Centre-left
estimate · not a score
Le Monde
🇫🇷FR ·
newspaper · independent
· lemonde.fr
| Spectrum |
Left
Centre-left
Centre
Centre-right
Right
State / loyalist
An estimate, not a score.
|
|---|---|
| Founded | 1944-12-18 — first issue of the newspaper Le Monde (dated 19 December 1944), which succeeded the earlier newspaper Le Temps · source |
| Headquarters | 67-69 Avenue Pierre-Mendès-France, 75013 Paris, France (building occupied since early 2020) · source |
| Funding | Ownership chain (Le Monde Libre holding company; Société du pôle d'indépendance / Le Monde Indépendant / Le Monde Partenaires Associés, an employee- and association-based independence structure) contains no state or party entity. The paper also received about €8 million in French state press subsidies (aide à la presse, a scheme open to many French outlets) in 2021. |
| Reach | About 479,243 print copies in circulation (2022), over 2.44 million readers, and about 600,000 digital subscribers. |
| Identity | Wikipedia |
Bias we have measured in their reporting
Anyone hurt named or counted
the only death toll we hold; a round number, hedged, nobody named — in 1 article
Anyone hurt named or counted
the only report we hold that gives a death toll; it counts, does not name — in 1 article
Who says the label
flat in the headline, no source, no hedge — in 1 article
From 42 articles we hold, with the quote behind every tag.
Claims we checked that rest on their reporting:
2 disputed
A verdict is on the sentence we checked, not on the outlet. An outlet that files a lot is checked a lot.
A verdict is on the sentence we checked, not on the outlet. An outlet that files a lot is checked a lot.
Ownership
| Holder | Type | Stake | Control | Instrument | Since | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Le Monde Libre | company | 75% | yes | equity | — | link |
| Le Nouveau Monde | company | not disclosed | — | equity | — | link |
| Berlys Media | company | not disclosed | — | equity | — | link |
| Grupo PRISA | company | not disclosed | — | equity | — | link |
| Daniel Křetínský | person | 49% | — | equity | — | link |
| Société du pôle d'indépendance du Groupe Le Monde | company | 25% | — | equity | — | link |
| Le Monde Partenaires Associés | company | 19% | — | equity | — | link |
| Le Monde Indépendant | company | 15% | — | equity | — | link |
Percentages appear only where a source states them. "Not disclosed" means nobody published a number, not that we did not look.
Editorial control
Président du directoire (Chairman), Groupe Le Monde
Media executive; president of the steering committee (directoire) of Groupe Le Monde since 2010; previously held leadership roles at Libération, Le Nouvel Observateur and Les Inrockuptibles.
Directeur du Monde (Director)
Journalist; director of Le Monde since June 2015, having previously served as managing editor (2014-2015).
Directrice de la rédaction (Managing/Editorial Director), Le Monde
Journalist at Le Monde since 1989; managing editor (rédactrice en chef) since 1 January 2021.
Journalists
Journalist / political reporter, Le Monde · politics
Political reporter at Le Monde since 1998, previously at Le Parisien and Marianne; co-recipient of the Hervé-Ghesquière prize (2018).
Journalist / editorial writer, Le Monde · international affairs
Journalist at Le Monde, recorded as editorial director in sourced records covering 2013-2020; current exact title not independently confirmed.
Journalist, Le Monde
Journalist and essayist at Le Monde, previously at Le Nouvel Observateur; co-recipient of the Hervé-Ghesquière prize (2018).
Journalist, Le Monde
Journalist at Le Monde with a listed author page at lemonde.fr (signataires/piotr-smolar).
byline
byline
byline
byline
byline
byline
byline
byline
byline
byline
byline
byline
byline
byline
byline
Covers
What we hold from them
Stories where they were checked and didn’t cover it
Le Figaro says Putin ordered a three-day halt on Kyiv. NOS says both presidents agreed one, with no end date.
— we have never been able to read this outlet
Euractiv puts 80,000 across the Ceuta border in two days. El Mundo says thousands, ABC says invasion
— we have never been able to read this outlet
Rzeczpospolita's headline detains two men. Wyborcza, quoting the police, counts one.
— we have never been able to read this outlet
Welt counts 1.4 million records in the Berlin leak; FAZ measures the same haul at 5.8 terabytes
— we have never been able to read this outlet
Police say 10,000 in Magdeburg, the organisers 20,000, Le Figaro's reporter a few thousand
— we have never been able to read this outlet
HotNews says 13%, Digi24 says "peste 7%" — one Hidroelectrica price rise
— read, nothing on this event
Efimerida ton Syntakton calls it "the crime at Tempi", Kathimerini calls it "the rail accident"
— read, nothing on this event
taz names „Daniel V.“; Welt and the SZ say only „ein 48-Jähriger aus Gevelsberg“
— read, nothing on this event
Budapest says conduct "incompatible with diplomatic status"; Magyar Nemzet says it was to fit "the European mainstream"
— read, nothing on this event
"Douze pays", says Libération; "France and Canada join UK", says Politico Europe
— read, nothing on this event