas as brokenHamas
Words in the outlets' own voice unless credited to a party. IRNA is Iran's state news agency.
Sources A Al-Modon
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Al-Modon 🇱🇧LB · digital · مجزرة في غزة: 5 شهداء و13 جريحاً بغارة على تل الهوى Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al-Modon → What we have measured Actor left unnamed a man is killed by an air strike in the headline with nobody named as striking; shelling and demolitions simply "continue" ×1Actor named The Israeli army is named as the shooter. ×1Actor named, action nominalised Israeli escalation is named but arrives as a wave, not as a doer ×1Affected people The only report that looks at people in the south: the explosions, the fear and the displacement. ×1 from 3381 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al Jazeera English
Centre estimate · not a score
Al Jazeera English 🇶🇦QA · TV/radio · state-funded international Israeli attacks on Gaza kill seven as ‘ceasefire’ violations continue Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al Jazeera English → What we have measured Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1 from 4959 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Israeli Strikes Kill Six People in Gaza, Medics Say Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
IRNA (Islamic Republic News Agency)
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
IRNA (Islamic Republic News Agency) 🇮🇷IR · state agency · state-controlled حماس: تشدید حملات اسرائیل ادامه نسل‌کشی و نقض آشکار توافق آتش‌بس است Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at IRNA (Islamic Republic News Agency) → What we have measured A contested word in the headline "illegal" is a Chinese spokesperson's characterisation, carried unmarked in the headline ×1A contested word taken as the report's own "illegal" appears in the headline without quotation marks or attribution to the speaker ×1Acted upon, never acting police are named as acting; whoever hoarded a billion toman of staples is not named at all ×1Actor label The Houthi-run authority is called Yemen's transport ministry. ×1 from 15038 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The bias in this coverageBias

One strike, three tolls

Reports give three tolls for the strike on the van in Tel al-Hawa, and two totals for the day. Each report counts at a different hour and cites a different source: medics, health officials or the Red Crescent. No report names any of the dead.

3 tolls given for the Tel al-Hawa van strike 2 totals given for the day 0 reports that name any of the dead 1 reports carrying Israel's stated reason
Scored without the mastheads. Where the two passes differ, both are kept.
Sources A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Israeli Strikes Kill Six People in Gaza, Medics Say Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al Jazeera English
Centre estimate · not a score
Al Jazeera English 🇶🇦QA · TV/radio · state-funded international Israeli attacks on Gaza kill seven as ‘ceasefire’ violations continue Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al Jazeera English → What we have measured Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1 from 4959 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Al-Modon
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Al-Modon 🇱🇧LB · digital · مجزرة في غزة: 5 شهداء و13 جريحاً بغارة على تل الهوى Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al-Modon → What we have measured Actor left unnamed a man is killed by an air strike in the headline with nobody named as striking; shelling and demolitions simply "continue" ×1Actor named The Israeli army is named as the shooter. ×1Actor named, action nominalised Israeli escalation is named but arrives as a wave, not as a doer ×1Affected people The only report that looks at people in the south: the explosions, the fear and the displacement. ×1 from 3381 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
IRNA (Islamic Republic News Agency)
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
IRNA (Islamic Republic News Agency) 🇮🇷IR · state agency · state-controlled حماس: تشدید حملات اسرائیل ادامه نسل‌کشی و نقض آشکار توافق آتش‌بس است Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at IRNA (Islamic Republic News Agency) → What we have measured A contested word in the headline "illegal" is a Chinese spokesperson's characterisation, carried unmarked in the headline ×1A contested word taken as the report's own "illegal" appears in the headline without quotation marks or attribution to the speaker ×1Acted upon, never acting police are named as acting; whoever hoarded a billion toman of staples is not named at all ×1Actor label The Houthi-run authority is called Yemen's transport ministry. ×1 from 15038 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →

Claims and verdicts

disputed Israeli strikes killed seven people in Gaza on Wednesday.
Al Jazeera English gives seven: six in a drone strike on a passenger van and one in an apartment. Asharq Al-Awsat, citing Gaza medics, gives at least six: four in a vehicle, one woman in an apartment and one outside a Khan Younis mosque. All of these tolls come from Gaza health officials and medics, and none has been independently established.
Checked against 2 sources:
Al Jazeera English
Centre estimate · not a score
Al Jazeera English 🇶🇦QA · TV/radio · state-funded international Israeli attacks on Gaza kill seven as ‘ceasefire’ violations continue Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al Jazeera English → What we have measured Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1 from 4959 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Israeli Strikes Kill Six People in Gaza, Medics Say Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
disputed The strike on a vehicle in Tel al-Hawa killed at least four people.
Asharq Al-Awsat's medics say four dead and 14 wounded. Al-Modon, citing the Palestinian Red Crescent, says five dead and 13 wounded, and Al Jazeera English says six dead in the van strike.
Checked against 3 sources:
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Israeli Strikes Kill Six People in Gaza, Medics Say Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Al-Modon
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Al-Modon 🇱🇧LB · digital · مجزرة في غزة: 5 شهداء و13 جريحاً بغارة على تل الهوى Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al-Modon → What we have measured Actor left unnamed a man is killed by an air strike in the headline with nobody named as striking; shelling and demolitions simply "continue" ×1Actor named The Israeli army is named as the shooter. ×1Actor named, action nominalised Israeli escalation is named but arrives as a wave, not as a doer ×1Affected people The only report that looks at people in the south: the explosions, the fear and the displacement. ×1 from 3381 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al Jazeera English
Centre estimate · not a score
Al Jazeera English 🇶🇦QA · TV/radio · state-funded international Israeli attacks on Gaza kill seven as ‘ceasefire’ violations continue Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al Jazeera English → What we have measured Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1 from 4959 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →

Who wrote it

ا المدن - عرب وعالم Al-Modon
What the bias passes found in their reporting
Actor named The Israeli army is named as the shooter.×1
Army wording attributed The report attributes the description of the soldiers' deaths as an 'operational incident' to the army.×1
Asserted not attributed pressure on Abu Dhabi presented as revealed, not claimed×1
Asserted, not attributed the US block is stated as fact with no source named×1
Claims we checked that rest on their reporting
2 misleading7 disputed18 unverified15 true
From 801 reports we hold under this byline, at Al-Modon. Two independent readings, each made without the masthead, a quote attached to every tag. A record, never a rating. Their full record →
The bylines on the reports this story is built from. Hover one for what our passes have measured on their reporting. · 3 reports we hold carry no byline — we do not invent one.

Coverage, outlet by outlet

IRNA (Islamic Republic News Agency)
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
IRNA (Islamic Republic News Agency) 🇮🇷IR · state agency · state-controlled حماس: تشدید حملات اسرائیل ادامه نسل‌کشی و نقض آشکار توافق آتش‌بس است Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at IRNA (Islamic Republic News Agency) → What we have measured A contested word in the headline "illegal" is a Chinese spokesperson's characterisation, carried unmarked in the headline ×1A contested word taken as the report's own "illegal" appears in the headline without quotation marks or attribution to the speaker ×1Acted upon, never acting police are named as acting; whoever hoarded a billion toman of staples is not named at all ×1Actor label The Houthi-run authority is called Yemen's transport ministry. ×1 from 15038 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— state-controlled
Carries Hamas's account: the strikes continue a 'genocide' and openly break the ceasefire.
تهران – ایرنا - جنبش مقاومت اسلامی فلسطین (حماس) تأکید کرد که تداوم تشدید حملات رژیم صهیونیستی در نوار غزه، در واقع ادامه مراحل گذشته جنگ نسل‌کشی این رژیم علیه ملت فلسطین است و نشان‌دهنده گریز آشکار تل‌آویو از تمامی تعهدات آن براساس توافق آتش‌بس است.
Whose voice: the only voice is Hamas, calling the strikes genocide — “ادامه مراحل گذشته جنگ نسل‌کشی این رژیم علیه ملت فلسطین است”
Charge attributed: 'genocide' and 'violation of the ceasefire' are credited to Hamas — “ادامه نسل‌کشی و نقض آشکار توافق آتش‌بس است”
Read it at IRNA (Islamic Republic News Agency) → https://www.irna.ir/news/86279557/%D8%AD%D9%85%D8%A7%D8%B3-%D8%AA%D8%B4…
A Asharq Al-Awsat
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Asharq Al-Awsat 🇸🇦SA · digital · Israeli Strikes Kill Six People in Gaza, Medics Say Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → What we have measured Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1 from 3032 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
—
The only report that separates the strikes: a vehicle in Tel al-Hawa, an apartment in Gaza City and a mosque in Khan Younis. The only one to carry Israel's stated reason.
Israeli strikes killed at least six Palestinians in two separate attacks in the Gaza Strip on Wednesday, the territory's health officials said. Medics said an Israeli airstrike on a vehicle killed at least four people and wounded 14 others in the Tel Al-Hawa neighborhood in Gaza City, while an earlier airstrike on an apartment elsewhere in the city killed a woman. Later on Wednesday, an Israeli airstrike outside a mosque in Khan Younis killed one person and wounded others, medics said, taking the day's death toll to at least six. Israel, which says Hamas has been rearming and launching attacks
Attribution: Israel is named as acting; the toll is credited to health officials — “Israeli strikes killed at least six Palestinians in two separate attacks in the Gaza Strip on Wednesday, the territory's health officials said.”
Whose justification is carried: Israel's stated reason is included alongside the toll — “Israel, which says Hamas has been rearming and launching attacks”
Who is named as acting; toll attributed: names Israeli strikes as the actor and credits the toll to health officials and medics — “Israeli strikes killed at least six Palestinians in two separate attacks in the Gaza Strip on Wednesday, the territory's health officials said.”
One party's reason included: gives Israel's stated justification in the same report — “Israel, which says Hamas has been rearming and launching attacks”
Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat → https://english.aawsat.com/node/5324346
Al Jazeera English
Centre estimate · not a score
Al Jazeera English 🇶🇦QA · TV/radio · state-funded international Israeli attacks on Gaza kill seven as ‘ceasefire’ violations continue Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al Jazeera English → What we have measured Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1 from 4959 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— state-funded international
The highest total, seven, with six killed on a passenger van. It names no counter and no place, and puts 'ceasefire' in quotation marks.
play Live Sign up Show navigation menu Navigation menu NewsShow more news sections Africa Asia US & Canada Latin America Europe Asia Pacific Middle East Explained Sport Opinion Video MoreShow more sections Originals Features Economy Human Rights Climate Crisis Investigations Interactives In Pictures Science & Technology Podcasts Travel Sponsored Content play Live Click here to searchsearch Sign up Navigation menucaret-left Israel-Palestine conflict Shackled, bleeding, raped: Abuse in Israeli prisons ‘This is an apartheid regime’ Does Trump have real leverage over Netanyahu? History of flotilla
Scare quotes: puts ceasefire in quotation marks in the headline — “Israeli attacks on Gaza kill seven as ‘ceasefire’ violations continue”
Scare quotes in the report's own voice: puts ceasefire in quotation marks in its own headline, with no party credited — “‘ceasefire’ violations continue”
Toll with no source; no actor named: gives the dead with no counter named and no actor in the sentence — “At least six people killed in drone attack on passenger van”
Read it at Al Jazeera English → https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2026/9/30/israeli-attacks-on-gaza-kill-s…
A Al-Modon
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Al-Modon 🇱🇧LB · digital · مجزرة في غزة: 5 شهداء و13 جريحاً بغارة على تل الهوى Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al-Modon → What we have measured Actor left unnamed a man is killed by an air strike in the headline with nobody named as striking; shelling and demolitions simply "continue" ×1Actor named The Israeli army is named as the shooter. ×1Actor named, action nominalised Israeli escalation is named but arrives as a wave, not as a doer ×1Affected people The only report that looks at people in the south: the explosions, the fear and the displacement. ×1 from 3381 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
—
The earliest report and the only one to name its counter, the Palestinian Red Crescent: 5 dead and 13 wounded in Tel al-Hawa. Its headline calls it a 'massacre'.
حجم الخط مشاركة عبر أفاد الهلال الأحمر الفلسطيني باستشهاد 5 فلسطينيين وإصابة 13 آخرين في غارة شنها الاحتلال الإسرائيلي على مركبة في حي تل الهوى جنوبي مدينة غزة. وعرف من الشهداء عمار الشرافي وهو شقيق الصحافي مؤمن الشرافي في غارة استهدفت عربة النقل الركاب محيط مجلس االوزراء غرب غزة. وفي سياق منفصل، أعلنت وزارة الصحة في قطاع غزة وصول 9 شهداء إلى مستشفيات القطاع خلال الساعات الـ24 الماضية، بينهم 8 شهداء جدد وشهيدة متأثرة بإصابتها، إضافة إلى 31 مصاباً. فيما أفاد مدير مجمع الشفاء الطبي لـ"التلفزيون العربي" بسقوط 12 شهيداً و42 مصاباً جراء استهدافات الاحتلال للقطاع، منذ أمس الثلاثاء. وقالت الوزارة إن
Vocabulary: 'massacre' and 'martyrs' used in the headline — “مجزرة في غزة: 5 شهداء و13 جريحاً بغارة على تل الهوى”
Who is named as acting: the actor is named as 'the occupation' — “غارة شنها الاحتلال”
Loaded word in the report's own voice: the headline calls it a massacre and counts the dead as martyrs; the body credits the Palestinian Red Crescent — “مجزرة في غزة: 5 شهداء و13 جريحاً”
Read it at Al-Modon → https://www.almodon.com/arabworld/2026/09/30/%D9%85%D8%AC%D8%B2%D8%B1%D…
Checked, didn’t cover
Haaretz
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Haaretz 🇮🇱IL · newspaper · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured A previous framing corrected the twelve-country statement described as ambiguously worded ×1Asserted flat The report states as fact that barring Arab parties is a standing ritual. ×1Asserted flat The report says ethnicity explains the different outcomes, in its own voice. ×1Asserted in the report's own voice Parties are characterised by what they are said to promise, unattributed, and the headline calls the result frightening. ×1 from 1936 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Palestine TV · Palestinian Broadcasting Corporation
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
Palestine TV · Palestinian Broadcasting Corporation 🇵🇸PS · TV/radio · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Asserted versus attributed recognition itself stated as fact ×1Attribution 'historic' attributed to the Palestinian ambassador ×1Dead counted, not named two dead are counted as 'citizens' and none are named; the wounded are not counted ×1Dead named Gives the dead man's full name and age. ×1 from 766 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Ynet
Centre estimate · not a score
Ynet 🇮🇱IL · digital · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured A claim in the headline that the other reports very close to deciding the regime appears in one report only ×1Active voice The killers are the subject of the verbs 'beat' and 'burned'. ×1Active voice The killers are named as acting ×1Army's term, attributed the army names the target of its strikes, and no one on the other side is quoted ×1 from 2684 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
North Press Agency
Centre estimate · not a score
North Press Agency 🇸🇾SY · wire · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Attribution the damage list is carried in full, attributed to the side claiming it ×1Single official source Uses the Saudi Press Agency's account: 'bilateral relations', with no mention of reconstruction or money. ×1What is at stake presents the stakes as trade and energy security; no ship, crew or price is counted ×1Which line is led with led by the legal instrument, naming the Security Council resolution by number ×1 from 1169 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Shargh
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Shargh 🇮🇷IR · newspaper · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured A count with its base both days given, and the data called preliminary ×1Actor named as a state the attack is Yemen's, not the Houthis' ×1A different actor does the asking Pakistan's army chief, not Beijing, is the one asking Tehran to use its influence, on the word of unnamed Pakistani government sources. ×1'aggression' in the narration The US campaign is called aggression in the report's own narration, which it credits to Al-Ahram's account of the call. ×1 from 10199 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al-Monitor
Centre estimate · not a score
Al-Monitor 🇺🇸US/ME · digital · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Actor from anonymous officials Puts the IRGC at the trigger in a sentence sourc ×1Actor named Names the Director-General as the one who requested the dismissal ×1Actor named names Trump as the one who began the war, with Israel ×1Actor named names Israel as the actor in its military actions against the Palestinians ×1 from 1566 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Tehran Times
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
Tehran Times 🇮🇷IR · newspaper · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Asserted vs attributed headline states the seizure flat; the body attributes it to the claimant ×1Attribution the toll is attributed to a body that is described but not named ×1Headline against body headline states the seizure flat; the body attributes it to the IRGC ×1How the objectors are framed opposition is described as protesters speaking for civilians ×1 from 1753 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
SANA (Syrian Arab News Agency)
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
SANA (Syrian Arab News Agency) 🇸🇾SY · state agency · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
An-Nahar
Centre estimate · not a score
An-Nahar 🇱🇧LB · newspaper · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Accused named the accused is named and his age is given ×1Accused named names the accused and gives his age ×1A contested finding relayed with the case still the prime minister's claim carried, with the court proceedings noted in the same sentence ×1Active voice and a toll in the background paragraph, the July strikes get named actors and counted dead — the only counted dead in this story ×1 from 10777 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
LBCI (Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International)
Centre estimate · not a score
LBCI (Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International) 🇱🇧LB · TV/radio · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Active voice, actor named the Israeli army carried out the detonation ×1Actor framing Tehran calls the meeting. Iraq is the only other state named. ×1Actor left unnamed the strike in Iraqi waters has no one named as firing it — the source is "unknown" ×1Actor named names Israel as the one striking ×1 from 8159 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Silence is recorded, not inferred — each of these was read when we built this story and carried nothing on this event.
We could not read these
K Kan · Israeli Public Broadcasting Corporation
Centre estimate · not a score
Kan · Israeli Public Broadcasting Corporation 🇮🇱IL · public broadcaster · public-service No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The Times of Israel
Centre estimate · not a score
The Times of Israel 🇮🇱IL · digital · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Actorless in own voice The killing is passive with no shooter in the se ×1Headline carries the purpose The livestock and the army's reason are in the h ×1Headline frame The headline carries the military's word for the ×1Military words carried whole Both the label for the dead and the phrase for t ×1 from 149 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A Al-Sabaah
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
Al-Sabaah 🇮🇶IQ · newspaper · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Ma'an News Agency
Centre estimate · not a score
Ma'an News Agency 🇵🇸PS · digital · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al Rai
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
Al Rai 🇯🇴JO · newspaper · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al-Mada
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Al-Mada 🇮🇶IQ · newspaper · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
WAFA · Palestinian News & Information Agency
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
WAFA · Palestinian News & Information Agency 🇵🇸PS · state agency · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al-Manar
State-owned, sometimes critical estimate · not a score
Al-Manar 🇱🇧LB · TV/radio · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Galei Tzahal (Army Radio)
State / loyalist estimate · not a score
Galei Tzahal (Army Radio) 🇮🇱IL · TV/radio · state-controlled No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Middle East Eye
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Middle East Eye 🇬🇧UK · digital · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured How hard the claim is stated Its own body says the investigators did not attribute the network to the Emirati state — the qualification its headline drops. ×1How hard the claim is stated The body withdraws in one line the attribution its own headline makes ×1How deeply it is sourced Cites its own past reporting as the evidence for the claim in its own headline, and calls the evidence widespread in its own voice ×1How deeply it is sourced Offers its own past reporting as the evidence supporting the claim in its headline, inside the same sentence that carries the denial. ×1 from 125 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Ammon News
Centre estimate · not a score
Ammon News 🇯🇴JO · digital · independent No report held from this outlet on this story. What we have measured Nothing scored yet. We do not carry a rating for any outlet — only what we have measured from published text. Outlet profile in The AI Times →
These are must-cite outlets for this desk that we did not manage to read when we built this story. That is a gap in our reach, not a silence on their part, and it is not evidence of anything about this story.

Sign in to The AI Times

Everything is free while we are building it. Signing in is how comments, likes and your reading stay yours.

Continue with Google

Sign-in is coming soon.

By continuing you agree to be a reader of a paper that shows its working.

×