Al Jazeera reports a 'divine triumph', Al-Monitor 'a new bind' for Trump, Asharq Al-Awsat thousands fleeing
The Houthis reached Bab al-Mandeb and took Mayyun. Thirteen reports on the same advance: four name the force by its Iranian patron, one counts the displaced, none counts the dead.
What four reports carry. Asharq Al-Awsat reports the Houthis took wide areas of Dhubab district, overlooking Bab al-Mandeb, plus Mayyun Island, the Hanish islands and Zuqar — a day after Mokha and its port. Al Jazeera reports the same coast taken, and asks whether the group can hold it. Haaretz reports the island's capture, and Saudi Arabia shutting its East-West oil pipeline after a drone attack.
The same advance, three stories.
| Outlet | Calls the force | Leads with |
|---|---|---|
| Asharq Al-Awsat | "The Iran-backed Houthi group" | raids, arrests, families fleeing western Taiz and southern Hodeidah |
| Al Jazeera English | "Iran-aligned Houthis" | the celebration, and Iranian officials calling it a "divine triumph" |
| Al-Monitor, from Reuters | "the militants" | "a major new problem" for Donald Trump |
| IRNA | the jailers are "forces affiliated with Saudi Arabia" | dozens of prisoners reaching Sanaa |
One counted number. UN News gives at least 46,000 people displaced since fighting resumed last week, attributed to the International Organization for Migration. It is the only figure in these 13 reports that is both counted and sourced.
Not settled. No report we hold gives a death toll for either side, and none names anyone killed. The strikes at Mokha rest on one source, the armed forces spokesman Colonel Majed al-Nazili — no Houthi account, no independent one. Sanaa hospitals told to limit admissions appears in Asharq Al-Awsat alone; the Saudi crown prince's refused request to Trump, in JNS alone. No resident of the towns taken is quoted by name.
What this is about. Yemen's Houthi movement has taken the country's Red Sea coast down to Bab al-Mandeb, the strait that controls one of the world's main shipping lanes. It did so while the United States is at war with Iran, the Houthis' main foreign backer.
How it got here. - 2014–15: The Houthis, a Zaydi Shia movement from Yemen's north that calls itself Ansar Allah, took the capital, Sanaa, in September 2014. In March 2015 a coalition led by Saudi Arabia went to war to restore the government the UN recognises. - 2015–22: The war split Yemen in two. The Houthis held Sanaa and most of the north. The recognised government and its allies held the south and much of the west coast, including Mokha. A UN-brokered truce in April 2022 largely stopped the big offensives. The same month, a Presidential Leadership Council took over at the head of the government. - 2023–24: After the Gaza war began in October 2023, the Houthis attacked ships in the Red Sea and said they were acting for Gaza. The US and Britain struck Houthi targets from January 2024. - 2026: Reuters, carried by Al-Monitor, describes Trump's war with Iran as in "its seventh month". The IOM, quoted by UN News, dates fresh fighting between the Houthis and pro-government forces in the south-west to the week before 11 September.
Who is involved, and why. - The Houthis: they want all of Yemen, and their attacks on shipping give them leverage. - The recognised government and allied forces, among them the Giants Brigades: they held this coast. - Saudi Arabia: it leads the coalition and shares a long border with the Houthis. - Iran: it backs the Houthis. How far it arms or directs them is disputed, and Tehran has denied directing them. - The United States: it is already at war with Iran and has struck the Houthis before.
What is at stake. Ships pass through Bab al-Mandeb on the way between the Suez Canal and the Indian Ocean. A force that holds both shores and the islands in the strait could threaten that route while a war goes on in the Gulf. On land, the IOM counts at least 46,000 people displaced.
Where it stands. The Houthis hold the coast. Government forces say they are striking back at Mokha. No report we hold says whether the Houthis will close the strait.
The story so far
- Trump says America controls Hormuz, Asharq Al-Awsat says Iran has it blockaded, Bahrain says it will not sit down · 12 Sep 2026
- The Jerusalem Post says the next round moves to Washington; Aoun says there is "no new round of negotiations at present" · 12 Sep 2026
- Riyadh says drones came from Iraq; Trump says Iran was "probably" behind it; nobody has claimed the pipeline attack · 12 Sep 2026
- Unnamed officials say Iran is building missiles again; Shargh reports only Trump's anger at the claim · 11 Sep 2026
- Iran says Tehran is convening eight coastal states on Hormuz; The Jerusalem Post's sources say Gulf ministers are meeting Iran · 11 Sep 2026
- An-Nahar says the Houthis "completed control" of Bab al-Mandab; Asharq Al-Awsat says Yemeni forces "reposition themselves" · 11 Sep 2026
- Jerusalem Post says Katz threatened Iran's energy sites; Shargh says they "may be" on the target list · 10 Sep 2026
- The Jerusalem Post says the Houthis "took control" of Mocha; Al Jazeera says only "advancing" · 10 Sep 2026
Earlier stories The AI Times filed on this thread.
What is being argued about
- The Houthi advance to the Bab al-Mandeb coast, Mayyun and the Hanish islands
- How many people have been driven from home, and who counted them
- A Yemeni government claim of strikes at Mokha that rests on one source
- What the advance is said to mean for Washington and for Tehran
Claims and verdicts
Houthis Seize Bab Al-Mandeb and Yemeni Islands in Southern Red Sea
Open this report in The AI Times →
Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat →
What we have measured
Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1
Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al Jazeera English
Al Jazeera English
🇶🇦QA ·
TV/radio · state-funded international
Iran-backed Houthis seize strategic Mayun Island: Can they hold it?
Open this report in The AI Times →
Read it at Al Jazeera English →
What we have measured
Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1
Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al Jazeera English
Al Jazeera English
🇶🇦QA ·
TV/radio · state-funded international
Haaretz
Haaretz
🇮🇱IL ·
newspaper · independent
UN News
UN News
INT ·
official record · intergovernmental body
Houthi Expansion in Western Yemen Brings Arrests and Crackdowns
Open this report in The AI Times →
Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat →
What we have measured
Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1
Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al Jazeera English
Al Jazeera English
🇶🇦QA ·
TV/radio · state-funded international
هجوم مضاد في المخا بعد سيطرة الحوثيين على باب المندب
Open this report in The AI Times →
Read it at Al-Modon →
What we have measured
Actor left unnamed a man is killed by an air strike in the headline with nobody named as striking; shelling and demolitions simply "continue" ×1Actor named The Israeli army is named as the shooter. ×1Actor named, action nominalised Israeli escalation is named but arrives as a wave, not as a doer ×1Affected people The only report that looks at people in the south: the explosions, the fear and the displacement. ×1
Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Who wrote it
Al Jazeera English
Coverage, outlet by outlet
Al-Monitor
Al-Monitor
🇺🇸US/ME ·
digital · independent
Al Jazeera English
Al Jazeera English
🇶🇦QA ·
TV/radio · state-funded international
Iran-backed Houthis seize strategic Mayun Island: Can they hold it?
Open this report in The AI Times →
Read it at Al Jazeera English →
What we have measured
Accusation attributed Cuba's charge is attributed to its foreign minister, not stated as fact ×1Actor named The headline names Israel as the actor and gives a count of three that includes a child. ×1Agency No actor is named for the detentions. The raids, not the soldiers, 'left' the town in lockdown ×1Agency Names Israel as the actor in the headline, in active voice ×1
Outlet profile in The AI Times →
— state-funded international
Houthi Expansion in Western Yemen Brings Arrests and Crackdowns
Open this report in The AI Times →
Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat →
What we have measured
Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1
Outlet profile in The AI Times →
—
Al Jazeera English
Al Jazeera English
🇶🇦QA ·
TV/radio · state-funded international
Al Jazeera English
Al Jazeera English
🇶🇦QA ·
TV/radio · state-funded international
Al Jazeera English
Al Jazeera English
🇶🇦QA ·
TV/radio · state-funded international
Haaretz
Haaretz
🇮🇱IL ·
newspaper · independent
هجوم مضاد في المخا بعد سيطرة الحوثيين على باب المندب
Open this report in The AI Times →
Read it at Al-Modon →
What we have measured
Actor left unnamed a man is killed by an air strike in the headline with nobody named as striking; shelling and demolitions simply "continue" ×1Actor named The Israeli army is named as the shooter. ×1Actor named, action nominalised Israeli escalation is named but arrives as a wave, not as a doer ×1Affected people The only report that looks at people in the south: the explosions, the fear and the displacement. ×1
Outlet profile in The AI Times →
—
Houthi Casualties Strain Sanaa Hospitals’ Capacity
Open this report in The AI Times →
Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat →
What we have measured
Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1
Outlet profile in The AI Times →
—
Saudi crown prince reportedly called Trump, asked US to strike Houthis
Open this report in The AI Times →
Read it at JNS →
What we have measured
Allegation described neutrally The headline describes the suit as a request for records on editorial standards, with Israel coverage one part of it. ×1Army claim attributed The army's legal justification is attributed to the army. ×1Army's term in the headline the headline adopts 'terror assets' in its own voice, without attribution ×1Army term in the headline The headline uses the army's own phrase without quotation marks. The body attributes only the ceasefire line to the army. ×1
Outlet profile in The AI Times →
—
Houthis Seize Bab Al-Mandeb and Yemeni Islands in Southern Red Sea
Open this report in The AI Times →
Read it at Asharq Al-Awsat →
What we have measured
Active voice, both actors named the killing of Iran's supreme leader is given an actor and a date, unhedged ×1Active voice for the actor soldiers and settlers are both named as acting ×1Anyone hurt is counted, not named three dead given as a figure and a job title ×1Are the hurt named or counted The dead man and the wounded are a count inside an official's quote; nobody is named, and no ages, roles or nationalities are given. ×1
Outlet profile in The AI Times →
—
UN News
UN News
INT ·
official record · intergovernmental body
Palestine TV · Palestinian Broadcasting Corporation
Palestine TV · Palestinian Broadcasting Corporation
🇵🇸PS ·
TV/radio · state-controlled
What we have measured
Asserted versus attributed recognition itself stated as fact ×1Attribution 'historic' attributed to the Palestinian ambassador ×1Dead counted, not named two dead are counted as 'citizens' and none are named; the wounded are not counted ×1Dead named Gives the dead man's full name and age. ×1
Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Ynet
Ynet
🇮🇱IL ·
digital · independent
What we have measured
A claim in the headline that the other reports very close to deciding the regime appears in one report only ×1Active voice The killers are the subject of the verbs 'beat' and 'burned'. ×1Active voice The killers are named as acting ×1Army's term, attributed the army names the target of its strikes, and no one on the other side is quoted ×1
Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Shargh
Shargh
🇮🇷IR ·
newspaper · independent
What we have measured
A count with its base both days given, and the data called preliminary ×1Actor named as a state the attack is Yemen's, not the Houthis' ×1A different actor does the asking Pakistan's army chief, not Beijing, is the one asking Tehran to use its influence, on the word of unnamed Pakistani government sources. ×1'aggression' in the narration The US campaign is called aggression in the report's own narration, which it credits to Al-Ahram's account of the call. ×1
Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Tehran Times
Tehran Times
🇮🇷IR ·
newspaper · state-controlled
What we have measured
Asserted vs attributed headline states the seizure flat; the body attributes it to the claimant ×1Attribution the toll is attributed to a body that is described but not named ×1Headline against body headline states the seizure flat; the body attributes it to the IRGC ×1How the objectors are framed opposition is described as protesters speaking for civilians ×1
Outlet profile in The AI Times →
LBCI (Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International)
LBCI (Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International)
🇱🇧LB ·
TV/radio · independent
What we have measured
Active voice, actor named the Israeli army carried out the detonation ×1Actor framing Tehran calls the meeting. Iraq is the only other state named. ×1Actor left unnamed the strike in Iraqi waters has no one named as firing it — the source is "unknown" ×1Actor named names Israel as the one striking ×1
Outlet profile in The AI Times →
The Times of Israel
The Times of Israel
🇮🇱IL ·
digital · independent
What we have measured
Actorless in own voice The killing is passive with no shooter in the se ×1Headline carries the purpose The livestock and the army's reason are in the h ×1Headline frame The headline carries the military's word for the ×1Military words carried whole Both the label for the dead and the phrase for t ×1
Outlet profile in The AI Times →
A
Al-Sabaah
Ma'an News Agency
Ma'an News Agency
🇵🇸PS ·
digital · independent
What we have measured
Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al-Mada
Al-Mada
🇮🇶IQ ·
newspaper · independent
What we have measured
Outlet profile in The AI Times →
North Press Agency
North Press Agency
🇸🇾SY ·
wire · independent
What we have measured
Attribution the damage list is carried in full, attributed to the side claiming it ×1Single official source Uses the Saudi Press Agency's account: 'bilateral relations', with no mention of reconstruction or money. ×1What is at stake presents the stakes as trade and energy security; no ship, crew or price is counted ×1Which line is led with led by the legal instrument, naming the Security Council resolution by number ×1
Outlet profile in The AI Times →
WAFA · Palestinian News & Information Agency
WAFA · Palestinian News & Information Agency
🇵🇸PS ·
state agency · state-controlled
What we have measured
Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Al-Manar
Al-Manar
🇱🇧LB ·
TV/radio · independent
What we have measured
Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Middle East Eye
Middle East Eye
🇬🇧UK ·
digital · independent
What we have measured
How hard the claim is stated Its own body says the investigators did not attribute the network to the Emirati state — the qualification its headline drops. ×1How hard the claim is stated The body withdraws in one line the attribution its own headline makes ×1How deeply it is sourced Cites its own past reporting as the evidence for the claim in its own headline, and calls the evidence widespread in its own voice ×1How deeply it is sourced Offers its own past reporting as the evidence supporting the claim in its headline, inside the same sentence that carries the denial. ×1
Outlet profile in The AI Times →
Ammon News
Ammon News
🇯🇴JO ·
digital · independent
What we have measured
Outlet profile in The AI Times →