The AI Times
Economy
Read another desk
All Geopolitics & international affairsEconomyUnited StatesAnglosphereEuropeRussia & EurasiaLevant & Iran Gulf & Türkiye North Africa Africa South Asia East Asia Latin America Energy Technology Media Watch
Sections
News Panel Outlets Headlines Analysis & editorial coming soon
Who we are Alerts Pricing Sign in / up
Desks
All Geopolitics & international affairsEconomyUnited StatesAnglosphereEuropeRussia & EurasiaLevant & Iran Gulf & Türkiye North Africa Africa South Asia East Asia Latin America Energy Technology Media Watch
The AI Times
every claim sourced| every source shown| always on watch

Al-Monitor says Saudi Arabia shut its oil pipeline; An-Nahar says drones launched from Iraq disabled it

Five reports on Saudi Arabia's oil routes. They split on how the East-West pipeline stopped, on how shut Hormuz is and on whose backing the crown prince sought in Cairo. None gives an oil price.

Saudi running out of oil export options as Iran, allies choke routes
Saudi running out of oil export options as Iran, allies choke routes as published by Al-Monitor · seen at Al-Monitor

The pipeline. Al-Monitor says the East-West line runs about 1,200 km, from the eastern oil fields to Yanbu on the Red Sea. Two reports say it stopped. They describe that differently.

Outlet The pipeline Where the attack came from Hormuz
Al-Monitor Saudi Arabia "shut" it last week attacks "originating in Iraq, home to pro-Iran armed groups" Iran and allies "cement their chokehold", analysts say
An-Nahar "disrupted" (تعطّل) "a drone attack launched from Iraq" Iran "restricts" shipping
France 24 not in the part we hold — Gulf access "all but shut"

Neither report names who carried out the attacks.

The Red Sea. An-Nahar says the Iran-backed Houthis reached Mayun (Perim) island in Bab al-Mandab. No other report we hold names the island. France 24 says the group controls the strait.

The Cairo talks. Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman met President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi on Tuesday. France 24's headline says he sought "neighbours' backing". The Independent's says "Egypt's backing".

What is not settled - Who carried out the pipeline attacks. No report names them. - The cost. France 24's headline says oil "spikes". None of the five gives a price, a lost export volume or a Suez revenue figure. - How much traffic still moves through Hormuz. No report gives a tanker count.

What this is about. Saudi Arabia sells more oil abroad than any other country, and this week both of the sea routes it ships through — and the pipeline built to avoid one of them — were reported blocked or damaged at once.

How it got here. Saudi crude comes out of fields in the country's east, on the Gulf. Tankers carrying it must pass the Strait of Hormuz, the narrow entrance to the Gulf, with Iran on the northern shore. The East-West pipeline was built as the way around Hormuz: it crosses the peninsula to the Red Sea terminal at Yanbu — about 1,200 km, Al-Monitor says — from where ships sail south through Bab al-Mandab, the strait between Yemen and the Horn of Africa, or north through Egypt's Suez Canal. Yemen's Houthi movement seized the capital, Sanaa, in 2014; a Saudi-led coalition intervened against it in 2015 and the war has run since. France 24 dates the present crisis to President Donald Trump's decision to strike Iran, six months ago, and to what it calls a war "without an exit strategy". Since 8 September we have carried reports of Houthi strikes on Saudi oil facilities (LBCI), an airbase and oil infrastructure hit (Reuters), the capture of the port of Mocha (The Jerusalem Post) and of an island (El Mundo), and a drone The New York Times says came from Iraq — Britain's foreign secretary blamed the Houthis; Iraq's military named nobody.

Who is in it. Saudi Arabia, whose exports are at stake. The Houthis, who hold ground on Yemen's west coast. Iran, which backs them and sits on Hormuz. Iraq, where Al-Monitor says the pipeline attacks originated and where, it says, pro-Iran armed groups are based. Egypt, which earns transit fees on every ship that uses the Red Sea.

What is at stake. If both routes stay closed, the world's largest exporter has no easy way to market, and Egypt loses canal traffic.

Where it stands. Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman met President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi in Cairo on Tuesday.

What is being argued about

  • How Saudi Arabia's East-West pipeline stopped, and who the reports say attacked it
  • Iran's hold on Hormuz and the Houthis' reach into Bab al-Mandab
  • The crown prince's talks with Egypt's president in Cairo
  • What the disruption costs, which no report puts a number on
Three outlets, three accounts of Saudi Arabia's two routesSide by side
OutletThe pipelineWhere the attack came fromHormuz
Al-MonitorSaudi Arabia "shut" it last week"originating in Iraq, home to pro-Iran armed groups"Iran and allies "cement their chokehold", analysts say
An-Nahar"disrupted" (تعطّل)"a drone attack launched from Iraq"Iran "restricts" shipping
France 24not in the part we hold—access to the Gulf "all but shut"
Quotes are from the published text. None of the three names who carried out the attacks.
Sources Al-Monitor
Centre estimate · not a score
Al-Monitor 🇺🇸US/ME · digital · independent Saudi running out of oil export options as Iran, allies choke routes Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al-Monitor → What we have measured Actor from anonymous officials Puts the IRGC at the trigger in a sentence sourc ×1Actor named Names the Director-General as the one who requested the dismissal ×1Actor named names Trump as the one who began the war, with Israel ×1Actor named names Israel as the actor in its military actions against the Palestinians ×1 from 1566 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
An-Nahar
Centre estimate · not a score
An-Nahar 🇱🇧LB · newspaper · independent بن سلمان في القاهرة... باب المندب يدفع مصر والسعودية إلى تنسيق أوسع Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at An-Nahar → What we have measured Accused named the accused is named and his age is given ×1Accused named names the accused and gives his age ×1A contested finding relayed with the case still the prime minister's claim carried, with the court proceedings noted in the same sentence ×1Active voice and a toll in the background paragraph, the July strikes get named actors and counted dead — the only counted dead in this story ×1 from 10777 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
France 24
Centre estimate · not a score
France 24 🇫🇷FR · public broadcaster · state-funded international First Hormuz, now the Red Sea? Oil spikes as Saudis sucked into Yemen spiral Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at France 24 → What we have measured Actor label Hezbollah is identified by its backer. ×1Adversary left to inference the quote names independence but never who from; the report does not fill it in ×1Agency Uses active voice for both killings. The soldiers' account of the car-ramming is credited to the military, not stated as fact ×1A price without its measure above 100 dollars a barrel, with no benchmark named and no date for the comparison ×1 from 2849 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Five reports in 35 minutes on Tuesday eveningTimeline
  1. Tue 15 Sep18:09 published time, UTC The Independent says the crown prince seeks "Egypt's backing" and calls the Houthis "rebels"
  2. Tue 15 Sep18:30 published time, UTC Al-Monitor says Saudi Arabia shut the pipeline after attacks "originating in Iraq"
  3. Tue 15 Sep18:32 published time, UTC France 24 says "Oil spikes" and gives no figure
  4. Tue 15 Sep18:37 published time, UTC France 24 says the crown prince seeks "neighbours' backing"
  5. Tue 15 Sep18:44 published time, UTC An-Nahar says drones launched from Iraq disrupted the pipeline and names Mayun island
Times are when each report was published.
Sources The Independent
Centre-left estimate · not a score
The Independent 🇬🇧UK · digital · independent Saudi crown prince seeks Egypt’s backing as Houthi attacks rattle Red Sea oil routes Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Independent → What we have measured Accused party response Russia's side is reported as no comment. ×1A company statement about itself, taken as a "reveals" rather than "says", for a company's account of its own product ×1A count stated flat four crimes is given as a settled number in the headline, with no court, charge or jurisdiction attached ×1Actor named No actor named for the cut-short or for the clashes ×1 from 20313 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al-Monitor
Centre estimate · not a score
Al-Monitor 🇺🇸US/ME · digital · independent Saudi running out of oil export options as Iran, allies choke routes Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al-Monitor → What we have measured Actor from anonymous officials Puts the IRGC at the trigger in a sentence sourc ×1Actor named Names the Director-General as the one who requested the dismissal ×1Actor named names Trump as the one who began the war, with Israel ×1Actor named names Israel as the actor in its military actions against the Palestinians ×1 from 1566 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
France 24
Centre estimate · not a score
France 24 🇫🇷FR · public broadcaster · state-funded international First Hormuz, now the Red Sea? Oil spikes as Saudis sucked into Yemen spiral Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at France 24 → What we have measured Actor label Hezbollah is identified by its backer. ×1Adversary left to inference the quote names independence but never who from; the report does not fill it in ×1Agency Uses active voice for both killings. The soldiers' account of the car-ramming is credited to the military, not stated as fact ×1A price without its measure above 100 dollars a barrel, with no benchmark named and no date for the comparison ×1 from 2849 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
France 24
Centre estimate · not a score
France 24 🇫🇷FR · public broadcaster · state-funded international Saudi crown prince seeks neighbours' backing as Houthi attacks rattle Red Sea oil routes Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at France 24 → What we have measured Actor label Hezbollah is identified by its backer. ×1Adversary left to inference the quote names independence but never who from; the report does not fill it in ×1Agency Uses active voice for both killings. The soldiers' account of the car-ramming is credited to the military, not stated as fact ×1A price without its measure above 100 dollars a barrel, with no benchmark named and no date for the comparison ×1 from 2849 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
An-Nahar
Centre estimate · not a score
An-Nahar 🇱🇧LB · newspaper · independent بن سلمان في القاهرة... باب المندب يدفع مصر والسعودية إلى تنسيق أوسع Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at An-Nahar → What we have measured Accused named the accused is named and his age is given ×1Accused named names the accused and gives his age ×1A contested finding relayed with the case still the prime minister's claim carried, with the court proceedings noted in the same sentence ×1Active voice and a toll in the background paragraph, the July strikes get named actors and counted dead — the only counted dead in this story ×1 from 10777 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The bias in this coverageBias

Who shut the pipeline

One report says Saudi Arabia shut its East-West pipeline, and another says it broke down after a drone attack. Two trace the attack to Iraq, and none names who carried it out. The attackers stay unnamed in all five reports.

An oil story with no oil figure

One headline says oil spiked, but none of the five reports gives a price, a volume of lost exports or a cost. Nobody who pays for the disruption is named or counted. Two of the five turn the story into a Saudi-Egyptian summit.

Scored without the mastheads. Where the two passes differ, both are kept.
Sources Al-Monitor
Centre estimate · not a score
Al-Monitor 🇺🇸US/ME · digital · independent Saudi running out of oil export options as Iran, allies choke routes Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al-Monitor → What we have measured Actor from anonymous officials Puts the IRGC at the trigger in a sentence sourc ×1Actor named Names the Director-General as the one who requested the dismissal ×1Actor named names Trump as the one who began the war, with Israel ×1Actor named names Israel as the actor in its military actions against the Palestinians ×1 from 1566 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
An-Nahar
Centre estimate · not a score
An-Nahar 🇱🇧LB · newspaper · independent بن سلمان في القاهرة... باب المندب يدفع مصر والسعودية إلى تنسيق أوسع Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at An-Nahar → What we have measured Accused named the accused is named and his age is given ×1Accused named names the accused and gives his age ×1A contested finding relayed with the case still the prime minister's claim carried, with the court proceedings noted in the same sentence ×1Active voice and a toll in the background paragraph, the July strikes get named actors and counted dead — the only counted dead in this story ×1 from 10777 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
France 24
Centre estimate · not a score
France 24 🇫🇷FR · public broadcaster · state-funded international Saudi crown prince seeks neighbours' backing as Houthi attacks rattle Red Sea oil routes Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at France 24 → What we have measured Actor label Hezbollah is identified by its backer. ×1Adversary left to inference the quote names independence but never who from; the report does not fill it in ×1Agency Uses active voice for both killings. The soldiers' account of the car-ramming is credited to the military, not stated as fact ×1A price without its measure above 100 dollars a barrel, with no benchmark named and no date for the comparison ×1 from 2849 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
France 24
Centre estimate · not a score
France 24 🇫🇷FR · public broadcaster · state-funded international First Hormuz, now the Red Sea? Oil spikes as Saudis sucked into Yemen spiral Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at France 24 → What we have measured Actor label Hezbollah is identified by its backer. ×1Adversary left to inference the quote names independence but never who from; the report does not fill it in ×1Agency Uses active voice for both killings. The soldiers' account of the car-ramming is credited to the military, not stated as fact ×1A price without its measure above 100 dollars a barrel, with no benchmark named and no date for the comparison ×1 from 2849 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The Independent
Centre-left estimate · not a score
The Independent 🇬🇧UK · digital · independent Saudi crown prince seeks Egypt’s backing as Houthi attacks rattle Red Sea oil routes Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Independent → What we have measured Accused party response Russia's side is reported as no comment. ×1A company statement about itself, taken as a "reveals" rather than "says", for a company's account of its own product ×1A count stated flat four crimes is given as a settled number in the headline, with no court, charge or jurisdiction attached ×1Actor named No actor named for the cut-short or for the clashes ×1 from 20313 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →

Claims and verdicts

true Saudi Arabia's East-West pipeline stopped carrying oil after attacks launched from Iraq.
Al-Monitor reports that the kingdom shut the pipeline last week after attacks originating in Iraq, and An-Nahar separately reports it was knocked out by a drone attack launched from Iraq. They differ on the wording: Al-Monitor says Saudi Arabia shut the line, while An-Nahar says the attack disabled it.
Checked against 2 sources:
Al-Monitor
Centre estimate · not a score
Al-Monitor 🇺🇸US/ME · digital · independent Saudi running out of oil export options as Iran, allies choke routes Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al-Monitor → What we have measured Actor from anonymous officials Puts the IRGC at the trigger in a sentence sourc ×1Actor named Names the Director-General as the one who requested the dismissal ×1Actor named names Trump as the one who began the war, with Israel ×1Actor named names Israel as the actor in its military actions against the Palestinians ×1 from 1566 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
An-Nahar
Centre estimate · not a score
An-Nahar 🇱🇧LB · newspaper · independent بن سلمان في القاهرة... باب المندب يدفع مصر والسعودية إلى تنسيق أوسع Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at An-Nahar → What we have measured Accused named the accused is named and his age is given ×1Accused named names the accused and gives his age ×1A contested finding relayed with the case still the prime minister's claim carried, with the court proceedings noted in the same sentence ×1Active voice and a toll in the background paragraph, the July strikes get named actors and counted dead — the only counted dead in this story ×1 from 10777 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
true Iran is restricting shipping through the Strait of Hormuz, one of Saudi Arabia's two main sea routes for oil.
An-Nahar says Iran is restricting navigation through Hormuz, and Al-Monitor describes Iran and its allies tightening a chokehold on both of the kingdom's main sea routes. France 24 separately describes access to the Gulf as all but shut; none of the reports gives tanker counts or volumes.
Checked against 3 sources:
An-Nahar
Centre estimate · not a score
An-Nahar 🇱🇧LB · newspaper · independent بن سلمان في القاهرة... باب المندب يدفع مصر والسعودية إلى تنسيق أوسع Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at An-Nahar → What we have measured Accused named the accused is named and his age is given ×1Accused named names the accused and gives his age ×1A contested finding relayed with the case still the prime minister's claim carried, with the court proceedings noted in the same sentence ×1Active voice and a toll in the background paragraph, the July strikes get named actors and counted dead — the only counted dead in this story ×1 from 10777 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al-Monitor
Centre estimate · not a score
Al-Monitor 🇺🇸US/ME · digital · independent Saudi running out of oil export options as Iran, allies choke routes Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al-Monitor → What we have measured Actor from anonymous officials Puts the IRGC at the trigger in a sentence sourc ×1Actor named Names the Director-General as the one who requested the dismissal ×1Actor named names Trump as the one who began the war, with Israel ×1Actor named names Israel as the actor in its military actions against the Palestinians ×1 from 1566 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
France 24
Centre estimate · not a score
France 24 🇫🇷FR · public broadcaster · state-funded international First Hormuz, now the Red Sea? Oil spikes as Saudis sucked into Yemen spiral Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at France 24 → What we have measured Actor label Hezbollah is identified by its backer. ×1Adversary left to inference the quote names independence but never who from; the report does not fill it in ×1Agency Uses active voice for both killings. The soldiers' account of the car-ramming is credited to the military, not stated as fact ×1A price without its measure above 100 dollars a barrel, with no benchmark named and no date for the comparison ×1 from 2849 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
unverified The Houthis have reached Perim (Mayun) island in the Bab al-Mandab strait.
Only An-Nahar reports that the Houthis extended their control along the western coast as far as Mayun island. France 24 and The Independent report Houthi attacks and control over the strait, but neither names the island.
Checked against 3 sources:
An-Nahar
Centre estimate · not a score
An-Nahar 🇱🇧LB · newspaper · independent بن سلمان في القاهرة... باب المندب يدفع مصر والسعودية إلى تنسيق أوسع Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at An-Nahar → What we have measured Accused named the accused is named and his age is given ×1Accused named names the accused and gives his age ×1A contested finding relayed with the case still the prime minister's claim carried, with the court proceedings noted in the same sentence ×1Active voice and a toll in the background paragraph, the July strikes get named actors and counted dead — the only counted dead in this story ×1 from 10777 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
France 24
Centre estimate · not a score
France 24 🇫🇷FR · public broadcaster · state-funded international Saudi crown prince seeks neighbours' backing as Houthi attacks rattle Red Sea oil routes Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at France 24 → What we have measured Actor label Hezbollah is identified by its backer. ×1Adversary left to inference the quote names independence but never who from; the report does not fill it in ×1Agency Uses active voice for both killings. The soldiers' account of the car-ramming is credited to the military, not stated as fact ×1A price without its measure above 100 dollars a barrel, with no benchmark named and no date for the comparison ×1 from 2849 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The Independent
Centre-left estimate · not a score
The Independent 🇬🇧UK · digital · independent Saudi crown prince seeks Egypt’s backing as Houthi attacks rattle Red Sea oil routes Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Independent → What we have measured Accused party response Russia's side is reported as no comment. ×1A company statement about itself, taken as a "reveals" rather than "says", for a company's account of its own product ×1A count stated flat four crimes is given as a settled number in the headline, with no court, charge or jurisdiction attached ×1Actor named No actor named for the cut-short or for the clashes ×1 from 20313 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →

Who wrote it

ا القاهرة - ياسر خليل An-Nahar
What the bias passes found in their reporting
Who is named as acting Here the pipeline 'broke down' after a drone attack from Iraq. The English-language lede says Saudi Arabia shut it. Neither names who launched the drones.×1
Who is named as acting pipeline 'disrupted' with no actor named; drones only 'launched from Iraq'×1
Whose voice is quoted The only outside voices are two Cairo analysts. No Saudi, Yemeni, shipping or oil-market voice is quoted.×1
Whose voice is quoted two analysts quoted, both based in Cairo; no Saudi, Yemeni or Iranian voice×1
Claims we checked that rest on their reporting
1 unverified2 true
From 18 reports we hold under this byline, at An-Nahar. Two independent readings, each made without the masthead, a quote attached to every tag. A record, never a rating. Their full record →
F François PICARD France 24
What the bias passes found in their reporting
Measure chosen oil price move with no figure, benchmark or period; Saudi Arabia shown only as acted upon×1
Where the story starts This is the only report that starts the chain with a US decision. The others start with the attacks on Saudi Arabia.×1
Claims we checked that rest on their reporting
1 true
From 68 reports we hold under this byline, at France 24, Le Figaro. Two independent readings, each made without the masthead, a quote attached to every tag. A record, never a rating. Their full record →
L Lee Keath The Independent
What the bias passes found in their reporting
How hard the claim is stated high×1
Label for the attackers Calls them 'rebels' and names no backer. A report filed 28 minutes later calls them 'the Iran-backed group'.×1
Stated flat attacks said to have increased, with no count or dates×1
Who is named as acting attributed to Iran×1
Claims we checked that rest on their reporting
1 disputed1 unverified
From 4 reports we hold under this byline, at The Independent, The Sydney Morning Herald, Associated Press. Two independent readings, each made without the masthead, a quote attached to every tag. A record, never a rating. Their full record →
The bylines on the reports this story is built from. Hover one for what our passes have measured on their reporting. · 2 reports we hold carry no byline — we do not invent one.

Coverage, outlet by outlet

An-Nahar
Centre estimate · not a score
An-Nahar 🇱🇧LB · newspaper · independent بن سلمان في القاهرة... باب المندب يدفع مصر والسعودية إلى تنسيق أوسع Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at An-Nahar → What we have measured Accused named the accused is named and his age is given ×1Accused named names the accused and gives his age ×1A contested finding relayed with the case still the prime minister's claim carried, with the court proceedings noted in the same sentence ×1Active voice and a toll in the background paragraph, the July strikes get named actors and counted dead — the only counted dead in this story ×1 from 10777 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— independent
The only report that names Mayun island and quotes the Egyptian presidency's statement. It also quotes two Cairo analysts, who expect Egypt to mediate rather than send troops.
جاءت زيارة ولي العهد السعودي الأمير محمد بن سلمان إلى القاهرة ولقاؤه الرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي في لحظة إقليمية تفرض على البلدين إعادة ترتيب أولويات التنسيق، مع انتقال الضغوط الأمنية إلى البحر الأحمر وباب المندب وتزايد التهديدات التي تطاول السعودية وممرات تصدير الطاقة.وعكس البيان الصادر عن الرئاسة المصرية حجم الحضور الأمني في المحادثات. فأكد السيسي أن أمن السعودية ودول الخليج جزء من الأمن القومي المصري، وأعلن دعم القاهرة للإجراءات التي تتخذها المملكة لحماية أمنها، فيما شدد الجانبان على ضرورة ضمان حرية وأمن الملاحة في مضيقي هرمز وباب المندب والبحر الأحمر.وتكتسب هذه المواقف أهمية إضافية مع
Who is named as acting: Here the pipeline 'broke down' after a drone attack from Iraq. The English-language lede says Saudi Arabia shut it. Neither names who launched the drones. — “تعطّل خط أنابيب شرق–غرب السعودي بعد هجوم بمسيّرات انطلقت من العراق”
Whose voice is quoted: The only outside voices are two Cairo analysts. No Saudi, Yemeni, shipping or oil-market voice is quoted. — “عضو المجلس المصري للشؤون الخارجية السفير أشرف حربي”
Who is named as acting: pipeline 'disrupted' with no actor named; drones only 'launched from Iraq' — “تعطّل خط أنابيب شرق–غرب السعودي بعد هجوم بمسيّرات انطلقت من العراق”
Whose voice is quoted: two analysts quoted, both based in Cairo; no Saudi, Yemeni or Iranian voice — “عضو المجلس المصري للشؤون الخارجية السفير أشرف حربي”
Read it at An-Nahar → https://www.annahar.com/arab-world/north-africa/347843/بن-سلمان-يزور-مص…
France 24
Centre estimate · not a score
France 24 🇫🇷FR · public broadcaster · state-funded international Saudi crown prince seeks neighbours' backing as Houthi attacks rattle Red Sea oil routes Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at France 24 → What we have measured Actor label Hezbollah is identified by its backer. ×1Adversary left to inference the quote names independence but never who from; the report does not fill it in ×1Agency Uses active voice for both killings. The soldiers' account of the car-ramming is credited to the military, not stated as fact ×1A price without its measure above 100 dollars a barrel, with no benchmark named and no date for the comparison ×1 from 2849 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— state-funded international
Says the kingdom vowed to respond 'firmly' to Houthi attacks, and that both leaders called for free navigation in the Red Sea.
Saudi Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman and Egyptian President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi called for free and secure navigation in the Red Sea during talks in Cairo on Tuesday, as the kingdom vowed to respond "firmly" to attacks by Yemen's Houthis. The two regional powers discussed the threat posed by the Iran-backed group's control over the Bab al-Mandab Strait. FRANCE 24's Emerald Maxwell has more.
Read it at France 24 → http://www.france24.com/en/saudi-crown-prince-seeks-neighbours-backing-…
France 24
Centre estimate · not a score
France 24 🇫🇷FR · public broadcaster · state-funded international First Hormuz, now the Red Sea? Oil spikes as Saudis sucked into Yemen spiral Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at France 24 → What we have measured Actor label Hezbollah is identified by its backer. ×1Adversary left to inference the quote names independence but never who from; the report does not fill it in ×1Agency Uses active voice for both killings. The soldiers' account of the car-ramming is credited to the military, not stated as fact ×1A price without its measure above 100 dollars a barrel, with no benchmark named and no date for the comparison ×1 from 2849 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— state-funded international
The only report that starts with Donald Trump's decision to strike Iran six months ago. Its headline says oil 'spikes' but gives no figure.
First, there was Donald Trump’s surprise decision to strike Iran. Then, came the quagmire of a war without an exit strategy. Now, six months later, with access to the Gulf all but shut… global shipping holding its breath over the other end of the Arabian Peninsula. Saudi Arabia drawn back into Yemen as Iran-backed Houthis threaten access to the Red Sea.
Where the story starts: This is the only report that starts the chain with a US decision. The others start with the attacks on Saudi Arabia. — “Donald Trump’s surprise decision to strike Iran”
Measure chosen: oil price move with no figure, benchmark or period; Saudi Arabia shown only as acted upon — “Oil spikes as Saudis sucked into Yemen spiral”
Read it at France 24 → http://www.france24.com/en/tv-shows/the-debate/20260915-first-hormuz-no…
Al-Monitor
Centre estimate · not a score
Al-Monitor 🇺🇸US/ME · digital · independent Saudi running out of oil export options as Iran, allies choke routes Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al-Monitor → What we have measured Actor from anonymous officials Puts the IRGC at the trigger in a sentence sourc ×1Actor named Names the Director-General as the one who requested the dismissal ×1Actor named names Trump as the one who began the war, with Israel ×1Actor named names Israel as the actor in its military actions against the Palestinians ×1 from 1566 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— independent
The only report that gives the pipeline's length and route, and says Saudi Arabia is 'running out of options'. It credits that to unnamed analysts.
Saudi running out of oil export options as Iran, allies choke routes Sofiane ALSAAR Sep 15, 2026 Add AL-MONITOR on Google Crucial Saudi oil pipeline closed by drone attack — Patricio ARANA Saudi Arabia is running out of options to export its vast oil reserves as attacks force its main pipeline shut while Iran and its allies cement their chokehold on the kingdom's two main maritime routes, analysts say. The world's top oil exporter last week shut its East-West pipeline, which runs some 1,200 kilometres (700 miles) between its main oil fields in the east and the Yanbu terminal on the Red Sea, af
Who is named as acting: The attackers are not named. The attack is placed by country and by who lives there, not by who carried it out. — “after attacks on its oil facilities originating in Iraq, home to pro-Iran armed groups”
Asserted vs attributed: The headline says flatly that Iran and its allies choke the routes. The body gives the same claim to unnamed analysts. — “analysts say”
Who is named as acting: attack on the pipeline given a place of origin, no attacker named — “after attacks on its oil facilities originating in Iraq, home to pro-Iran armed groups”
Headline vs body: headline states Iran's chokehold flat; the body attributes it to unnamed analysts — “cement their chokehold on the kingdom's two main maritime routes, analysts say”
Read it at Al-Monitor → https://www.al-monitor.com/originals/2026/09/saudi-running-out-oil-expo…
The Independent
Centre-left estimate · not a score
The Independent 🇬🇧UK · digital · independent Saudi crown prince seeks Egypt’s backing as Houthi attacks rattle Red Sea oil routes Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at The Independent → What we have measured Accused party response Russia's side is reported as no comment. ×1A company statement about itself, taken as a "reveals" rather than "says", for a company's account of its own product ×1A count stated flat four crimes is given as a settled number in the headline, with no court, charge or jurisdiction attached ×1Actor named No actor named for the cut-short or for the clashes ×1 from 20313 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— independent
The earliest report we hold. It calls the Houthis 'rebels' and says their attacks on the kingdom have 'increased', but gives no count.
News Saudi crown prince seeks Egypt’s backing as Houthi attacks rattle Red Sea oil routes Saudi Arabia’s crown prince is seeking back from the president of Egypt, his ally across the Red Sea, as the kingdom faces increased attacks by Yemen’s Houthi rebels Lee Keath, Fatma Khaled & Samy MagdyTuesday 15 September 2026 19:09 BST Bookmark Bookmark popover Removed from bookmarks Close popover Saudi crown prince seeks Egypt’s backing as Houthi attacks rattle Red Sea oil routes Show all 5 Your support helps us to tell the story Read more Support Now From reproductive rights to climate change to Big T
Label for the attackers: Calls them 'rebels' and names no backer. A report filed 28 minutes later calls them 'the Iran-backed group'. — “Yemen’s Houthi rebels”
Stated flat: attacks said to have increased, with no count or dates — “the kingdom faces increased attacks by Yemen’s Houthi rebels”
Read it at The Independent → https://www.independent.co.uk/news/yemen-egypt-red-sea-mohammed-bin-sal…

Sign in to The AI Times

Everything is free while we are building it. Signing in is how comments, likes and your reading stay yours.

Continue with Google

Sign-in is coming soon.

By continuing you agree to be a reader of a paper that shows its working.

×