The AI Times
Economy
Read another desk
All Geopolitics & international affairsEconomyUnited StatesAnglosphereEuropeRussia & EurasiaLevant & Iran Gulf & Türkiye North Africa Africa South Asia East Asia Latin America Energy Technology Media Watch
Sections
News Panel Outlets Headlines Analysis & editorial coming soon
Who we are Alerts Pricing Sign in / up
Desks
All Geopolitics & international affairsEconomyUnited StatesAnglosphereEuropeRussia & EurasiaLevant & Iran Gulf & Türkiye North Africa Africa South Asia East Asia Latin America Energy Technology Media Watch
The AI Times
every claim sourced| every source shown| always on watch

Houthis say 28 Saudi strikes in a day; Riyadh confirms one missile

Six reports filed within an hour of each other on Sunday. Two numbers, each from a party to the fight. Nobody counted the people.

الحوثيون يتهمون السعودية بشنّ 28 غارة على اليمن خلال الساعات الأربع والعشرين الأخيرة
الحوثيون يتهمون السعودية بشنّ 28 غارة على اليمن خلال الساعات الأربع والعشرين الأخيرة as published by LBCI (Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International) · seen at LBCI (Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International)
Economy Yemen Saudi Arabia

The figure. LBCI and Le Figaro both carry the Houthis accusing Saudi Arabia of 28 air strikes across Yemen in the 24 hours to Sunday. Both attribute it to the Houthis. Neither adds a Saudi response or an independent count.

The confirmation. Público is the only report saying Saudi Arabia itself confirmed that a Houthi ballistic missile struck Riyadh. taz and LBCI treat the attack on Riyadh as having happened, but name nobody confirming it.

Outlet What it says happened Who says so
Le Figaro 28 Saudi strikes in 24 hours the Houthis
LBCI 28 strikes, carried as an accusation the Houthis
Público a ballistic missile struck Riyadh Saudi Arabia
taz the attack on Riyadh took place nobody named
Al Jazeera English more attacks on the kingdom are threatened the Houthis
Dagens Nyheter the Houthis control Bab el-Mandeb nobody named

The strait. Dagens Nyheter, in an opinion piece by two academics, says Houthi rebels took control of the Bab el-Mandeb strait last week — control, not attacks. No other report we hold mentions the strait at all.

Not settled. Whether the 28 strikes happened. Whether the strait is held. Whether Washington still stands behind Riyadh: Público writes that Saudi Arabia appears unable to count on its ally of decades, while taz asks the question and leaves it open. And who was hurt — not one of the six reports names or counts a single person killed or injured on either side.

What this is about. An armed group that holds much of Yemen and the government of Saudi Arabia are striking each other, and the fighting sits on top of one of the world's busiest shipping lanes.

How it got here. The Houthis, formally Ansar Allah, are a movement from northern Yemen. They seized the capital, Sanaa, in September 2014 and forced out the internationally recognised government. In March 2015 Saudi Arabia assembled a coalition and began an air campaign to restore it; the Houthis fired missiles and drones back across the border. The war ground on for years, and a UN-brokered truce in April 2022 slowed it without ending it. From late 2023, during the war in Gaza, the Houthis began attacking merchant ships in the Red Sea and firing at Israel, saying they acted in support of Palestinians. Shipping lines rerouted around southern Africa; freight and insurance costs rose. Sunday's reports describe the Saudi–Houthi exchange running again: strikes on Yemen, a missile on the Saudi capital.

Who is in it. The Houthis hold Sanaa and Yemen's Red Sea coast, including the Yemeni shore of Bab el-Mandeb. Saudi Arabia is the neighbouring monarchy and one of the world's largest oil exporters; Riyadh is its capital. The United States has been Saudi Arabia's security partner for decades, and two of these reports turn on whether that still holds. Bab el-Mandeb itself is the narrow southern gate of the Red Sea, between Yemen and the Horn of Africa, and the only way from the Indian Ocean into the Suez Canal.

What is at stake. If the strait is unusable, Asia–Europe cargo goes the long way round Africa and every freight rate follows. If Saudi oil facilities are hit, crude prices move.

Where it stands. One side's strike count, the other side's missile, and no casualty figure from anyone.

What is being argued about

  • Whether Saudi Arabia struck Yemen 28 times in a day, and who counted
  • Whether the Houthis now control the Bab el-Mandeb strait or only threaten it
  • Whether the United States still stands behind Saudi Arabia
  • Who is named as acting in each report, and who is only acted upon
Six reports, one event, three different things assertedSide by side
OutletWhat it says happenedWhose accountAttributed in the text?
Le Figaro28 Saudi strikes in 24 hoursthe HouthisYes — in the headline
LBCI28 raids across several areas of Yementhe HouthisYes — as an accusation
Públicoa Houthi ballistic missile struck RiyadhSaudi ArabiaYes — as a confirmation
tazthe attack on Riyadh is the peak of the escalationnobody namedNo
Al Jazeera Englishthe Houthis warn of further attacks on the kingdomthe HouthisYes
Dagens Nyheterthe Houthis took control of Bab el-Mandeb last weeknobody namedNo
Columns are what each report states and whose account it rests on, taken from the published headline and lede.
Sources LBCI (Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International)
Centre estimate · not a score
LBCI (Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International) 🇱🇧LB · TV/radio · independent الحوثيون يتهمون السعودية بشنّ 28 غارة على اليمن خلال الساعات الأربع والعشرين الأخيرة Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at LBCI (Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International) → What we have measured Active voice, actor named the Israeli army carried out the detonation ×1Actor framing Tehran calls the meeting. Iraq is the only other state named. ×1Actor left unnamed the strike in Iraqi waters has no one named as firing it — the source is "unknown" ×1Actor named names Israel as the one striking ×1 from 8159 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Le Figaro
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Le Figaro 🇫🇷FR · newspaper · independent Yémen : les Houthis font état de 28 frappes saoudiennes ces dernières 24 heures Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Le Figaro → What we have measured Asserted, not attributed the capture of the strait and a "lightning offensive" are stated flat, with no source and no date ×1Asserted vs attributed The mayor's account and his opponents' charge are both attributed. ×1Asserted vs attributed The capture of the strait is stated flat, as settled background to a different story, with no source and no date for the claim. ×1Attacker identified by nationality in the headline ×1 from 7685 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
P Público
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Público 🇵🇹PT · newspaper · independent Arábia Saudita confirma que houthis atacaram Riad com um míssil balístico Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Público → What we have measured Anyone hurt The only report carrying casualties gives a count and no names ×1Asserted or attributed the Saudi account arrives as a confirmation, not a claim ×1Casualties stated flat, unnamed the same two deaths are stated without source and without who killed them ×1Flat context The same Iran link is stated flat, with no source ×1 from 3295 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
t taz
Left estimate · not a score
taz 🇩🇪DE · digital · Konflikt zwischen Saudis und Huthis: Saudi-Arabien blickt sich hilfesuchend um Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at taz → What we have measured Actor named names both coalition parties as the sides of the conflict ×1Actor named Makes the Constitutional Court the actor that overturned the Supreme Court's argument. ×1With no actor named critics The pressure comes from 'the internet', with no critic named. ×1Asserted in the outlet's voice a motive assigned to an entire electorate, no source and no evidence ×1 from 2718 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al Jazeera English
Centre estimate · not a score
Al Jazeera English 🇶🇦QA · TV/radio · state-funded international How will Saudi Arabia deal with the Houthis? Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al Jazeera English → What we have measured Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1 from 4959 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Dagens Nyheter
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Dagens Nyheter 🇸🇪SE · newspaper · independent DN Debatt. ”Röda havet är så mycket mer än bara pirater” Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Dagens Nyheter → What we have measured Accused label flat accused is labelled far-right without attribution, and not named ×1Affected counted Only report to count the residents affected ×1Asserted or attributed the majority stated flat, with nobody credited for the count ×1Asserted or attributed the demand is written as the report's own flat sentence before it is attributed to anyone ×1 from 3487 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
What the six reports carryChart
Counted across the six reports we hold on this event, cited and uncited alike.
Sources LBCI (Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International)
Centre estimate · not a score
LBCI (Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International) 🇱🇧LB · TV/radio · independent الحوثيون يتهمون السعودية بشنّ 28 غارة على اليمن خلال الساعات الأربع والعشرين الأخيرة Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at LBCI (Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International) → What we have measured Active voice, actor named the Israeli army carried out the detonation ×1Actor framing Tehran calls the meeting. Iraq is the only other state named. ×1Actor left unnamed the strike in Iraqi waters has no one named as firing it — the source is "unknown" ×1Actor named names Israel as the one striking ×1 from 8159 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Le Figaro
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Le Figaro 🇫🇷FR · newspaper · independent Yémen : les Houthis font état de 28 frappes saoudiennes ces dernières 24 heures Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Le Figaro → What we have measured Asserted, not attributed the capture of the strait and a "lightning offensive" are stated flat, with no source and no date ×1Asserted vs attributed The mayor's account and his opponents' charge are both attributed. ×1Asserted vs attributed The capture of the strait is stated flat, as settled background to a different story, with no source and no date for the claim. ×1Attacker identified by nationality in the headline ×1 from 7685 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
P Público
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Público 🇵🇹PT · newspaper · independent Arábia Saudita confirma que houthis atacaram Riad com um míssil balístico Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Público → What we have measured Anyone hurt The only report carrying casualties gives a count and no names ×1Asserted or attributed the Saudi account arrives as a confirmation, not a claim ×1Casualties stated flat, unnamed the same two deaths are stated without source and without who killed them ×1Flat context The same Iran link is stated flat, with no source ×1 from 3295 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
t taz
Left estimate · not a score
taz 🇩🇪DE · digital · Konflikt zwischen Saudis und Huthis: Saudi-Arabien blickt sich hilfesuchend um Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at taz → What we have measured Actor named names both coalition parties as the sides of the conflict ×1Actor named Makes the Constitutional Court the actor that overturned the Supreme Court's argument. ×1With no actor named critics The pressure comes from 'the internet', with no critic named. ×1Asserted in the outlet's voice a motive assigned to an entire electorate, no source and no evidence ×1 from 2718 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al Jazeera English
Centre estimate · not a score
Al Jazeera English 🇶🇦QA · TV/radio · state-funded international How will Saudi Arabia deal with the Houthis? Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al Jazeera English → What we have measured Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1 from 4959 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Dagens Nyheter
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Dagens Nyheter 🇸🇪SE · newspaper · independent DN Debatt. ”Röda havet är så mycket mer än bara pirater” Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Dagens Nyheter → What we have measured Accused label flat accused is labelled far-right without attribution, and not named ×1Affected counted Only report to count the residents affected ×1Asserted or attributed the majority stated flat, with nobody credited for the count ×1Asserted or attributed the demand is written as the report's own flat sentence before it is attributed to anyone ×1 from 3487 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The bias in this coverageBias

Twenty-eight strikes, one missile, nobody hurt on the page

Two reports carry the figure of 28 strikes and both hang it on the Houthis' own account. One report states the missile on Riyadh as confirmed, because the country hit confirmed it. Not one of the six reports names or counts a single person killed or injured on either side.

6 reports in the story 2 reports carrying the figure of 28 strikes 0 reports naming or counting anyone hurt 0 reports quoting a Yemeni civilian

Four words for the same fighters

Across six reports the same armed group is "the rebels", a "militia", "rebels" again and, once, a neutral "Yemeni group". The other party is "Saudi Arabia" or "the kingdom" in every report, with no comparable label. The choice travels with the sentence: where the Houthis are the militia, the attack on Riyadh has no actor at all.

4 different words used for the Houthis 0 labels attached to the Saudi side 1 reports that state the strait was taken as fact
Scored without the mastheads. Where the two passes differ, both are kept.
Sources LBCI (Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International)
Centre estimate · not a score
LBCI (Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International) 🇱🇧LB · TV/radio · independent الحوثيون يتهمون السعودية بشنّ 28 غارة على اليمن خلال الساعات الأربع والعشرين الأخيرة Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at LBCI (Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International) → What we have measured Active voice, actor named the Israeli army carried out the detonation ×1Actor framing Tehran calls the meeting. Iraq is the only other state named. ×1Actor left unnamed the strike in Iraqi waters has no one named as firing it — the source is "unknown" ×1Actor named names Israel as the one striking ×1 from 8159 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Le Figaro
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Le Figaro 🇫🇷FR · newspaper · independent Yémen : les Houthis font état de 28 frappes saoudiennes ces dernières 24 heures Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Le Figaro → What we have measured Asserted, not attributed the capture of the strait and a "lightning offensive" are stated flat, with no source and no date ×1Asserted vs attributed The mayor's account and his opponents' charge are both attributed. ×1Asserted vs attributed The capture of the strait is stated flat, as settled background to a different story, with no source and no date for the claim. ×1Attacker identified by nationality in the headline ×1 from 7685 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
P Público
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Público 🇵🇹PT · newspaper · independent Arábia Saudita confirma que houthis atacaram Riad com um míssil balístico Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Público → What we have measured Anyone hurt The only report carrying casualties gives a count and no names ×1Asserted or attributed the Saudi account arrives as a confirmation, not a claim ×1Casualties stated flat, unnamed the same two deaths are stated without source and without who killed them ×1Flat context The same Iran link is stated flat, with no source ×1 from 3295 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
t taz
Left estimate · not a score
taz 🇩🇪DE · digital · Konflikt zwischen Saudis und Huthis: Saudi-Arabien blickt sich hilfesuchend um Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at taz → What we have measured Actor named names both coalition parties as the sides of the conflict ×1Actor named Makes the Constitutional Court the actor that overturned the Supreme Court's argument. ×1With no actor named critics The pressure comes from 'the internet', with no critic named. ×1Asserted in the outlet's voice a motive assigned to an entire electorate, no source and no evidence ×1 from 2718 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al Jazeera English
Centre estimate · not a score
Al Jazeera English 🇶🇦QA · TV/radio · state-funded international How will Saudi Arabia deal with the Houthis? Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al Jazeera English → What we have measured Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1 from 4959 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Dagens Nyheter
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Dagens Nyheter 🇸🇪SE · newspaper · independent DN Debatt. ”Röda havet är så mycket mer än bara pirater” Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Dagens Nyheter → What we have measured Accused label flat accused is labelled far-right without attribution, and not named ×1Affected counted Only report to count the residents affected ×1Asserted or attributed the majority stated flat, with nobody credited for the count ×1Asserted or attributed the demand is written as the report's own flat sentence before it is attributed to anyone ×1 from 3487 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →

Claims and verdicts

unverified Saudi Arabia carried out 28 air strikes on Yemen in the 24 hours to Sunday.
LBCI and Le Figaro both carry the figure as a Houthi accusation, and neither adds a Saudi response or independent count. No report we hold confirms or contradicts the number, so it rests on one side's account.
Checked against 2 sources:
LBCI (Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International)
Centre estimate · not a score
LBCI (Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International) 🇱🇧LB · TV/radio · independent الحوثيون يتهمون السعودية بشنّ 28 غارة على اليمن خلال الساعات الأربع والعشرين الأخيرة Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at LBCI (Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International) → What we have measured Active voice, actor named the Israeli army carried out the detonation ×1Actor framing Tehran calls the meeting. Iraq is the only other state named. ×1Actor left unnamed the strike in Iraqi waters has no one named as firing it — the source is "unknown" ×1Actor named names Israel as the one striking ×1 from 8159 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Le Figaro
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Le Figaro 🇫🇷FR · newspaper · independent Yémen : les Houthis font état de 28 frappes saoudiennes ces dernières 24 heures Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Le Figaro → What we have measured Asserted, not attributed the capture of the strait and a "lightning offensive" are stated flat, with no source and no date ×1Asserted vs attributed The mayor's account and his opponents' charge are both attributed. ×1Asserted vs attributed The capture of the strait is stated flat, as settled background to a different story, with no source and no date for the claim. ×1Attacker identified by nationality in the headline ×1 from 7685 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
unverified Saudi Arabia confirmed that the Houthis struck Riyadh with a ballistic missile.
Público is the only report we hold that attributes the confirmation to Riyadh; taz and LBCI treat an attack on Riyadh as having happened but name no confirming source. Nothing we hold contradicts it.
Checked against 3 sources:
P Público
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Público 🇵🇹PT · newspaper · independent Arábia Saudita confirma que houthis atacaram Riad com um míssil balístico Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Público → What we have measured Anyone hurt The only report carrying casualties gives a count and no names ×1Asserted or attributed the Saudi account arrives as a confirmation, not a claim ×1Casualties stated flat, unnamed the same two deaths are stated without source and without who killed them ×1Flat context The same Iran link is stated flat, with no source ×1 from 3295 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
t taz
Left estimate · not a score
taz 🇩🇪DE · digital · Konflikt zwischen Saudis und Huthis: Saudi-Arabien blickt sich hilfesuchend um Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at taz → What we have measured Actor named names both coalition parties as the sides of the conflict ×1Actor named Makes the Constitutional Court the actor that overturned the Supreme Court's argument. ×1With no actor named critics The pressure comes from 'the internet', with no critic named. ×1Asserted in the outlet's voice a motive assigned to an entire electorate, no source and no evidence ×1 from 2718 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
LBCI (Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International)
Centre estimate · not a score
LBCI (Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International) 🇱🇧LB · TV/radio · independent الحوثيون يتهمون السعودية بشنّ 28 غارة على اليمن خلال الساعات الأربع والعشرين الأخيرة Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at LBCI (Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International) → What we have measured Active voice, actor named the Israeli army carried out the detonation ×1Actor framing Tehran calls the meeting. Iraq is the only other state named. ×1Actor left unnamed the strike in Iraqi waters has no one named as firing it — the source is "unknown" ×1Actor named names Israel as the one striking ×1 from 8159 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
unverified Houthi forces took control of the Bab el-Mandeb strait last week.
The only report carrying this is a Dagens Nyheter opinion piece by two outside academics, which states it without a source. No other report we hold mentions control of the strait.
Checked against 1 source:
Dagens Nyheter
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Dagens Nyheter 🇸🇪SE · newspaper · independent DN Debatt. ”Röda havet är så mycket mer än bara pirater” Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Dagens Nyheter → What we have measured Accused label flat accused is labelled far-right without attribution, and not named ×1Affected counted Only report to count the residents affected ×1Asserted or attributed the majority stated flat, with nobody credited for the count ×1Asserted or attributed the demand is written as the report's own flat sentence before it is attributed to anyone ×1 from 3487 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →

Who wrote it

L Le Figaro avec AFP Le Figaro
What the bias passes found in their reporting
Asserted, not attributed the capture of the strait and a "lightning offensive" are stated flat, with no source and no date×1
Asserted vs attributed The capture of the strait is stated flat, as settled background to a different story, with no source and no date for the claim.×1
Attacker identified by nationality in the headline; the other two reports do not give it×1
Attacker identified by nationality in the headline×1
Claims we checked that rest on their reporting
4 misleading8 disputed27 unverified22 true
From 3015 reports we hold under this byline, at Le Figaro. Two independent readings, each made without the masthead, a quote attached to every tag. A record, never a rating. Their full record →
K Karim El-Gawhary taz
What the bias passes found in their reporting
No actor named the attack on Riyadh is an event with nobody performing it; one side is a "militia"×1
Who is named as acting the attack on Riyadh has no actor named in the sentence×1
Claims we checked that rest on their reporting
1 unverified
From 4 reports we hold under this byline, at taz. Two independent readings, each made without the masthead, a quote attached to every tag. A record, never a rating. Their full record →
The bylines on the reports this story is built from. Hover one for what our passes have measured on their reporting. · 4 reports we hold carry no byline — we do not invent one.

Coverage, outlet by outlet

LBCI (Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International)
Centre estimate · not a score
LBCI (Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International) 🇱🇧LB · TV/radio · independent الحوثيون يتهمون السعودية بشنّ 28 غارة على اليمن خلال الساعات الأربع والعشرين الأخيرة Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at LBCI (Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International) → What we have measured Active voice, actor named the Israeli army carried out the detonation ×1Actor framing Tehran calls the meeting. Iraq is the only other state named. ×1Actor left unnamed the strike in Iraqi waters has no one named as firing it — the source is "unknown" ×1Actor named names Israel as the one striking ×1 from 8159 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— independent
The only report that makes the figure an accusation in its verb — the Houthis accused Saudi Arabia of 28 new raids — and it calls the fighters "the rebels" in its own voice.
اتهم الحوثيون السعودية الأحد بشنّ 28 غارة جديدة على مناطق عدة في اليمن، غداة استهداف المتمردين...
What one side is called: the fighters are "the rebels" in the report's own voice — “غداة استهداف المتمردين”
Asserted or attributed: the strike figure is attributed, and the verb is an accusation — “اتهم الحوثيون السعودية الأحد بشنّ 28 غارة جديدة على مناطق عدة في اليمن”
Read it at LBCI (Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International) → https://www.lbcgroup.tv/news/world/958784/title/ar?src=rss&utm_source=T…
Al Jazeera English
Centre estimate · not a score
Al Jazeera English 🇶🇦QA · TV/radio · state-funded international How will Saudi Arabia deal with the Houthis? Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Al Jazeera English → What we have measured Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1 from 4959 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— state-funded international
The only report carrying a Houthi warning of further attacks on the kingdom; it carries no strike figure at all.
For the first time since a ceasefire in 2022, the Houthis fired missiles towards the capital, Riyadh. The Iran-backed group says it will respond to any escalation with an escalation of its own. The stand-off highlights the historic enmity between the two sides. But it also risks dragging the wider region into conflict. What will it take to stop the attacks? Nawaf Obaid – senior research fellow at King’s College London and former adviser to the Saudi government Muhanad Seloom – non-resident senior fellow at the Middle East Council on Global Affairs Ibrahim Jalal – Yemeni affairs analyst who spe
Warning carried flat: a threat of further attacks is passed on with no response from anyone it threatens — “Yemeni group warns of further attacks on the kingdom.”
Who is named as acting: the Houthis act, the kingdom is acted upon; no strike figure carried — “Yemeni group warns of further attacks on the kingdom.”
Read it at Al Jazeera English → https://www.aljazeera.com/video/inside-story/2026/9/20/how-will-saudi-a…
Le Figaro
Centre-right estimate · not a score
Le Figaro 🇫🇷FR · newspaper · independent Yémen : les Houthis font état de 28 frappes saoudiennes ces dernières 24 heures Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Le Figaro → What we have measured Asserted, not attributed the capture of the strait and a "lightning offensive" are stated flat, with no source and no date ×1Asserted vs attributed The mayor's account and his opponents' charge are both attributed. ×1Asserted vs attributed The capture of the strait is stated flat, as settled background to a different story, with no source and no date for the claim. ×1Attacker identified by nationality in the headline ×1 from 7685 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— independent
Puts the 28-strike figure in the headline and attributes it there: the Houthis "font état de" 28 Saudi strikes in the last 24 hours.
Les Houthis du Yémen ont fait état dimanche de nouvelles frappes saoudiennes dans plusieurs régions du pays, au lendemain d'attaques du mouvement pro-iranien contre le royaume, visant notamment la capitale. «L'armée de l'air saoudienne a mené 28 frappes visant les gouvernorats de Taëz, Al-Jawf et Marib, à l'aide d'appareils F-15 et Typhoon ayant décollé des bases aériennes de Khamis Mushait et de Taëf», a déclaré le porte-parole militaire des combattants, Yahya Saree, dans un communiqué. Sous pression, l'Arabie saoudite bombarde quotidiennement les zones contrôlées par les combattants au Yémen
Figure attributed, not stated: the 28 strikes are carried as the Houthis' account in the headline — “les Houthis font état de 28 frappes saoudiennes ces dernières 24 heures”
What is counted: strikes counted in a 24-hour window; no person counted or named — “Yémen : les Houthis font état de 28 frappes saoudiennes ces dernières 24 heures”
Read it at Le Figaro → https://www.lefigaro.fr/flash-actu/yemen-les-houthis-font-etat-de-28-fr…
t taz
Left estimate · not a score
taz 🇩🇪DE · digital · Konflikt zwischen Saudis und Huthis: Saudi-Arabien blickt sich hilfesuchend um Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at taz → What we have measured Actor named names both coalition parties as the sides of the conflict ×1Actor named Makes the Constitutional Court the actor that overturned the Supreme Court's argument. ×1With no actor named critics The pressure comes from 'the internet', with no critic named. ×1Asserted in the outlet's voice a motive assigned to an entire electorate, no source and no evidence ×1 from 2718 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
—
Asks whether Saudi Arabia can expect international support, and writes the attack on Riyadh as an event with nobody performing it.
Die letzte Woche stellte so etwas wie den wahr gewordenen saudischen Albtraum dar. Vorläufiger Höhepunkt der Eskalation zwischen der Huthi-Miliz im Jemen und Saudi-Arabien war ein Raketen- und Drohnenangriff auf die saudische Hauptstadt Riad und ihren Flughafen am Samstag. Mehrere Raketen wurden auch an anderen Orten des Landes abgefangen, hieß es von amtlicher saudischer Seite. Angaben über die Zahl der Angriffe oder die Schäden wurden nicht gemacht. Der Angriff auf den Flughafen, der ein Treibstofflager getroffen hat, aber keinen großen Schaden anrichtete, dürfte vor allem psychologische Zie
No actor named: the attack on Riyadh is an event with nobody performing it; one side is a "militia" — “Der Angriff auf Riad markiert den Höhepunkt der Eskalation zwischen der Huthi-Miliz und den Saudis.”
Who is named as acting: the attack on Riyadh has no actor named in the sentence — “Der Angriff auf Riad markiert den Höhepunkt der Eskalation zwischen der Huthi-Miliz und den Saudis.”
Read it at taz → https://taz.de/Konflikt-zwischen-Saudis-und-Huthis/!6214749/
Dagens Nyheter
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Dagens Nyheter 🇸🇪SE · newspaper · independent DN Debatt. ”Röda havet är så mycket mer än bara pirater” Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Dagens Nyheter → What we have measured Accused label flat accused is labelled far-right without attribution, and not named ×1Affected counted Only report to count the residents affected ×1Asserted or attributed the majority stated flat, with nobody credited for the count ×1Asserted or attributed the demand is written as the report's own flat sentence before it is attributed to anyone ×1 from 3487 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— independent
An opinion piece by two academics — the only report to say the Houthis took control of the strait, and the only one to size that strait by what it means to Europe.
DN DEBATT. Röda havsregionen är ett av världens mest instabila områden, ett geopolitiskt slagfält med konflikter som bubblar åt alla håll. Förra veckan tog huthirebeller kontroll över Bab el-Mandeb-sundet, en ekonomisk genomfartsled av större betydelse för Europa än Persiska viken. Ändå underskattar vi riskerna, skriver Afrikaexperterna Fredrik Meiton och Lisa Boström.
Whose cost is measured: the strait is sized by what it means to Europe, not to Yemen or shipping crews — “en ekonomisk genomfartsled av större betydelse för Europa än Persiska viken”
Whose interest frames it: the sea lane is measured by what it means to Europe — “en ekonomisk genomfartsled av större betydelse för Europa än Persiska viken”
Read it at Dagens Nyheter → https://www.dn.se/debatt/roda-havet-ar-sa-mycket-mer-an-bara-pirater/
P Público
Centre-left estimate · not a score
Público 🇵🇹PT · newspaper · independent Arábia Saudita confirma que houthis atacaram Riad com um míssil balístico Open this report in The AI Times → Read it at Público → What we have measured Anyone hurt The only report carrying casualties gives a count and no names ×1Asserted or attributed the Saudi account arrives as a confirmation, not a claim ×1Casualties stated flat, unnamed the same two deaths are stated without source and without who killed them ×1Flat context The same Iran link is stated flat, with no source ×1 from 3295 articles we hold · quote attached Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— independent
The only report attributing the Riyadh missile to a Saudi confirmation, and the only one to write that Saudi Arabia appears unable to count on the United States.
Avanços dos houthis no mar Vermelho agravam preocupações sobre uma possível nova frente de guerra. Arábia Saudita parece não poder contar com o seu aliado de décadas, os Estados Unidos.
Whose confirmation stands: the missile is stated because the target confirmed it; the 28 strikes are absent — “Arábia Saudita confirma que houthis atacaram Riad com um míssil balístico”
Asserted or attributed: the Saudi account arrives as a confirmation, not a claim — “Arábia Saudita confirma que houthis atacaram Riad com um míssil balístico”
Read it at Público → https://www.publico.pt/2026/09/20/mundo/noticia/arabia-saudita-confirma…

Sign in to The AI Times

Everything is free while we are building it. Signing in is how comments, likes and your reading stay yours.

Continue with Google

Sign-in is coming soon.

By continuing you agree to be a reader of a paper that shows its working.

×